TravelerReviews

California's Gold Coast

review_img

Linda and Marty

California Gold Coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

The trip was more than expected with unexpected sights along with educational knowledge by our Tour Director. We stopped at so many points of interest for glorious camera shots of things we never new existed. Tauck once again outdid themselves with giving us the best experience. Comfort? The best provisions were provided along with dining.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many like otters, elephant seals, etc., but the stop at the Last Cypress was so peaceful you didn't want to leave. Of course the mountains, anywhere, are always a moving experience.

review_img

ellendu4

Amazing trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

This was our first trip with Tauck and we were blown away by the accommodations and cuisine, not to mention the sites we visited. Tauck took care of every little detail and the guides and local experts at every stop were superb. A little more quiet time would have improved the trip; we didn't need a constant monologue as we traveled.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Yosemite Valley from Glacier Point was spectacular and the Biltmore at Santa Barbara was truly luxurious.

review_img

redraider1976

California Gold Coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

This was our 5th Tauck tour. The scenery along the California coast was breathtaking. The food was plentiful and delicious at all venues. The weather was great throughout the trip. Overall, the trip was outstanding. We are looking forward to our 6th Tauck tour, our first outside the United States, to Ireland in August 2017.

Most Memorable Moment:

The drive along the California coast.

review_img

dmdavid

California's Gold Coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

Overall,trip was enjoyable and informative. Disappointments: >rushed tour at Hearst Castle, should have had tour at Getty Museum >no time to enjoy luxury hotels--arrive with barely enough time to freshen up for dinner, and off touring in early a.m. >no tour in San Francisco (we extended) >2 main meals per day is too much--lunch OR dinner

Most Memorable Moment:

Although we were happy to see some of beautiful Yosemite, the time spent on the bus to get to/from there was too much. Remove from this tour; add more to other areas.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for your suggestions. I will pass them on to our Operations team who is always looking to make enhancements to our tours based on feedback from our guests.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

booklesslibrarian

California's Gold Coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

We travelled from the UK to the US for our son's wedding and added the TAUCK trip as an adventure to follow the wedding. We are glad we added the trip and delighted that we chose TAUCK. TAUCK, think of everything from pick up at San Diego to departure at San Francisco. We stayed in First class hotels and visited superb locations.

Most Memorable Moment:

We were treated to seeing the Pandas at San Diego Zoo and to envying those playing golf at Pebble Beach then touring Yosemite. The trip exceeded expectations. It would only have been bettered had I been allowed to play golf at Pebble Beach. But one of the most memorable moments was eating breakfast at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

review_img

ckenaan

Golden Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

Very nice trip. The pace was fast, the hotels were great, our tour guide and our driver were outstanding. Yosemite is majestic. We would have loved to have more time in San Francisco and less time in L.A. We were told the trip has been changed in the past 2 years; it used to start in San Francisco. We would have preferred that version.

Most Memorable Moment:

Yosemite tours.

review_img

N2BHart

California's Gold Coast 2016

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2016

Very comprehensive tour. We covered quite a bit of territory without spending excessive time on the bus. The Tour Director was very informative, and the bus driver was the best.

Most Memorable Moment:

Marine Life - Sea Otters, Elephant Seals, & Harbor Seals. Highlights: Big Sur, Monterey, Carmel & Yosemite

review_img

Janrtiste

Beautiful Coastal CA

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

Loved starting in San Diego. Then going all the way up the coast, into the sierra's to Yousemete then ending in San Fran. The restaurants were all up to Tauck standards and more. The hotels all up and more to Tauck standards except the Inn at Moro Bay. Below average in rooms and service. Tour Dir. Excellent. Meeting new people always +

Most Memorable Moment:

The CA Coastal scenery. Especially The Big Sur area. Wow!! The 4 Seasons Hotel Biltmore- what a pleasure. And of course the food, a dining experience.

review_img

ElizabethStruthers

Califiona Gold Coast

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

This was our first Tauck trip and first visit to America, from the moment we landed at San Diego to the day we left at San Francisco we were treated fantastic well. All accommodation, meals were beyond our expectations and cannot fault this trip in anyway.

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved staying at the Four Seasons Santa Barbara and visiting the mission and the court house, the whole tour was a very memorable one for us and have made great friends on the tour.

review_img

Ann Thompson

Very good but adjustments required..

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

Very good overview of the coast. Super Tour director and coach driver. Except for the beautiful Getty Museum, nothing interesting in LA, I would skip the city tour. Yosemite: give 1 more day ; unfortunately, we did not get to the falls! Also, since it was the highlight of the trip, I would have appreciate a visit within smaller groups.

Most Memorable Moment:

Santa Barbara, 17 miles drive. Getty museum in LA ( not enough time, need 2-3 hrs more). Hearst Castle. Hotels: Magnificient spanish style 4 Seasons Biltmore and The Langham. Yosemite ( although we did not get the best hotel...we were expecting the Ahwahnee) Monterey and beautiful aquarium and hotel Intercontinental Clement.

review_img

sharalee

Wonderful California

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2015

We were on the California Gold Coast tour in May, the trip couldn't have been better. Our tour director was wonderful, very knowledgeable, friendly & helpful. We saw wonderful sights. Our first event was the San Diego harbor evening cruise, it was great. Yosemite and the Getty Museum were special. The winery tour & tasting was nice too.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Yosemite. We drove in as snow was falling. The waterfalls were beautiful. Seeing El Capitan and the other massive rock formations was awesome. Being by the Yosemite River and looking around the valley was inspiring. Also seeing the redwoods and walking around the forest was spectacular.

review_img

JMalcolm

California Gold Coast Trip 04302015

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2015

Overall, the trip was excellent and I would recommend it highly. We saw some beautiful sights along the Big Sur and enjoyed our visits to the Getty Museum and Hearst Castle. CA is a beautiful state and our Tour Director and driver showed us just how beautiful. Our Tour Director provided a bit of history with all the beautiful scenery.

Most Memorable Moment:

I would have to say it was the drive along CA Hwy 1 in the Big Sur area. We stopped at Ragged Point which had beautiful views, a beautiful garden, etc. The color of the water, the crashing waves against the rocks, the flowers blooming made for an unforgettable experience.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you enjoyed your trip to the great state of California! Thank you for choosing Tauck.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

LizM

California Gold Coast 2014-- A hit!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

We just got back from this fabulous tour. Cindy Walker is a superb guide. Bob our driver was courteous and super friendly, and did an excellent job of navigating through some pretty thick morning fog. We hit all the highlights from San Francisco to Los Angeles. The hotels were outstanding, as were all the meals.

Most Memorable Moment:

There wasn't a bad experience on this trip, but I'd have to say my favorite part was Yosemite and the Awahnee Lodge. It is a beautiful hotel. We enjoyed cocktails outside each evening, watching the sun go down over the huge rocks. There were deer feeding each morning outside our window. The park shuttle makes it super easy to get around.

review_img

RGALKA

GREAT VACATION

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

FROM SAN FRISCO TO LA WAS GREAT

Most Memorable Moment:

BEST PART OF THE TRIP WAS THE STAY AT THE AHWAHNEE AND YOSEMITE, STAYING AT ANY OTHR HOTEL I WOULD NOT GO IF WE DID NOT STAY AT THE AHWANEE AND PICK ANOTHER TOUR GROUP. THE NEXT BET PART OF THE TRIP WAS THE GIANT SEQUOIS THEY WERE EQUALLY AS GOOD AS YOSEMITY IN A DIFFERENT WAY ALL OTHER VENUES OF THE TRIP WERE GREAT

review_img

PWhitley

California Gold Coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Our first ever Tauck trip turned out to be a wonderful experience. The government shut down forced Tauck to re-do our itinerary at the last minute and they did a very nice job of supplying us with new things to see and do when visiting Yosemite became impossible. Tour guide was personable and knowledgeable. Group was small & friendly.

Most Memorable Moment:

Taking the drive down Route 1, the big sur, with all it's beauty.

review_img

kcfromkc

Great Tour Director

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

The best part of our trip was the fabulous Tour Director we had. He was full of knowledge and was there to assist in every way. He went above and beyond which was great. The accomodations on this trip were wonderful but we were dissappointed at some of the meals. Overall we had a great time !

Most Memorable Moment:

Driving down Big Sur .

review_img

GBoyer

Perfection!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

From the opulence of the first class hotels to the majestic redwoods in Mariposa this trip should be called “Magnificence of California” to say the least. Our tour director was well educated on every aspect of the tour. The culinary delights at each stop were over the top! This trip showcased the beauty of California.

Most Memorable Moment:

Mariposa Grove was breathtaking. A special moment – watching three whales just off the pier from the dining room of the InterContinental in Monterey. Priceless!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you enjoyed your journey to this magnificant part of the US. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

MLanning

All the gold glitters!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Tauck certainly knows how to spoil you while seeing the best sights the California coast has to offer. The St. Francis on Union Square has all the best shops, the historic Ahwahnee Hotel and majestic Yosemite was a trip highlight, and really loved their new hotel pick in Santa Barbara-the Four Seasons Resort. Loved Carmel and the Hearst Castle.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey with us!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

RNorton

California

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Excellent tour; tour director was informative and helpful. Larry went out of his way to assist us on a number of things. I do not believe that the Ken Burns and Dayton videos added much. They talked less about the history or facts about the places we were seeing; too much about their personal views on national parks and their personal opinions.

Most Memorable Moment:

Yosemite and the giant redwooods. Worth the extra day.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey and look forward to hositing you again in the near future!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

SOG

Fabulous trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

This was a wonderful trip and our guide, Larry, was absolutely the best. He had so much information and kept us interested the entire time. The details of the trip were so smooth and well planned that we hardly ever had to touch our luggage. Tauck does it right even down to the rotation of seats on the bus. Great itinerary!

Most Memorable Moment:

The giant sequoias and Yosemite!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you had such a wonderful time and look forward to hosting you on many future journey's!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

MBoyle

A California Sampler

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

From the grand granite mountains of Yosemite to the sand and surf of Santa Barbara,from the marvels of Hearst Castle to the masterpieces of the Getty, the Gold Coast Tauck tour is a banquet of California must-sees. It was quite a tasty menu!

Most Memorable Moment:

Sharing sights and delicious meals with friends -newly made!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you enjoyed our journey with us and look forward to hosting you on many future adventures!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Rob and Suzie

Yosemite

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

The trip was quite nice, but extremely fast paced. We did not get to spend quality time in any of the places. We think Monterrey could be eliminated and just go straight to Carmel. We loved Yosemite, but needed more time there.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our time at the Awahne Hotel was spectacular. Yosemite was the most beautiful and awe-inspiring place we have ever been.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are sorry some aspects of this journey fell below your expections. Thank you so much for your feedback which will be shared with management.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Judy

Fabulous trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

Great itinerary, lodging, restaurants, tour director, driver, and weather. This trip exceeded our expectations. The only negative I could state is that not enough time was allowed for Hearst Castle and the Getty Museum. We found ourselves constantly rushing and looking at our watches. Even with that issue, I would highly recommend this trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting Yosemite park.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey and thank you for share your opinions with us.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

pudin

Perfect week

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2013

My wife and I have traveled with Tauck three times and this was our 50th anniversary trip. It was all we expected, because we are never surprised negatively with Tauck. Since neither of us had ever traveled in California we were thrilled by the beautify of this state. The weather was perfect, and the adventures were exciting. First Class.

Most Memorable Moment:

Driving into Yosemite valley to see the beautiful waterfalls for the first time. The majesty of the cliffs and falls just let you know there was a God who created all this.

review_img

astone

California Gold Coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

I just came back from my California Gold Coast Tauck tour. It was just fabulous. The itinerary was amazing, and the places I saw were just spectacular. Our tour director was wonderful, very well informed, friendly and took good care of all of us, as was our driver. Many happy memories of this trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

I think my trip up to Glacier Point in Yosemite. The scenery was awesome!

review_img

RobertPantazes

California Gold

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

This trip started out in San Francisco and went to L.A. with lots of beautiful scenery in between. Traveling companions that we met on this Tauck tour were friendly. There were lots of extras as well as advertised events. For example, the tour guide took photos in 2 scenic areas of each couple or group and created photo postcards for us.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our most memorable moment besides the scheduled events was the stop along the Pacific Ocean before Hearst Castle where we saw elephant seals sunning themselves. Young males play-fought in the surf. The beautiful scenery was California at its best. We were also very excited to ride the San Francisco cable cars, seeing Alcatraz and Muir Woods.

review_img

Gman in NC

California Gold Coast Tours 'TauckCA#23' Sept 22 - Oct 1 2012

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

This was a fabulous tour for sure. The food, accommodations, and coach were top of the line. The constant narration by the tour director during our daily drives was great. We couldn't have seen California this well in 10 days on our own. Great group of folks that traveled with us too. We'll never forget this trip. We'll do Tauck again.

Most Memorable Moment:

Most memorable moment was seeing our next accommodation. All were so nice. Also Yosemete was one of the most beautiful places we've ever been. Monterrey and Pebble Beach were great also.

review_img

jackiemurphy49@gmail.com

Beauty on the Gold Coast and Beyond

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

Our trip was a fabulous overview of the California coast and Yosemite National Park. Our accomodations were very nice and most meals very enjoyable! I would have like to spend more time in the wine country and Yosemite National Park. We were extremely disappointed that nothing was planned for the 4th of July in San Francisco!

Most Memorable Moment:

Yoseimite Nations Park was definitely our most memorable moment. The Awhanee Lodge was incredible and the dinnig experience charming.

review_img

rosewood

Comprehensive

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

We enjoyed this Interesting tour of the highlights of California. The wine country bit was not the best I've seen but the food was good, the hotels beautiful Yosemite was gorgeous. Be warned......we went the last week of May, and just about froze in San Francisco and it snowed both days in Yosemite! Quite a shock for us Floridians!

Most Memorable Moment:

The cable cars of San Francisco and the Pacific Coast drive......

review_img

Helen C

California Dreaming

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2012

My trip was truly memorable. Initially I had two extra days in San Francisco compliments of Tauck. Back in the 60's my cousin and I went to California and loved in San Francisco. In the 80's I was there again. I used my time in that beautiful city visiting the places I had been before and some new venues. It is my favorite city in the US.

Most Memorable Moment:

My first sighting of Yosemite.

review_img

JAKolden

California Gold Coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2012

This is my third trip with Tauck. However, I am comparing this tour with two other tour companies as well as 18 cruises with high end cruise lines. I would rank this tour as one of the best I have ever taken. This is in large part to the tour director. He did an excellent job explaining the history, economy, and culture.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting Yosemite National Park

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thanks so much for your feedback and we hope to see you for a 4th trip!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Waskom

California Rocks

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed this trip. We lucked out on the weather. The coast area was breathtaking. We enjoyed the seals as they spent quite a bit of time on the shore. They are interesting creatures making strange noises. The cities were enjoyable as well. Our tour guide was excellent and the bus driver was very cautious. Enjoyed seeing farm land.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many memorable moments such as driving along the coast line. We were thrilled to make a stop at Peable Beach since we enjoy golfing. San Francisco provided exciting moments riding on the calbe cars. We also rode the street car and buses. Fishersman's Wharf was delightful and the sea food there was excellent. Alcatraz was fascinating.

close-button

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button