TravelerReviews

New Orleans & Mississippi River Plantation Country

review_img

Rowena

New Orleans And Mississippi River Plantation Country

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

It was a highly enjoyable trip for me. It was beyond my expectation of visiting New Orleans, LA. My two sisters and I had a great time together. The day-to-day itineraries prepared by our Tauck Director were exciting. Even the Coach Driver was jovial. My favorite hotel among others was Ritz-Carlton New Orleans.

Most Memorable Moment:

I had enjoyed very much BB's Stage Door Canteen brunch & show "Ain't Misbehavin". I had felt like I was back in NYC watching Broadway show. Enjoyed very much Tauck Exclusive--Private jazz performance at Preservation Hall. My sisters and I had excitable time shopping works of art in New Orleans. Local guide was entertaining.

review_img

Fea

Tauck New Orleans and Mississippi River Plantations

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

Amazing...down to the smallest detail. The finest accommodations and food!. A suggestion: use different airline. American Airlines was cramped; the coffee was awful!

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many......I guess the cooking class where a chef prepared traditional Louisiana dishes which we ate for lunch, and preservation hall where we learned about and listened to the best jazz music.

review_img

anjnwalko

New Orleans and Plantations

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

The tour was more than we expected. The tour guides were very knowledgeable. We learned a lot at each stop about New Orleans and the environs. One of the best we did with Tauck!

Most Memorable Moment:

flight seeing excursion Cajun Pride Swamp Tour We can add a lot more since all of it was wonderful

review_img

LINDAYHAY

New Orleans and plantation country

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

Have been to New Orleans over 20 times. Tauck tours maybe 10 times. Took tauck tour to New Orleans this time because couples traveling with also tauck travelers but had never been to New Orleans We always stay at Windsor Court or Maison Dupuy First time at Ritz and Monteleone. Fabulous. To be able to stay on plantation was priceless.

Most Memorable Moment:

Float plane tour. Better grasp of devastation of Katrina even tho we live close by in Florida Come to New Orleans for fun, food and music but we all owe its citizens a duty to understand and honor the hardships they endured. Thank you for including this. Our pilot was also owner of flight tour company. Local boy. Shared wealth of knowledge.

review_img

cutlerjohn8

Tauck and NOLA are stars

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

Just returned from a fabulous spring trip to NOLA not having been there for 40 years. Tauck did a superb job of putting together memorable experiences day in and day out from extraordinary dining in the best venues to fabulous jazz experiences that were intimate and special. Nice blend of a one of a kind experience with context and history.

Most Memorable Moment:

This is always so difficult to answer on a Tauck trip because so many things compete, BUT the airplane ride over the area to see the topography of NOLA was extraordinary and the private concert in Preservation Hall for the 24 of us was really amazing.

review_img

Greg Knopp

New Orleans and Mississippi River Plantation Country

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

This was an excellent vacation with a great variety of sights, interesting history, food, and music. The "small group" option added to our enjoyment of the trip. The only recommendation I would make is changing the 3 nights at the Hotel Monteleone and 2 nights at the Ritz to 5 nights at the Ritz. Monteleone rooms are VERY small.

Most Memorable Moment:

Can't pick out just one! The cooking school, WWII Museum, Houmas Plantation House and Gardens, Mardi Gras World, and the French Quarter were all top contenders.

review_img

Kittywake

New Orleans and Plantation Country

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2017

This trip has been revised this year and is terrific. Great restaurants, a private street car ride, swamp boat tour, float plane ride over the New Orleans environment, great local guides and the World War II Museum. This was our 14th Tauck trip and is one of our favorites. Don't miss this one.

Most Memorable Moment:

The carriage ride through the French Quarter to Arnaud's restaurant for the farewell dinner. We had a private Jazz reception in the bar of the restaurant before being called to dinner. Outstanding!

review_img

Beryl Bogan

Music City

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2017

We had visited New Orleans twice before, but this time we totally covered the city. Wonderful restaurants - also the hotels we stayed at. The French Quarter was safe to walk in as there were police on every other block. The swamp tour was fascinating and the Plantation we stayed at was beautiful. Luckily we had perfect weather.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the World War 11 museum

review_img

JoanMason

I enjoyed this trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

This was a good experience. I especially liked the seaplane excursion and the cooking class with Harriet. Her food was more like my mothers. Our tour director did a great job and the local guides were wonderful too. I learned a lot about the Acadians and was blown over by the music and food. It's different when you are young in body

Most Memorable Moment:

Most memorable was the WWII Museum and the Acadians.

review_img

harrogate

Great Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

A very well organised trip from beginning to end. No prolems what so ever. I was worried about the Float plane and the Swamp tours but both exceeded my expectations. Knowledgable tour director

Most Memorable Moment:

Dinner at Arnoulds Float plane Carriage ride Bourbon Street All three hotels

review_img

burris

Bayous and the Big Easy April 19 2016

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2016

Because we had everything going for us this was a wonderful trip. Our Tauck Director handled our group of over 40 people with ease and graciousness and our bus driver was the best. Having perfect weather was a plus.The itinerary was paced well. In fact everything was run so smoothly, we can't find anything to complain about.

Most Memorable Moment:

The entire trip will be memorable...some extra treats were the private streetcar and the seaplane overview and Atchafalaya Basin and of course....the wonderful Dixieland Jazz.

review_img

salzci

Best Tour Director Ever

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2016

We made last minute arrangements to join this trip after a planned trip was cancelled. One of us has physical limitations so we are always a little apprehensive about the activities planned. Because we had a tour Director who was so professional, prepared and very caring our trip was a wonderful experience for both of us. Great Itinerary!

Most Memorable Moment:

So many fine memories but we will never forget the thrill of a private performance by some of the best Jazz Musicians at Preservation Hall.

review_img

RiadeKM

so many things WE did not know..

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

Loved our trip - SO many things about New Orleans and the State of Louisiana. What History! AND of course , the great food/restaurants.! to die for.. THANK you TAUCK . Guides on this journey were so nice and so knowledgeable..!

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard question.. SO MUCH we enjoyed. Foremost ,our travel companions!! PRESERVATION Hall concert. JUST for us! Awesome.. Being at the 9th district . More than special. The people who were THERE then! Hearing about their struggles .. Seeing their optimism and gratefulness , their realism .. The rest of trip was also so fantastic , GOOOOO

review_img

helenB

NOL discovered

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

The itinerary was excellent, and the outings were the amount and the quality that I appreciated. The only concern that I had was with the tour guide, who was one of the worst tour guides that I have ever had. I do not think I will take another Tauck trip because of the demeanor of the guide.

Most Memorable Moment:

Preservation hall

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have passed along your comments to our Guest Relations tram who will be in contact with you.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

pscard

New Orleans

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

We loved the time spent in New Orleans. The hotels, meals and activities there were excellent. However, the two days in the bayou were disappointing, to put it mildly. The meals there were terrible. The tour would be better if it stayed in or near New Orleans. We did not have a porter or breakfasts the morning of our early departure as promised.

Most Memorable Moment:

The World War Two Museum was well worth the visit.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your comments. I have passed them on to our Operations team who is always looking for ways to improve and enhance our tours. We hope you will travel with Tauck in the future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Fred Wingate

Big Easy/New Orleans

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

Generally a good trip. Interesting history and places to see. Would prefer shorter time in ward 9 and swamp boat ride. To much of same thing. Would recommend trip to others. Good tour director.

Most Memorable Moment:

Events in New Orleans, and older homes in Lower Cajun country.

review_img

kleea

Wonderful music

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

It was just an exciting and wonderfully done trip. The history, the music and the experiences were all top rate. We enjoyed the company and the tour guides that took us on this journey.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our best moment was going to the Preservation Hall Jazz Music. I am a big Jazz history fan and this was great. I loved the music and we all danced to the experience.

review_img

Philip J

Tauck treated us like royalty

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

We had a blast in New Orleans and the Bayou Country. Tauck put us up in the best hotels in town and arranged incredible experiences for us. We had a private concerts at Preservation Hall and by D.L. Menard (the number one singer-song writer of Cajun music). Tauck is the best.

Most Memorable Moment:

Dinner and dancing at Pont Breaux -- a real Cajun honky-tonk. Tauck even provided a couple to teach us to dance. I had a delicious dinner of fried alligator.

review_img

MRP

Very Enjoyable and Well Planned

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

We most enjoyed the historical aspects and sights, from the French Quarter and its French and Spanish history and jazz heritage, to the sugar cane plantation at Jefferson Island. Also enjoyed the great meals at Antoine's, the Court of Two Sisters, and Arnaud's - all great places in New Orleans.

Most Memorable Moment:

The farewell dinner was a most enjoyable evening with a great menu, great service and hospitality - all enjoyed with new traveling companions.

review_img

vermontsue

Shrimp, Shrimp and More SAhrimp

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

Aside from all the wonderful food, I learned a lot about the Cajun people. I felt immersed in their culture. That was the most surprising thing about the trip. Since I had been to New Orleans before, that part of the trip was a repeat of happy experiences. To have a private audience with the Preservation Hall Jazz Band was very special.

Most Memorable Moment:

The visit to the U. S. Military Museum was awe inspiring.

review_img

JoeT5612

Good, but a Lot of Problems

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2015

Except last morning, breakfast at 1st hotel was a disaster.Dinner at Antoine's was subpart. 2nd hotel was nothing more than construction site. For the price of Tauck tours, how could put us in that hotel. Construction dust in room, poor service in dinning room & poor food..VERY DISAPPOINTED.Lunch after boat ride was chaotic. Linda & Kevin GREAT.

Most Memorable Moment:

Preservation Hall,

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for your feedback. I have forwarded your comments on to our Operations Team.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

digitaldoc

The Big Easy and the Bayous

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

We really did not know what to expect on this tour (our 7th with you). All our expectations were met. It was well paced, very informative, and gave us a historical perspective of New Orleans and the bayou country.

Most Memorable Moment:

The private jazz concert at Preservation Hall and the cooking school presentation. However, we enjoyed it all. The bayou boat trip was also teriffic. Dr. and Mrs. Robert Benton

review_img

Cal Reynolds

New Orleans: Bayous & The Big Easy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

The tour was certainly among the top five I've taken. The competition for first is tough because most Tauck tours are outstanding. I've been to New Orleans several times - this time the activities chosen were excellent. Of particular interest were the visit to the cooking school,the private jazz session at Preservation Hall, and the WW II Museum.

Most Memorable Moment:

Swamp tour on the Atchafalaya Basin.

review_img

SandySM

New Orlean: Bayous and the Big Easy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this first time trip to New Orleans and the first time seeing the Mississippi River. It was like being in a European city when in the French Quarter. I loved the optimism of the people as they enthusiastically let us know "They were back." Loved the tour of the Lower Ninth Ward and seeing what they have done to come back.

Most Memorable Moment:

Preservation Hall and the wonderful musicians. Meeting the Cajun folk at Scott. They were so dear and so sincere in preserving their culture and sharing it with us. It was heartwarming. The musicians were extraordinary from the older gentleman to the young men who played so fantastically.

review_img

Janet Aldrin

New Orleans: Bayous & The Big Easy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Highly recommend this tour. Liz was an excellent tour guide. Everythings was very organized. Liked the small group. It is worth the extra money. The sights and the jazz music were enjoyable. Our bus driver, Kevin, was superior. The hotels were stayed at were top notch.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hearing all of the jazz music at the various locations.

review_img

rcalvao

New Orleans: Bayous & The Big Easy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Well done!

review_img

Cherlynn

New Orleans

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Had a wonderful time and enjoyed most of the tour. Upon coming home and looking over the itinerary, we realized that the TD did not take scenic Route 90 back to New Orleans but took Route 10 instead. Would have enjoyed taking the scenic route. Tauck decision or TD decision? Also, we never did receive a Welcome Packet.

Most Memorable Moment:

Enjoyed all the special Tauck exclusives especially the New Orleans cooking school and WW II Museum.

review_img

sfox41

Not up to Tauck standards

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Having made several trips with Tauck I am sad to say this was well below anything I have experienced in all aspects of the design...from the Tour Director, to the selection of many of the excursions, to the quality of food, to the lack of educational input. If this had been my first, it would have been my last.

Most Memorable Moment:

Preservation Hall

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feed back with us. We see that one of our Guest Relations Specialists has contacted you regarding your comments. We do thank you for your patronage and look forward to hosting you in the future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

BAnderson

Had trouble submitting and do apologize but Tauck is no. 1 with us. Sally and bob [Employee Name]

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

As Tauck is aware, we have traveled with you quite often - first we would like to say the our director [Employee Name] III was excellent - having grown up in New Orleans he knew the territory well. As a group, we bonded well together and for those with little complaints he was very diplomatic. Our dinner at Antoines the first night was a BIG disapp

Most Memorable Moment:

My husband was very impressed with the WW2 museum. We both felt the guides were well qualified - wish I could give names - one was Julie, and Nellie Watson who lectured on the geological and environmental composition knew her topic well. As I started to say above dinner at Antoins was a BIG disappointment and almost set the tone for the trip but

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your over trip and experienced some truly memorable moments. Rest assured that your comments will be shared with our Operations Team regarding the disappointing dinner and all corrective actions will be taken so that this will not recur.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

CThibert

New Orleans and the Bayous

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

Overall very good. Clinton and Kevin were excellent. NO was the best part with lots to do during downtime. The tours were well done with only issues being the headsets on Day 2 and the trolley car. Acadia was not so good and I would eliminate 1 day. Also too much downtime in Acadia with nothing to do. I have more detailed notes if you'd like

Most Memorable Moment:

Preservation Hall, the cooking demonstration, resataraunts in New Orleans

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're sorry some aspects of the trip fell below your expectations, but are still happy that you had some truly memorable moments. Rest assured that we will immediately look into your comments and will take any and all corrective actions where necessary. Again we thank you for your patronage and do hope you'll travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

patsandyhook

Some grat some not

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

Exciting! Greta Food. Terrific tour director and driver. Hotel Monteleone was very good. Ritz-Carlton was disappointing due to uncaring front desk staff. Hilton Lafayette was good. Sites we saw were wonderful in New Orleans and Lafayette. Most every guide was very good except one dance instructor in Lafayette was rude.

Most Memorable Moment:

Bourbon street and all of the museums

review_img

LTanner

New Orleans and the Louisiana Bayou

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

Tauck does it again! A true, once-in-a-lifetime experience full of fascinating insights, unique experiences, delicious food and outstanding hotels. Can't wait for my next trip with Tauck...

review_img

touring grandma

It's the experience, not the scenery!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2014

After enjoying the Charleston, Savannah trip last year I was glad our tour director, [Employee Name] explained the New Orleans trip was more about experiencing the food, culture, history and music. The trip was very interesting from the history of the Acadians to Cajuns to the birth of Jazz. Private viewing at Preservation Hall was very special.

Most Memorable Moment:

WWII museum was amazing. Sitting in the kitchen listening to authentic Cajun music very fun. New Orleans Cooking school with chef Kevin a great experience. The trip was true to Louisiana. The architects explanation of Katrina and the levee failure most interesting. The trip was paced very well, with time for a quick nap before evening activities!

review_img

EMoss

New Orleans: Bayous and the Big Easy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2014

In one word: fabulous. We went March 25, 2014 and the weather was cool but the warmth of Randy, our Tour Director, and our city guide and our cooking teacher and all the other guides in Cajun Country, contributed to a wonderful warm atmosphere. If we had gone to New Orleans ourselves, we would never have experienced what we saw and did.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the Lower 9th Ward. I was shocked at the many, many empty spaces where houses once stood. A fire station and a high school were being built. There is still no police station there. Our guide was a volunteer with a group that is building houses and she was extremely knowledgeable about the situation there.

review_img

Edmondwall

Nawlins and Cajun country

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2014

The trip was well planned. Our free afternoons were only blocks from the hotel. There were plenty of times to rest before evening activities. I appreciated the tour director ([Employee Name]) taking in my religious needs, no meat on Friday and mass on Sunday.

Most Memorable Moment:

The lecture about hurricane Katrina was very informative. I also enjoyed the Cajun country. I am from Louisiana originally. The trip rekindled my pride or the state. This vacation was one the best yet.

review_img

JWebb

Perfect profile of both New Orleans and cajun country.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Enjoyed this trip with family so much May, 2011 that I repeated it October, 2013 with a friend. So well planned by Tauck and both tour directors. Great hotels, good drivers, delicious southern food,showcased area's uniqueness. As former Louisiana resident, I attest you found its soul. This was my 19th Tauck trip and I count it near the top.

Most Memorable Moment:

Wow,how to choose! Preservation Hall, World War II Museum and movie, lunch at New Orleans School of Cooking ,porch lunch/cajun music in Scott,LA. Everything was great, even the weather.

review_img

judycat

A N UNUSUAL TRIP

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

THIS TRIP HAD SOME PROBLEMS. I WAS UNEASY WITH THE GUIDE. BUT TAUK STEPPED IN, AND TOOK CARE OF THE PROBLEMS, AND IT WAS A GREAT TRIP. THIS IS WHY I ALWAYS TRAVEL TAUCK. I TRAVEL SOLO, AND FEEL VERY SAFE WITH THEM.

Most Memorable Moment:

REALLY LOVED CAJUN COUNTRY.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Dear Ms. Ewing, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are happy to have you as a patron and look forward to hosting you in the future. Edel K.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Pooch

This was one of the best vacation ever.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2013

The accomodations were first class as was the food. The pace was very good. The tour guide, [Employee Name], was on top of of everything. I would make this trip again.

Most Memorable Moment:

The movie at the WW11 Museum was very moving.

review_img

Nina Deutz

New Orleans:Bayous and the Big Easy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2013

Fantastic trip - loved the food, music, history, culture and people. Just enough free time to seek out the many recommendations we had from friends. The visit to the lower 9th ward was memorable. The history of the Cajuns in Louisiana was fascinating and a piece of history that had somehow escaped us. And we had a spectacular evening of dancing.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to choose -- Carriage ride and cocktails and dinner at Arnaud's! Achafalaya boat trip! Cracking craw fish! Cajun dancing!

review_img

bandl142

New Orleans and Bayous Fun

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2013

Great and varied itinerary. We had guides take us through the French Quarter, the Lower 9th Ward, the Cajun country in Lafayette, a cooking school, the WW II Museum, and much more. Our tour director was a veritable font of knowledge. Great fun and great food!

Most Memorable Moment:

Our dinner and visit to the Pont Breaux Restaurant and Dancing Hall. Everyone took a turn dancing to the infectious Cajun and Xydeco music!

TAUCK RESPONSE

So glad you had a wonderful trip!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Dickem

Memorable Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

We enjoyed perfect weather -- sunny and comfortably warm although temperatures cooled down over the weekend, but rose again thereafter. The trip was very well organized. We learned a lot about New Orleans and the Cajun country to its west. This is a trip well worth taking.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Creole and Cajun food. Jazz at Preservation Hall. Cajun music and stories.

review_img

bjackson

NEW ORLEANS &BAYOUS & THE BIG EASY

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

WE HAD A WONDERFUL TIME. THE TOUR DIRECTOR WAS SO HELPFUL AND KNOWLEDGEABLE ESPECIALLY WITH THE STORM SANDY APPROACHING AND EVERY ONE FROM THE EAST COAST UNEASY THE ITINERARY WAS GREAT AND ENJOYED THE CAJUN EXPERIENCE BUT THOUGHT THAT IT WAS TOO LONG. THE TRIP PROVIDED A REAL EDUCATIONAL EXPERIENCE AND THE TALK ABOUT THE CITY AND HOW KATRINA .

Most Memorable Moment:

THE FAREWELL PARTY

review_img

ladonnahaden

WOW!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

we had been to New Orleans before but never like this. Grand hotels and interesting diverse events each and every day. The level of service was top notch! The food was amazing!

Most Memorable Moment:

The Cajun singers in Scott La. and the cooking school in New Orleans

review_img

doneagle

Our New Orleans Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

Our tour director (Randy) was very well organized and familiar with both New Orleans and the Cajun country. We really enjoyed the experience of savoring the music and especially the food! We highly recommend this trip for travelers who have not been to the New Orleans area.

Most Memorable Moment:

The visit to the ninth ward and the opportunity to see the effort put forth by the volunteers from the non-profit organizations.

review_img

JGiammarino

Loved New Orleans and LA!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

Great trip that showed us a special side of New Orleans and LA - great hotels! Great excursions, except for the Tabasco Factory - VERY disappointed; the show filled up and some from Tauck could not get in. The director, though nice, overall should have been more attentive. Not used to either of these disappointments with Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

Concert at Provident Hall

review_img

JLakin

Great city, fabulous food!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

My husband chose this trip to celebrate his 70th birthday. We had been to New Orleans many years ago and wanted to see how the recovery was going. We were inspired by the people who are working so hard to bring things back and make it better than ever. The trip to the Cajun country was new for us and we loved the spirit of those people!

Most Memorable Moment:

Touring the World War II museum on Memorial Day was a moving experience. They have done a beautiful job there to honor the veterans and many of them were there that day. Of course, the wonderful food in New Orleans was a big part of the experience! It was a great birthday trip.

review_img

inwaikele

New Orleans-maybe we'll move there.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

The special jazz concert must be the highlight of the trip. It made our tour. Hotels and meals were great. .first class. Cooking class-great! Liked staying more days at one hotel, instead of constantly moving. Concert at the Mint was great and it was nice to spend two extra days at the Ritz. It gave us the chance to rest and tour at our leisure.

Most Memorable Moment:

As above, the jazz concert was just great.

review_img

tpman

Let the Good Times Roll

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

From the passion of our director and guides to the passion of the people and their passion for fun, this was an amazing trip. The accommadations, especially in New Orleans, were excellent, and the food was great. All the excursions were interesting and informative. I especially enjoyed the cooking school in New Orleans.

Most Memorable Moment:

My most memoriable moment was learning to play the rub board and spoons at Mama Begnaud's place and jamming some cajun music with D. L. Menard and those two young very talented musicans.

review_img

cayers

New Orleans/Bayou trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2012

I enjoyed every bit of this trip. I especially appreciated the chance to not only see New Orleans but to experience it through cooking class, dance lessons, Tabasco bottling, etc. I even learned how to play the spoons and the washboard! The tour gave me a much broader picture of the area than I would ever have had if I had traveled on my own.

Most Memorable Moment:

Dancing the Cajun two-step. The whole Cajun scene was fun, educational, and very memorable.

review_img

Mimacan

Many great memories, not enough space to tell here

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2012

Preserv. Hall, Mardi Gras Wrld, School of Cooking= great memories! Present. of unique environment of NO made us understand better a visit of Lower Ninth Ward. Mama Redell & legendary DL Ménard & few Cajuns delighted us with their unique music/story telling @ La Maison Begnaud. Our boat trip on Atchafalaya & delicious lunch @ McGee's Landing= a must

Most Memorable Moment:

Finally being able to visit New Orleans and walk in the French District, discovering Preservation Hall, talking to D.L. Ménard & his friends in Cajun country are but a FEW of the wonderful memories we have of New Orleans. Every day was remarkable with its many discoveries!

review_img

judy correll

new orleans

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2011

The trip was enjoyable. However, the first day was very stressful and frustrating. The driver left the airport without me. While I was waiting for my bag at the carousel, I saw him walking away. I called the emergency number and it was a couple of hours before he came back. Fortunately the group had not yet left for dinner; they were having drinks and left within about ten minutes for dinner.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We sincerely apologize for the stressful beginning to your trip. We are extremely disappointed that you had this unfortunate experience with the airport transfer. We have followed up with the personnel responsible, and hope this did not mar your overall enjoyment of the tour.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Marty W

2nd time as good as the 1st

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2011

This was my 2nd time to take the New Orleans: Bayous & The Big Easy tour. I would recommend this tour to anyone who is a newcomer to New Orleans or they have been there before. Exceptional hotels, food, music and the tours are great from the jazz concerts and Cajun music to the historical venues. The guides do an exceptional job.

Most Memorable Moment:

The private jazz concert at Preservation Hall in the French Quarter. We were also lucky enough to hear Cajun music on 3 different occasions. The National WWII Museum is a must see. The restaurants are top notch and have such a great flair with the local cuisine.

close-button

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button