Options

Blue Danube-Prague to Budapest-9/8/16

Our first river cruise and first Tauck trip. From Chicago, IL.
Where are other passengers coming from ?
Any suggestions for restaurants in Prague, Vienna or Budapest for free time ?

Comments

• Options
    We just returned from the Prague to Budapest cruise on the MS Joy and had a fantastic time, it was our first time with Tauck and it truly was wonderful. In Prague and Budapest we ate at two restaurants recommended by Rick Steves and both were good.
  • Options
    It is so good to hear enthusiastic reports. I am just beginning to pack for our upcoming cruise. JPCruising, will you please share the names of the two restaurants you enjoyed? I have gathered a short list, but appreciate current recommendations.
    I also have a question for recent travelers about women's attire on the special evenings at the palaces in Prague and Vienna, and the Academia Club in Budapest. Do women generally wear dresses or pant outfits on those occasions? I am sure either is appropriate, but am just wondering what people are choosing to wear.

• Options
    Hi we just got back as well. Fabulous time. In Prague we ate at Kampa Park,mostly for the incredible view.. need reservations. and then Grosetto I think it was, a boat on the water overlooking the castle. casual and pizza pasta. but what a view at night. Good food as well. So many places.

In vienna there is not very much time at all. We did eat att he oldest restaurant. 1417 or so. which Tauck will give you info on.(they give you a sheet on each town or city) and also the Cafe central which was lovely for the decor and tasty food. You are just there for lunch in Vienna, and really don't want to dawdle. I had looked up restaurants but they were farther away I found.

The Prague castle night is not as dressy as the Vienna night but still dressy. Some women wore dresses others very nice slack outfits.

Vienna very dressy. mostly dresses..but dressy slack outfits were worn too.