advice for upcoming trip

Hi all! We're an active couple in our 60's and we are planning our first safari. We are looking forward to seeing the wildlife in the wild, and I am an avid photographer.
Looking for travelers' opinion about the 13 day Kenya and Tanzania tour:
We were looking at going in September or early October, curious if this was a good time for spotting wildlife.
I understand the game drive vehicles will hold up to 6 people. Did people find that a full car still allowed time and space for everyone to take their photos? Was there an option to pay more and get your own private vehicle and guide?

Comments

• The Classic Safari still remains our favorite out of 14 Tauck tours! Fabulous!! I don't think I've read a negative report about it! We went in mid October and there was plenty of wildlife. If you are an avid photographer, this time of year (dry and dusty) is when those quintessential sunset photographs (with the acacia tree/ grazing animals outlined in black) are taken. On one game drive we found ourselves in a truck with two serious photographers as the sun set. We literally waited until the sun fell below the horizon and snapped photos as it descended. I have to say, the photos are absolutely wonderful! As far as the trucks, we never felt crowded even when there were 6 in a truck. There is plenty of room to move around and get photos. I never felt that anyone was bothersome or hogging a good view. The only option to pay more and get your own vehicle, as far as I know, is to go with another company and have a private tour. There are plenty of those out there. And, I believe Micato has a "Bespoke" collection that is a custom tour. However, be warned that you will pay accordingly. In fact, order their brochure which is the most gorgeous one I have ever seen!
  • edited December 2016
    Chuck66 wrote: