TravelerReviews

A Taste of the Pacific Northwest

review_img

FLsnowbird

too much time on the bus

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

After experiencing the Pacific North West trip I think I would pass on Portland and would have liked to have spent another day or two in Seattle. Not impressed with the first two dinners provided, food was cold, overcooked and slow service.

Most Memorable Moment:

Leaving Seattle for Victoria our tour guide was raving on the IMAX museum and even gave out free admission tickets to enjoy. The problem was our bus arrived to our hotel at 4pm and the museum closed at 5. We were up early to tour the Gardens then off to Vancouver. Very poor planning.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have passed along your comments to our Operations team who is always looking to make enhancements to our tours based on feedback from our guests.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

ameliabob

Taste of Pacific Northwest

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

Overall the trip was perfect as is all of the Tauck tours. But, as has been well documented, the welcome meal was well below Tauck's standards. The improvement that I would recommend is that the tour either be lengthened or split into two tours. There is so much to see in each of the locations that it is impossible to really take it all in.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Bouchart Gardens. Awe inspiring as well as seeing how mankind can beautify a man made eyesore.

review_img

noelorr

Taste of the Pacific Northwest

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

We enjoyed the trip except for a few instances. Both my husband and I thought we needed more time in Seattle and Victoria - we would have dropped Portland to do this. Only one night in Victoria was not enough. Our tour guide did an excellent job.

Most Memorable Moment:

Loved taking the float plane from Butchart Gardens to Vancouver - the views were wonderful!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have passed your comment s on to our Operations team who is always looking to make enhancements to our tours based on feedback from our guests.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

kathleen bremner

Positives & Negatives of Tauck's Northwest

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

The PNW tour was wonderful, but not the best of Tauck. The tour director was less than stellar in the communication department, and I felt she was a bit dismissive to certain people's concerns. My room at the 4 Seasons was not cleaned until 4 PM & a group of 10 waited 2 hrs for their dinner. Details make Tauck special as well as the broad strokes.

Most Memorable Moment:

Absolutely the Capilano Bridge in Vancouver was the greatest experience! I did something I never would have done without Tauck. Thanks so much for that! I also loved the ferry ride and the seaplane flight - firsts for me. I also appreciated the amount of free time we had - great for bonding and making friends.

review_img

J and P

Beautiful Weather

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

Enjoyed the trip overall. Food at some locations not up to Tauck standards but a few were outstanding. Could skip the wandering around Portland and Seattle. Significant local stops would beat seeing the seedier sides of town. Overall, enjoyed the trip but exceeded our expectations in only a few cases.

Most Memorable Moment:

Chihuly Gardens and Seattle Needle dinner.

review_img

SCGal

Unique adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Fabulous scenery, wonderful food, super interesting experiences! Our director, [Employee Name]' commentary greatly enhanced the trip. Hotels were great except the Westin in Vancouver but did have outstanding breakfasts. The city tours were too long. Needed more time in Butchart Gardens which were breathtaking! Pike Market - unbelievable! Fun trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

Can't name just one. Space needle view and food. Float plane- we saw dolphins from the air. The cidery. Timberline Lodge- fabulous lunch. Would have loved more time there and skipped the waterfall which was a waste of time. Gorgeous scenery everywhere!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall trip. We're sorry that that some aspects fell below your expectation but very pleased you returned with some truly memorable moments. Thanks you for traveling with Tauck and we look forward to hosting you in the future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

VL

Nice trip, great weather

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

We were extremely lucky with the weather - not a single drop of rain, warm and sunny. If it were not for some hotel rooms, I would have given all five stars: trip was packed with activities, but still we had free time, tour director was the most helpful and knowledgeable. As to hotel rooms - In Seattle bathroom was so smelly and dirty.

Most Memorable Moment:

Several (in chronological order): Mount Hood - views and clean fresh air; Views from the Space Needle; Butchard Gardens - amazing beauty; Float plane ride was pretty cool; Tree top adventure with going through the suspension bridge - pretty awesome experience.

review_img

Brady

A Perfect "Taste of the Northwest"

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Start to finish, everything about this trip, my first with Tauck, was exceptional. The What of the trip...the hotels, transportation, sights, guides, food...all were way above average. But How they were delivered made the tour so memorable. Meticulous attention to detail, variety, good humor and laughter..these will bring me back to Tauck for sure.

review_img

dhamil

splendid

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

the NorthWest excursion was splendid. Every detail was attended to by the tour director and every element of the trip--scenery, transportation, food, accommodations were well done.

Most Memorable Moment:

I most enjoyed Victoria and the float plane trip to Vancouver.

review_img

Lolasnana

Food, friends and fun

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Our trip to the Pacific Northwest was awesome. Cautionary note: homeless in Portland is a serious issue and our hearts were heavy with the numbers. It rains a lot! Having said that, we didn't let it spoil our trip. The food experiences were over the top. The scenery breathtaking. The small group experience paid dividends. The hotels were the best.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to pick out just one experience but I would say the float plane from Butchart Gardens to Vancouver was awesome.

review_img

SJSWilmington

Wonderful Introduction to Northwest

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Overall a wonderful and enjoyable trip. Plusses - Great people, hotels, weather, sites and driver (Edmond). Minuses - Tour of Portland poorly planned (incomplete due to road race) Insufficient time at Rose Garden. Poor use of time on final Vancouver day - recommend earlier visit to Grandeville Market (exploring/shopping) or Anthropology Museum.

Most Memorable Moment:

Butchart Gardens tour and tea, Pike Place tour, Grandeville Island Public Market: Most memorable activities not on tour - Vancouver Anthropology Museum and biking around Stanley Island.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall journey and returned with some truly memorable moments. We are sorry that some aspects of the tour fell below your espectations but please rest assured that your comments will be shared with managment. Thank you for traveling with us and we do hope you will give us the opportunity to host you on another tour.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

sawall50states

Taste of Pacific Northwest

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Our Sep 6 tour had mostly great weather and scenery. It was a compatible group and we had a lot of good times together. Our guide Debbie did a very good job keeping us informed and moving. The foodie tours with tastes were great. We thought there was too much time for city driving tours and we could have used another day in Victoria. Enjoyable.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to decide just one. First view of quarry at stunning Butchart Gardens & "Tea" there, Pike Place Market foodie tour, Mt. Hood.

review_img

janet stein

A Taste of the Pacifice NorthWest

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

Wonderful intinerary.Could shorten Portland to 1 day and add a day to Victoria.1st night dinner was extremely noisy. Shouldn't plan a walking tour at a market place right before dinner. Had to bring my luggage to shuttle to the airport.Guide should not leave people alone to get on the seaplane to Vancouver. Not the best Hotels. My 3rd Tauck trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

The Rose Garden..The Butchart Gardens. Space Needle is pretty impressive. High Tea was wonderful. Enjoyed the 'Cidery'. Great driver (Edmund)

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We’re sorry that some aspects of the trip fell below your expectations, but are still happy that you had some truly memorable moments. Rest assured that we will immediately look into your comments and will take any and all corrective actions where necessary. Again we thank you for your patronage and do hope that you’ll travel with us again.”

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

rosewood

Wet Fun

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

This was the last of this tour for the season, and we encountered rare rain and snow. Our tour director and Tauck managed to overcome most of these obstacles and kept us in good cheer. The pace of the tour was good, the food and restaurants good, and the Space Needle dinner was the best.

Most Memorable Moment:

Space Needle dinner and dinner at Edible Canada.

review_img

stearns1

taste of northwest

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

It started out with no one to meet us. We saw some of our friends that where traveling on the same trip. They had talk to the Tauck rep. and we hooked up with them. We got our own baggage and pulled them to the loading area. The rep said we where not on his list but he could take care of us. Hotel same we took our baggage to our room.out of words

Most Memorable Moment:

Dinner at the top of the space needle

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are sorry that your trip got off to a poor start. One of our Guest Relations Specialists will contact you to discuss this matter in more detail.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Bg2jg

More to the West coast than...

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Our tour of the Pacific NW revealed that there is more to the West Coast than California. Like Portland and Seattle. We loved the Pike Market and our regional tour guide. Vancouver and Victoria accommodations were a touch of Europe. A TIP: Don't schedule a visit to the market before dinner. Farewell night should be in a roomy, quiet place.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking across the suspension bridge. Riding in the Seaplane was very exciting, too.

review_img

Texas OT

Incredible journey

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

I just got back on August 18, and have to say this tour was incredible. Our tour director Jan, was outstanding! I have been traveling with Tauck since 2006, and love this tour company! Tauck really knows how to take care of it's travelers! Thank you for great memories!

Most Memorable Moment:

I loved Butchart Gardens! I was in heaven. Just when I thought it couldn't get any better, there was the float plane trip from Butchart Gardens to Vancouver. It was exhilarating! And then of course, there was the Capilano Suspension Bridge Park, another incredible experience!

review_img

Beryl Bogan

So many trees.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the beauty of the Pacific Northwest. A wonderful drive up to Mt. Hood - the gorgeous Columbia River Gorge - Puget Sound and the San Juan Islands - and beautiful Victoria and Butchart Gardens. The scenery in this part of the country is amazing and we were so lucky to have hot weather and no rain.

Most Memorable Moment:

Flying in a float plane for the first time. We felt very brave when we landed ! Our only criticism was three of our four hotels were Westin Hotels which were not up to the luxury standard of hotels we have encountered on our previous four Tauck Tours.

review_img

RConetta

My number 7 Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

This was Tauck number 7 for me. As always Tauck delivers. Our director Andrea Rovito was outstanding. Everything went well. Thanks to her. The Pike Market tour and tastings was great. The Space Needle dinner was cool. Loved the float plane experience. Only negative was our Seattle van had no AC and no windows on a hot sunny day. Back seat was HOT!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing my wife and my son on the float plane and liking it. The view was beautiful.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you and your family enjoyed your trip and look forward to hosting you on number eight!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

tom and sue

Taste of Pacific NW

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

We toured Seattle, Portland, Victoria, and Vancouver We had a great time. Did not realize it was so damp on that side of the country but it did not effect the trip. Our tour guide, Andrea, was super and our driver, Edmond was the best ever.

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved all the gardens. We would sacrifice one day of Seattle for two days in Victoria. We barely go a look and there is so much to see. The suspension bridge in Vancouver was so much fun. My husband really like the float plane travel. All our companions were great and our group was small so we did get to enjoy everyone.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are very pleased you enjoyed your journey and thank you for sharing your feedback with us!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

potter

A week

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

The sun shone although we didn't expect it to! The coach driver and tour director did a sterling job and my fellow travelers were great company. Everything ran very smoothly and we had no problems.

Most Memorable Moment:

My favourite memorable moment was our visit to Butchart Gardens and the float plane from there to Vancouver where I was lucky enough to get he seat next to the pilot, awesome! Although I have to say the Capilano Suspension Bridge Park was a close second, it is so beautiful.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for taking the time to share our feedback! We are so please you enjoyed your trip to this great region!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Marianne Newman

How To Have Fun!

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

I wanted a vacation tour that was easy going, included interesting places, new experiences, variety and was a "treat" that it included new food and wines, beautiful nature, time on my own to walk a neighborhood, go to a museum or spend more time with another traveler. This tour did just that! I thought it was just plain fun! My wishes came true!

Most Memorable Moment:

It's hard to choose just one moment. So for this moment I'll recall the chef lead tour of the Bainbridge Market (outside of Vancouver) and the dinner that followed. It was splendid!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Wow, sounds like we couldn't have done any better - But don't worry, we'll still find a way! Thanks for sharing your special memories.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Tomvg

Pacific Northwest

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

The tour was wonderful. As always, Tauck plans the trip so that the unique features of each locale are highlighted. Great guides, great hotels, unique experiences that would be hard to come by without Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

Butchart Gardens

TAUCK RESPONSE

So glad you had a wonderful time!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Merry Traveler

Leader

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

Overall very good. Not excellent which may mean that we have been spoiled by previous Tauck trips. The tour director was not up to our expectations. Too much silent time on the bus. Our reservations for meals made by ourselves excelled compared to Tauck meals. Rays Boat House in Seattle should be on Tauck must

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thanks so much for your helpful feedback. We're glad that you enjoyed your trip overall, but are sorry that some aspects did not meet your expectations. Rest assured we will be addressing all of your points immediately to improve in the areas that may need more attention.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

jo3055

Taste of ther Pacific Northwest

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2011

This tour does not compare to the international tours. The hotel were ok not 5 star. We, also, went to South Africa and Zimbabwe and China with Tauck. Thaey were both excellent, but the reviews were not included in this survey!

Most Memorable Moment:

Bouchardt Gardens in Victoria and the sea plane ride to Vancouver.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for your candid feedback. While we continually strive to always have our guests stay in the best hotel possible, location is also a factor in determining accommodations. I think you'll find that all of the hotels on this trip are listed as a minimum of 4 stars (or higher). However, since you were not completely satisfied with the hotels, we'll like to discuss it with you further to get more detailed feedback. Regarding your Africa and China trips, you are still welcome to fill out a trip review at Tauck.com by clicking on "My Profile" and selecting those trips, if you have taken them in the last two years.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

robinbaker

A trip not to be missed.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2011

This was a great vacation from the start. First of all the tour Director, Christine was fabulous. She knew the area and all it's hidden secrets. We also enjoyed the many forms of transportation we used to get around, bus, boat and seaplane. I would highly reccommend this trip to anyone who enjoys travel and exploring great foods.

review_img

Ckiser

Pacific Northwest

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2011

Wonderful scenic and culinary tour, but fewer hosted dinners than most Tauck trips. Great venues and accommodations.

Most Memorable Moment:

Vancouver Island: The floatplanes, the ambiance, the cuisine--a Sablefish dinner was the most memorable.

close-button

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button