TravelerReviews

Grand Alaska

review_img

fingerman1953

Trip of a lifetime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

My wife and I went on the Grand Alaska Tour 9/2/16 So glad we went with Tauck. The personal guide was the best. He was very knowledgeable about every aspect of Alaska we wanted to know about. Glad we didn't try to do this trip on a regular cruise, I think we would have missed out on a lot. The excursions were top notch. We will use them again

Most Memorable Moment:

To pick only one moment is tough, but I would have to say Copper River Lodge. It was smaller and less touristy.

review_img

Irene Turner

Alaska Beuty

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

The trip was led by a terrific tour director, and we experience many exciting and beautiful sites. There were many interesting activities including a float plane, a jet boat, two ferry rides, rafting, a funicular over Juneau, short wilderness walks and a long bus tour of Denali National Park.

Most Memorable Moment:

The highlights for me were the Float Plane over the glaciers, the visit with the Porterfield family, the drive in Denali National Park, the ferry ride across Prince William Sound and the beauty of Mendenhall Glacier Park.

review_img

Donn

Grand Alaska

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

The land portion of the trip was very enjoyable. Many great adventures and experiences. I believe our Tauck tour director was one of your best. I was disappointed in the cruise portion. I don't think the Princess Coral was up to Tauck standards. The food, service, and general condition of the ship were less than what I expect from Tauck

Most Memorable Moment:

This was our 10th Tauck trip so I had very high expectations. Meeting the Tlingit people and learning their culture was certainly a highlight. When the trip was over, I felt I learned a great deal about Alaska - the people, animals, and land. Great trip for learning that will stay with me. Loved the raft outing in Haines.

review_img

Chicken Hawk

Grand Alaska the Tauck Way!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

Grand Alaska was indeed GRAND! The "trouble in traveling" was removed by Tauck during this trip. I especially enjoyed the diversity of experience during all phases of the trip - from a float plane trip exposing magnificent views to a real Native American presentation, every day presented a unique, pleasurable, and memorable experience. Fabulous!

Most Memorable Moment:

The float plane trip into Denali - truly out-of-body experience!

review_img

rcherbst

Amazing Alaska Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

We have always had Alaska on our bucket list and finally had the opportunity to go. What an amazing journey! Our tour director was helpful, knowledgeable, and exceptionally resourceful... in a word, fantastic! For anyone who truly wants to "experience" Alaska, we highly recommend Tauck. You won't be disappointed!

Most Memorable Moment:

We can't come up with only one memorable moment. The entire trip was well thought out, planned, and organized so that we saw the scenery, wilderness, and wildlife, experienced the people and culture, and also had time to relax, shop, and enjoy our vacation. The whole journey was memorable!

review_img

cheelim

Feeling Half Empty

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

We had the above tour recently. We had a good time but we did not have the usual Tauck experience as we had with other Tauck tours. Tauck used Princess facilities which are paid much cheaper and did not meet Tauck standards for the Tauck prices.

Most Memorable Moment:

Denali

review_img

edphdmd

Grand Alaska

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

I guess I should have known this: Tauck basically served as a 3rd party vendor for Princess Cruises. Everything was Princess: although the views were different, the hotels and restaurants in each location were the same. The cruise itself? Fine but nothing spectacular. For $27k for 3 people I expected a lot more.

Most Memorable Moment:

Certainly the scenery was spectacular. Raft and train excursions were fun.

review_img

Nicastro

Wonderful experience!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

Our trip was terrific from beginning to end! Our tour director was amazing. He was extremely well organized, knowledgeable and helpful. Our driver was also exceptional. Only one negative note: the driver/tour guide on the Denali Park tour (Tom) was downright surly. He obviously did not enjoy his job.

Most Memorable Moment:

The flight seeing...or the homestead...or the Iditarod dogs...or the rafting...TOO many to pick!

review_img

Eljaycee

Enjoyable trip through gorgeous scenery

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

Enjoyed the trip, although the ship and hotels were not Tauck standard. Hotels, however, were "best available." Tour Director was fantastic. Enjoyed most of the activities. Things I'd change: (1) ditch the long drive to Copper Center and Valdez in favor of the Princess Lodge in Kenai; (2) whale watching instead of float trip; (3) smaller ship.

Most Memorable Moment:

Glacier Bay was glorious. The Jeff King sled dog facility was a lot of fun. Float plane over the glaciers was good (landing on a glacier would have been even better).

review_img

JoWeber

BEST TOUR DIRECTOR EVER!!!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

Our tour director was FABULOUS. This was our 4th Tauck trip and he did a fabulous job going above and beyond duty. Bald eagles, moose, caribou, dall sheep, sea lions, husky's, whales, birds, flowers, and yes, grizzly bears. Princess" Island Princess" was better than we expected as we are use to Seabourn and Silver Sea. FUN TRIP!

Most Memorable Moment:

Bald Eagle Reserve and seeing the ocean mammals on the way to Haines.

review_img

JPD

Grand Alaska 2016

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

A great trip that everyone should do at least once in a lifetime. We had an outstanding tour director that provided exceptional organization, history, and humor. Tauck does a great job of using Princess ships and hotels that may not be up to the 5 stars associated with Tauck, but the all inclusive activities and great tour director make up for it.

Most Memorable Moment:

The float plane trip and experiencing the overall vastness of Alaska up close. Also, seeing the bear, moose, eagles, and other animals in Denali. Spending an extra day at the end of the trip to visit Victoria was worth the time.

review_img

mpatnaude

Best vacation ever

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

we have never done a tour before and we have never done a large trip like the Grand Alaska To say that it was everything that we imagined would not be saying enough It was totally amazing and Jim our guide was the best

Most Memorable Moment:

The float plane

review_img

Dave 1947

Grand Alaska

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

Loved Alaska, but this trip is not up to normal Tauck standards. I did not realize that so much of this trip would in essence be sub contracted to Princess Cruise Lines. We stayed at Princess hotels, ate their food and spend 7 days on their 3000 person cruise ship. I now understand Princess owns the market.

Most Memorable Moment:

Not having the "special" Tauck moments that we have enjoyed on past Tauck Tours.

review_img

tigerchill

Homesteaders and grizzlies

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

One of the things we like about Tauck is that they arrange encounters with local folks. In Alaska, we visited the homestead of the Porterfield family. Three generations have carved out a living in the wilderness. They are resourceful, self-sufficient, and independent. We wouldn't have met them if not on a Tauck tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

In Denali National Park, we saw a lone grizzly bear running through the tundra, several hundred yards away and parallel to the bus. This bear didn't appear to be chasing anything, rather, he just seemed to be enjoying an afternoon romp through the park. This is not a scene that could be duplicated in a zoo; it was sheer nature being natural.

review_img

mariannb

Grand Alasks

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

This was our first Tauck trip, and we were a little leery about spending so much money on a vacation, but it was so worth it. Tauck really goes over and above to treat you well: faster lines, better accommodations, great excursions. Several events were cancelled due to severe weather, but unfortunately, Tauck can't control that.

Most Memorable Moment:

That's hard: Flying from SFO to Anchorage and watching a 5 1/2 hour sunset; visiting the homestead; seeing moose, bears, and eagles.

review_img

Gary and Jan

An awesome vacation in an amazing state!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

This was our first Tauck trip, and we loved nearly everything about it! Our director was very knowledgeable and funny, our fellow travelers were really friendly, and you can't beat the scenery! The warm and sunny weather we were blessed with for most of the trip also helped make it an outstanding and memorable trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

It's hard to say! The visit with the Porterfield family and with Jeff King were super interesting, while the many amazing views we had of Denali and the other mountains and glaciers will never be forgotten!

review_img

SJtrip

Grand Alaska August 2015

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

The entire trip was creative and paced well. We did a variety of things each and every day but at no point did we feel overwhelmed. It was well planned and it flowed seamlessly. Our tour director was very knowledgeable and humorous. We really lucked out with the weather......it was beautiful which increased the enjoyment of the trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

On the first full day, we flew in float planes to Mt. McKinley on a clear sunny day. We were so close to the mountain, we felt we could touch it. It was totally awesome.

review_img

Rosemary Barry

Beautiful scenery, lots of animals!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Overall, the Grand Alaska trip was awesome. The accommodations were not up to the usual Tauck highest standard but in this state they were the best available. We are not big ship cruisers, prefer small ships so the Star Princess took some getting used to! Our tour director was so great at organizing all our activities.

Most Memorable Moment:

Rafting in Haines was fabulous. Seeing moose, bear, eagles, caribou and Dahl sheep in so many places was unbelievable.

review_img

mikeydaz

Bucket list Alaska

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

We enjoyed the trip- our Tauck guide was great - he went out of his way to accommodate our needs and special requests. The trip was more commercialized than expected; however, Tauck made every effort to make it unique. Now crossed off my bucket list.

Most Memorable Moment:

The plane trip to Mt. McKinley was a highlight (we were very lucky with the weather for that portion).

review_img

Bob7740

Alaskan Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

First 7 days in Alaska were fantastic! Last 7 days on cruise ship were unenjoyable. Didn't like being nickel and dimed, cover charge for certain restaurants, and mediocre, at best, food. Rained for 6 straight days,people sick,all land trips were wet. Too many people on tour. The Tauck Director though is the best tour leader I have ever had on all my travels

Most Memorable Moment:

Plane flight around Mt. Denali. Clear weather made for fantastic photos.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have passed along your comments to our Operations team who is always enhancing our tours based on guests' feedback. Thank you for travelling with Tauck.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

barbara3

Grand Alaska

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Loved the float plane and raft ride through eagle preserve also cruise. Anchorage boring museum too long should go to animal conservation. Loved Denali and Copper River Lodge salute to veterans.All lodgings good but too many boxed lunches(poor quality). Homestead of Porterfield family boring. Also shouldn't have annoying children on trip with adult

Most Memorable Moment:

Float plain,river raft with eagles and cruise All lodgings especially Copper river lodge and veteran salute.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have shared your comments with our Operations team who is always striving to enhance our tours and provide the highest quality tour for our guests.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Kay D

Grand Alaska truly is grand

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

We just returned from the Grand Alaska adventure and it truly was. The first week was spent using many different modes of transportation traversing some of the vast and beautiful interior of Alaska. It is a spectacular state with the vast majority untouched by man. The second week cruising was beautiful and relaxing.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many highlights: seeing Denali three times, including a beautiful blue-sky day; flying in the float plane over a glacier and a glimpse of Denali; meeting some of the people who now call Alaska their home; and sailing into Glacier Bay and the ship doing slow 360 degree turns so everybody could view the glacier.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your wonderful memories of this great state! We look forward to having you travel with Tauck again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Ellengr7

Grand Alaska

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

This was a special event for us having the whole family go on this trip together. It worked especially well since every event was planned for us and we did not have 9 different opinions of what to see next. Every day was well executed and our director, Don was so knowledgeable of the area, geology and animals. Food and accommodations were great.

Most Memorable Moment:

We all loved the float plane trip over the glaciers. But then we loved the visit with the homesteaders and also the rafting on the Chilkat. How can you pick just one? And the pipeline.

review_img

mcneillsb1

Grand Alaska is a Grand tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Our Tauck Director was awesome and so organized. We got to see so much and learned so many things that we would have missed without a very knowledgeable guide. Everything ran so smoothly! We stayed very busy but had a few spots for free time.

Most Memorable Moment:

The visit to the homestead farm was the most REAL experience I think we had. We met a family that had moved there during the homesteading period and heard about their experiences. Amazing! I also enjoyed the excursions off of the cruise ship. To really experience all of Alaska, you need Land & Sea tours!

review_img

dweiser

Grand Alaska Indeed

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Our 15 day Alaskan adventure was everything we dreamed it would be. This was our third Tauck Tour and we brought another couple with us who had never experienced a Tauck vacation. At first our friends were skeptical of the cost, but when they saw everything that was "packed" into our vacation, the accommodations, food, etc. they were believers.

Most Memorable Moment:

I was most impressed with the Homesteaders. That was something you do not see on any other tour. The hardships these people endured and the opportunity for us to ask questions of the family members truly gave us a "feel" for Alaska. Also loved visiting with the native people (Percy and the Saxon Village), and petting Jeff King's baby huskies.

review_img

jmmdownhil

Grand Alaska Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

We had a great time with our Tauck Director on our GRAND Adventure, our second Tauck tour and definitely not our last. From the "Gift of Time" day in Anchorage, to the rustic lodging, majestic mountains, float plane over a glacier, train excursions, rafting, first cruise ship, whales, moose, eagles, and more, our expectations were exceeded.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too numerous to count, but the Jeff King sled dog homestead stands out. The dogs are phenomenal animals who are "born to run". Interesting to get an understanding of the training, logistical, and funding requirements of the Iditarod race. The human and the dogs must all be on the same page to be succeed. (And this was only 1 hr. of the 14 days!)

review_img

RodneyErtischek

Lots to do and see

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

This was our first tour trip. We were very relaxed knowing that we did not have to drive and plan out what to do each day. We enjoyed a variety of activities and especially enjoyed visiting the home of homesteader Joanne Porterfield, meeting her, her daughter and grandson. Their story and lives are fascinating and inspiring.

Most Memorable Moment:

The day spent on the ship at Hubbard Glacier and riding the train through the White Pass and Yukon Route

review_img

lrwcma

Great tour of Alaska

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

We greatly enjoyed the experiences Tauck put together for this trip. It really gave us a feel of the land and people of Alaska. The tour director was exceptional and all coordination was very smooth. While the accommodations aren't as good as other Tauck trips we've been on, they were clearly the best that could be found and more than satisfactory.

Most Memorable Moment:

The visit with the "homesteaders" form around 1960 was a delightful surprise. It really gave you a sense that people in of about your age and during your lifetime could venture into and build a life in the "wilderness". Calving glaciers were a highlight of the majesty of nature.

review_img

orchard1

Outstanding Alaskan Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

From the minute we met our Tauck representative it was carefree, creating wonderful memories of the great state of Alaska. The land trip held beautiful sites. Our guide was very knowledgable. The food and lodging was outstanding. The Ship was nice but the glaciers were breathtaking with their majestic blue ice. Loved no luggage worries.

Most Memorable Moment:

Cruising through the glaciers watching the blue ice slide down splashing into the water below is something you can never see any place but in Alaska and we were fortunate enough to have great weather and see them for a couple days from our balcony on the Coral Princess.

review_img

Racy

Grand Alaska just grand

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Our tour director was over the top good. We are very glad we did the land trip first, then the sea portion because once on the ship, it was very relaxing. We learned so much about Alaska, thanks to the tour director and the other tour guides along the way. We were never bored!! Accommodations were top notch.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to choose one. Seeing Mt McKinley on a brilliant sunny day, bald eagles on the raft trip, glaciers "calving" into the ocean, orcas and grizzly in the wild - all once in a lifetime experiences.

review_img

Nardolillo Florida

Alaska Adventure 2015

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

loved the land portion! The Tauck Director and driver were both superlative! Attentive, informed, patient + helpful. We truly felt we could relax + enjoy every minute. The excursions + activities were wonderful. We did appreciate the priority treatment on tours as well as on the ship. Expediting our boarding and de-boarding process was wonderful!

Most Memorable Moment:

Spending time with the Homesteader and learning about her experiences

review_img

Janet Williams

Grand Alaska

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Overall a breathtaking trip. Our tour guide's knowledge and interest on so many subjects was exceptional. In our down time if there was a piano he also entertained us practicing his playing. Two downsides the 8 hour trip thru Denali - too long on a bus. Copper River Lodge poor to fair on service and dining needs attention.

Most Memorable Moment:

The flight seeing trip over Mt. McKinley will forever be in my minds eye just beautiful and awesome! Great variety of tours and experiences that will not be forgotten in that vast and untouched magnificent state. Everyone should do in once in their lifetime.

review_img

NAllen

Mooses and carrabo and bears - Oh My!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Went to Alaska to see wildlife.Was not disappointed (with the exception of Whales oh well).Tour Guide, Randy amazing, infor-mative and professional. Don't miss flight around Denali breath taking and Denali Nat'l Park. Although the curse allowed us to get up close and personal with the glaciers,if you miss the interior you miss Alaska.Thanks Tauck!

Most Memorable Moment:

Unusually perfect clear day to fly around Denali Mountain. Back home looking at the photos we still get a thrill. Very fortunate to have Randy as our tour guide. His knowledge of Alaska made our trip so special.

review_img

vyner

Can you ever beat that?

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

What a marvellous trip - right from day 1. The weather helped - amazing, enhancing the experience. Float plane to Dinali brilliant; meeting homesteaders enlightening; seeing grizzlies in the wilderness awe-inspiring; wonderful tour group and manager - all so friendly and positive. Cruise experience much better than expected - lovely ship and crew.

Most Memorable Moment:

Could be meeting the dog-sled race puppies - or was it the floatplane to Dinali - or was it the grizzlies? This holiday / adventure ticked every possible box. brilliant

review_img

DCSusan

Tauck tops the travel list

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Everything about my Grand Alaska trip was fantastic. If all your tour directors are of the same caliber as the one we had you have yourselves remarkable individuals. He never missed a trick, caught any subtle nuance. Variety of transportation, special tours, touches, great. Even liked the huge ship better than expected. Land part my favorite.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to choose between the remarkable flightseeing trip around Mt. McKinley/Denali(certainly a birthday I will always remember) and the extraordinary day at Denali. The railroad ride to get there was beautiful. I will remember all of it though. Hard to choose only one memorable moment. We were SO lucky with the weather!!

review_img

Joan Mistrough

Great Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Start to finish an extraordinary experience heightened by tour professionals. Our Tauck Director was as perfect a host/guide one could wish for and the associates excellent as well. While can't thank Tauck for the weather it certainly added to experience. The selected excursions were all wonderful and clearly revealed that Tauck listens and responds.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many but the float plane and Skagway train were exceptional. Our driver/guide in Denali made the experience even more special. Rafting and the Glaciers were frosting on the cake.

review_img

mcmancd50

Great Alaska ground tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Land portion was very good and tour guide was excellent. The weather was outstanding making the tour very enjoyable. This tour is associated with Princess hotel and cruises, and as such, the accommodations were very nice but menus did not vary and became mundane. Tauck could improve cruise onshore excursions.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Denali in its entirety and being a member of the "30% Club".

review_img

forever23

Best Trip Ever Falls To Second Place

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Several years ago we did the Canadian Rockies with Tauck.I was sure nothing could compare to that trip, until Grand Alaska! This trip is truly the trip of a life time. It stands above any other trip we have ever taken with or with out Tauck and we have done considerable traveling.

Most Memorable Moment:

There was not one memorable moment in the entire trip. There was a series of memorable moments that never seemed to end. Just when you thought it couldn't get any better it did. Our tour director was on top of everything and was so knowledgeable about every aspect of Alaska.

review_img

Cece's travels

An Excellent Choice

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

If all of the tour guides were first rate as the one we had we would be traveling all the time. He made the trip easy on my 90yr. old husband who is quite capable without assistance, but still needed that special attention. The trip, the scenery, the whole tour group were just great We especially liked the ground tour before the cruise

Most Memorable Moment:

You can't beat the Alaska scenery. It is just breathtaking. I loved it especially on the bus going to Copper River.

review_img

Suzie Fox

Wild Alaska

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

The trip was 2-prrt, land for the first week, and then sailing the inside passage the second. The land trip was fantastic, the accommodations were great, and we had superb views of Mt. McKinley, something not too common. The days were filled with good activities but not exhausting. The local guides were terrific. The cruise was great!

Most Memorable Moment:

Flying over giant glaciers in a small plane on a gorgeous Alaska morning or jet boating us the Susitna River.

review_img

DAMAC

Great Alaska Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

The trip was fantastic. Our tour director was the best. Knowledgeable, funny, caring and just a great guy to spend two weeks with touring Alaska. Majestic views, great accomodations, good food and great attention to details by our director. Worth every penney!

Most Memorable Moment:

Viewing Dinali three days in a row.

review_img

PeterPen

Spectacular Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

The entire trip was outstanding in both the selection of sites and the execution of the details by our tour director. The first eight days on land was very comprehensive in what we saw and did. Nothing was left to chance, i.e the accommodations and the meals were first class. The scenery was spectacular since fall was fast approaching. Super!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Mt. McKinley from the air during a cloudless day. Making that flight from Wasilla to Mt. McKinley an optional excursion in 2015 would be a travesty. The second most memorable moment was seeing bears, moose, Dall sheep, and caribou in Denali National Park. The third most memorable moment was meeting our tour guide: she's a national treasure.

review_img

Circe's Mom

Grand Alaska Sept. 2014

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

Truly a grand trip encompassing knowledge, adventure, sightings of natural beauty as well as animals, and experiences! Our tour director! Don, was not only extremely knowledgeable but there was never a detail too small that he wouldn't handle. He made our trip the great success it was. Our driver gave us a red carpet treatment daily! Thank you!

Most Memorable Moment:

Difficult to pick; the float plane, the river rafting, our visit to the Husky Homestead, our nature walk in the woods with a picnic lunch. All quickly come to mind, as do so many other things that to pick just one is extremely difficult. A trip to Alaska covering so much that nothing seems to have been overlooked!

review_img

Norman Herman

Grand Alaska

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

From start to finish, this was one of the best vacations we have ever had. The professionalism of our tour director, [Employee Name] was truly outstanding. Every detail of the trip was well planned to provide maximum enjoyment and comfort. The itinerary for the trip was well conceived for both the land package and the cruise portion.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our day in Denali where we got 4 spectacular views of Mt McKinley, saw bear, caribou and sheep.

review_img

Walter Lonergan

1st Tauck trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

A wonderful experience with many lasting memories. Tauck is first class and we had the best of everything available. Alaska is rustic but the Princess Lodges are very nice.

Most Memorable Moment:

Trains and planes and boats oh my !

review_img

potter

Grand Alaska

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2014

Fabulous! Only way to describe it. So much to see and do, Tauck had covered everything. We did so much more than anyone i have spoken to that have taken tours with other companies. Accommodation was the best with great views from our bedroom windows. We were still part of the Tauck group while we were cruising with extra activities organised.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many, loved the Husky Homestead, the raft trip, float plane, our Tour Director Jim was awesome. Think i have to say the Dog Sledding on the Mendenhall Glacier from Juneau was the best. Princess optional extra and i can understand Tauck not including it as i was told at least 40% of the tours are cancelled due to bad weather.I was very lucky.

review_img

Ginnijay

Alaska in the summer

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2014

It is two years later and we still are talking about the variety of experiences. Loved that the trip is planned, so no work on my part. Went on excursions that were not the "typical" tourist attraction.

Most Memorable Moment:

Husband loved the float plane ride and the rafting to see the bald eagles. Spectacular. I enjoyed the visits with native people, the totem maker, the Iditarod trainer, the homesteaders. And both of us were awed by the scenery.

review_img

sschwa

Below Tauck quality

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2014

Our TENTH Tauck tour. We've always had difficulty listing our most enjoyable because we didn't want to put any on the bottom of the list. Grand Alaska remedied that. Alaska is beautiful, but the ground itinerary was repetitious, and the Princess cruise - glaciers aside - was regrettable; quality was way below our expectations from Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

Rafting while eagle watching was great fun, but most memorable was disembarking the cruise ship in Vancouver.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for your feedback. I have shared your comments with our Product Manager.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

jmrosch

Wonderful trip to Alaska with Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2014

We loved the trip - Randy, our guide was outstanding. The lodges were comfortable and very nice.

Most Memorable Moment:

Having a play-date with a momma humpback and her baby on the way from Valdez to Whittier. They played for quite a long time - it was incredible!

review_img

J. Hale

Majestic!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2014

This trip was in celebration of our granddaughter's attainment of her Master's degree in Education. Sort of wondered how a twenty something would handle 40 people in a bus, traveling the back roads of Alaska. To her credit- and because of the majestic views at every turn in Alaska- it was, in her terms, "A homerun!"

Most Memorable Moment:

The land portion of the trip was by far our favorite part. And, the river float through a bald eagle refuge on the cruise portion was outstanding, too. It was also great having the most encyclopedic tour guide that we have ever had explain the sites, history and culture of the Alaskan people, as we toured. We were impressed!

review_img

Cathy1052

Grand Alaska

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2014

What a wonderful trip!! It truly couldn't have been better. This was our fourth trip with Tauck and it was just great. We wouldn't dream of traveling with anyone else. Tauck does such a superb job. Alaska was just amazing. We loved it so much, we'd like to go back and see a different part of Alaska - with Tauck of course.

Most Memorable Moment:

It is very hard to pick our most memorable moment. I will say that we loved interior Alaska best. It gave you a more accurate feel of what Alaska is all about. Cruising the interior passage was nice, but we really enjoyed the land portion of our trip best. It was an amazing experience meeting the Porterfields as well as seeing Denali.

review_img

Curious39

The Grand Alaska Tour (June 21 -July 6, 2014)

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2014

This was our first tour with Touck. Tauck was recommended by few of our friends. We strongly recommend coming one day before start of a tour, especially when long flight is required to join the tour. We did not, and this adds unnecessary stress.

Most Memorable Moment:

Looking back we would have preferred expended land tour only. For us, the Princess cruise ship was way too big and in comparison with land tour, cruising part did not add much too overall Alaska experience. Our total experience is very positive. Starting with the Tour Director Mike, who was very friendly, professional and very helpful.

review_img

dlong1070

Grand Alaska Wow!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2014

From the moment we landed at the anchorage airport to the moment would exited the cruise ship our tour guide Mike was there for us. Mike and the entire Tauck experence is "Over the Moon". There is not one negative thing I could say about Tauck. I could go on and on about Mike and Tauck but if your on the fence about the money or itinerary just go!

Most Memorable Moment:

Loved all the tours but the float plane, Float raft and Denali wilderness tour were the best.

review_img

Snookie

Beauty of Alaska.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2014

Tauck guide and coach driver kept us busy viewing the beauty of Alaska. The places we visited were absolutely beautiful and very interesting. Our stay in Anchorage was memorable, the Princess lodges and the Princess cruise were pleasantly enjoyable. The ride on the Alaska Railroad was most enjoyable for service and the views.

Most Memorable Moment:

The observation of Denali without any clouds for four days was amazing. Tauck provides more than anyone can ask for. There are many more moments to cite. The train ride to White Pass, the flightseeing on the float plane, rafting in an eagle reserve, Jeff Kings sled dogs visit and Joanne Porterfields' homestead are just a few.

review_img

iamGodskid

Vacation of a lifetime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Everything was wonderful, we saw so much and Alaska is such a beautiful state the porterfield homestead and the jeff king dog training was awesome. Tauck planned everything for us was wonderful to not have to worry about driving or hotels or where should we go/ what should we see. we were able to totally relax I even saw the Northern Lights! thx

Most Memorable Moment:

we loved rafting through the eagle preserve, was something I will never forget as long as I live,Tauck handled everything and it was all amazing

review_img

AdamsAdamsAdams

Grand Alaska 2013

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

This was our first Tauck tour. We'll travel exclusively with Tauck from now on. They deliver everything advertised plus more. It was a wonderfully enjoyable trip. Words cannot adequately describe the spectacular beauty of Alaska and our amazing experiences during the various land tours and shore excursions.

Most Memorable Moment:

The float plane ride that followed the Matanuska River valley through mountains, glaciers and swamps. Spectacular scenery. Plane took off and landed on Lake Lucille just outside Wasilla. Taxied past Sarah Palin's house.

review_img

Bruce and Kathy

Grand Alaska

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Tour managed very professionally and efficiently. Liked having most gratuities paid up-front through Tauck. Excursions as a whole were very interesting and informative. Cruise part was more commercially oriented than we would have liked and the Diamond Princess ship was in need of a general overhaul and updating.

Most Memorable Moment:

We particularly liked the husky dog kennel, the float plane glacier viewing, getting to see glaciers "up close", and both train trips, and the Denali National Park trip were remarkable opportunities to see spectacular scenery. Overall a fantastic trip!!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We will definately share your comments regarding the Diamond Princess with our Product Team.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

allson

Wonderful trip from start to finish

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Tauck provides a stress-free vacation. No worries about the best sites/experiences, poor service, tipping practices. Tauck took care of it all. What you may not realize is that all of this really frees up more time for you to spend in the vacation experiences you hope for and not worry about the mechanics.

Most Memorable Moment:

The three that stand out are the visits with local people -- Porterfield Homestead, Husky Homestead and the Tlingit native people (two different experiences). We felt as if we learned so much more about Alaska by hearing from them directly.

review_img

MBaggish

Truly Grand Alaska Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

This trip exceeded our expectations. Tauck offered experiences that we could not have found on our own, including a 2 hour ride over Denali, several interactions and lectures with native Alaskans, and a visit to a homestead with 3 generations present.

Most Memorable Moment:

For my husband, it was the flight over Denali. The expanse is almost not comprehensible in its size and beauty. Mine was the trip to the homestead.

review_img

Carol Stares

Experience of a Lifetime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

this was truly a phenomenal experience. Tauck covers EVERYTHING!!! It was one of the greatest trips that my husband and I have ever been on. This was our third Tauck adventure and we are booked for Vietnam/Cambodia/Thailand in January and the Galapagos/Macchu Picchu in March. I would not travel w/any other tour company.

Most Memorable Moment:

Flying to Mt McKinley on a "Beaver" float plane. Day was glorious and it was an experience I will never forget!

review_img

CAlbinski

Grand Alaska 2013

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Breath taking scenery. The glaciers kept us all looking and listening. The experiences put together by Tauck were varied and well chosen. The wildlife sightings were a bit of a disappointment but that's the luck of the draw. Some of the other guests made the experience that much more enjoyable. Randy was a great guide and went above and beyond.

Most Memorable Moment:

The small plane ride up into the snow capped Alaska range was a big high light. However, the homestead visit was a close second. The stories of their coming to Alaska and building a home in the wild was really great. When one of the women said all she needed to work in the local school was a pulse, I loved it. Resilient people.

review_img

rosenm

alaska

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

The Tauck guide was fabulous. Tauck is first rate but Princess isn't. The ship certainlly doesn't meet Tauck's standards. Alaska is beautiful but because of its size it takes a long time to go from point A to point B. We are glad we went on the trip but we have had better vacations.

Most Memorable Moment:

the flightseeing trip

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that the Princess fell below your expectations. One of our Guest Relations Specialists will contact you to discuss this matter in more detail.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

ECox

Grand Alaska

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Land tour was everything we would want. We saw bears and cubs in Denali, a working homestead and visited an Iditarod winner. Tour director did a super job of keeping us on track and, most important, giving the history of what we saw. Really liked all accommodations, especially the lodges in the state parks. Cruise had too much down time for us.

Most Memorable Moment:

Every day on the land tour as we saw the overwhelming beauty of Alaska. We put this trip off but so glad we finally did it. Alaska is a place not to miss.

review_img

Bangelo

Grand Alaska

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Absolutely wonderful. We didn't have to worry about anything...and we were graced with almost perfect weather, unusual we're told. The land portion was our favorite by far (just us). Alaska is truly "the last frontier" and we were able to experience it a bit through those who live there, the special excursions, and our very knowledgeable guide.

Most Memorable Moment:

Airplane over Denali, raft trip to see bald eagles, husky puppies, listening to the "locals" describe their lives, glaciers, experiencing the vastness of the tiny portion of Alaska we visited. Oh, just too many to list!! A gift all should enjoy if possible.

review_img

DTarr

Grand Tauck in a Vast and Spectacular Alaska

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Once again Tauck and our tour director, Randy, led us through the largest state in the U.S. with a focus on unfolding the history, people and vast expanses of this great land. We were introduced to the independent spirit of the people and the unique landscape and wildlife of the frontier. A perfect blend of culture, experiences and nature.

Most Memorable Moment:

How can you name just one? From the start with a float plane ride to Mt. McKinley(Denali) on a picture perfect day to the drive through Denali, our float trip, railroad experiences and the towns. But the best part was the people that Randy put before us on every leg of our journey.

review_img

slowcc

Grand Alaska

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

The countryside was beautiful. The cruise was fun too.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the glaciers

review_img

Dixie Chick

Grand Alaska was Great

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Everything about the trip was wonderful--the weather, the activities, the scenery, our fellow travelers. We had a mini suite on the Island Princess and enjoyed the extra space. The tour director did a superb job of handling luggage, people, and logistics. It was our third Tauck trip; we wouldn't travel with anyone else.

Most Memorable Moment:

The flight seeing trip around Mt. Mckinley had to be the highlight, but we also loved the opportunities to view wildlife (bears, bald eagles, otters, sea lions, whales, moose, caribou, and more). The scenery is so gorgeous--mountains, lakes, glaciers in vast areas of unspoiled wilderness. It was a great trip to a glorious place.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey and returned with so many memorable moments!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

mamapainter

Grand Alaska summary comment

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Our Tauck Guide, [Employee Name], like all our past Guides through Tauck, was extreamly professional, knowledgeable, experienced and fun to be with. This tour presents truly iconic nature scenes with the scale perspective you cannot get through photos alone. The Denali excursions are necessarily long with early AM departures...not for frail clients.

Most Memorable Moment:

Any of the Bush Pilot plane flights; esp. the Mt. McKinley air tour! Not to be missed. If you can land and takeoff from a Glacier, go for that as it gives you perspective and scale not apparent by just flying alone. Take both still and video pictures. Very stable and effortless flight. Slow, 6 person rafting trip also spectacular in Eagle sighting

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you enjoyed your journey and thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

BBlanger

EXCELLENT

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

This trip was the best that we have done with Tauck, everything was perfect About did we with you not 5 Goal 7 1995 WYOMING 1996 CANADIAN ROCKIES 2010 SCANDINAVIA 2011 BOSTON CAPE COD 2012 SOUTH AMERICA 2012 RUSSIA 2013 ALASKA 2014 AND HAWAII!

Most Memorable Moment:

Many, the sequence circuit and cruise is excellent. Our guide Michael was great, everything was perfect Excellent service On ELSEWHERE we leave with you in February 2014 HAWAII Sincerely B.BLANGER

review_img

Peg S

Best Trip Ever!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Everything about this trip was perfect! [Employee Name] was an excellent Tour Director. We were always more interested in the land portion of any Alaskan trip & we were not disappointed. Expectations were set and always met -- Michael used travel time to provide history, info on next destinations, etc. Humor kept us going even when tired.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many moments ... it's hard to pick just one! Seeing 1 of 49 wolves in Denali! Floating by bald eagles perched on a log during the rafting! Seeing the top of Denali 3 days in a row! Meeting a great group of people from all over the world.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are thrilled you enjoyed your journey to Alaska and returned with so many memorable moments!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

arbee

Grand Alaska-"SUPER GRAND"

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

It was wonderful! The Director, Mike [Employee Name], is the best! He made a great trip even better. He was meticulous...accomodations were the best. The agendas for each day were spectacular. Mike made picture-perfect moments with postcards to immediately send home...nice touch. It truly was one of the best Tauck trips I have taken!

Most Memorable Moment:

Hearing and seeing the glaciers calving.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey to this magnificant region and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

mom2jcams

Our Alaskan adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

I went on this tour with my 4 children (3 of whom are adults). We all had an incredible tour, learning a lot about the culture and history of Alaska, travelling in many different modes (plane, float plane, train, boat, raft, cruise ship). Our tour guide, [Employee Name], was very knowledgable, entertaining, had a great attitude, kept us organized

Most Memorable Moment:

Float plane trip to see Mt. McKinley. We had amazing views of the beautiful mountain.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey to this wonderful region of the US. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Wondy

Grand Alaska

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

First, tour guide was exceptional. Second, Alaska was far beyond any expectations we had. But,not being a fan of cruises, the last half of our tour on the Princess Sapphire with 2,900 others was mediocre, at best. A couple days off this floating city with great planning by the tour guide made it acceptable. Overall, Tauck is terrific.

Most Memorable Moment:

Three things stand out. The flight over Mt. McKinley on a clear sunny day had to be number one. The patriotic tribute to military veterans at the Copper River Princess Lodge brought tears to most of us veterans and their spouses. The homesteader visit has to be included in the top three - it was quite a special look at early Alaska pioneers.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for your feedback; we are very pleased you enjoyed your overall journey!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Exadmiral

Grand Alaskan Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

My husband & I took the Grand Alaskan Adventure and had a wonderful time. We are seasoned travelers, and in the past have shunned organized tours. Never again! The scenery, wildlife, accommodations, delightful tour mates and knowledgeable tour director made it our best trip ever. We now understand why people choose Tauck!

Most Memorable Moment:

The trip started with a float plane ride to Denali. The weather was spectacular, so we were able to get very close to the mountain. The pilot made us all feel safe and gave us a wonderful narrative of all that we were seeing. Words can't do justice to the experience we had!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you enjoyed your journey with us and look forward to hosting you in the near future on another adventure!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Pepsi

Total Satisfaction

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Departed on July 8 with 40 other travelers. This was my first Tauck journey and I do believe I have found my home for solo travel. I have always taken a friend with me when I travel but that is cost prohibitive when I am working on a bucket list that includes SE Asia and Australia/New Zealand. I will strongly consider solo travel with Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many, but I probably most enjoyed the visit to the Husky Homestead followed closely by the visit to the Porterfield Homestead.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so please you enjoyed your journey. We do offer specific dates where single travelers do not have to pay the supplement. Please visit our website for this information.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Alex_whale

Alaskan Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Great Vacation. Well done Tauck! We saw a lot of animals on the land tour and spotted whales at sea. The activities and excursions were wonderful. The hotel accomodations were nice. Food in the ship can better. Tauck did everything first class- we were not disappointed. Our Tour Director, Michael, is awesome. Best Tour director we had so far.

Most Memorable Moment:

We have a few- Getting close to the Glaciers on the float plane ride and in Glacier Bay was breath taking, the serenity of the rafting trip, seeing the animals in person and enjoying the raw beauty of nature-the smell of fresh air, seeing Mt Denali was quite fascinating. The train ride from Skagway to Yukon and the Alaskan pipeline visit is amazing

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you enjoyed your trip to Alaska and returned with so many memorable moments.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

BILLK

Fantastic Grand Alaska Rocks

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

This was a bucket list trip of a lifetime. The tour was absolutely great. The Tauck Tour Director, [Employee Name], did an absolutely fantastic job of keeping everything on track and possessed a enormous amount of historical information concerning all of the venues we visited. There was never a dull moment during his watch.

Most Memorable Moment:

Personally, my most memorable moment was the float plane tour over the glacier. Not necessarily due to the sights themselves, which were fantastic, but due to my wife getting on the plane for the flight as she flew for the first time two and a half years prior to this trip. She had never been on a small plane and enjoyed it immensely. Overall A+.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey with us and returned with so many memorable moments.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

BHelander

Grand Alaska #9

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

We felt that the itinerary had been well tweaked over the years and that we saw the very best of Alaska by doing the land portion first, followed by sailing the Inside Passage. Further, we had an experienced, knowledgeable, entertaining guide in [Employee Name], who worked tirelessly behind the scenes to show us the best and teach us the most.

Most Memorable Moment:

Talking with some homesteaders from the 1960s about their lives in remote Alaska.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall journey and we thank you for your feedback.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

lepst

Great Alaska trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

The overall experience was outstanding. The trip was planned to give us a real sense of the state and its people. Float plane trip to the glaciers, meeting homesteaders, stopping in small towns, visits to Denali and we even had the clouds part so we could see Mt. Denali. On the Diamond Princess, Tauck took us on a rafting trip to see the eagles.

Most Memorable Moment:

The float plane trip over the glaciers.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feeback. WE are so plased yo enjoyed your journey with us.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

JVizza

Our Alaska Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Our trip was great. Michael Furrillo was excellent and so accommodating. All our excursions were so exciting especially the Float Plane over Mt. McKinley. The only thing my husband and I found a little disappointing was the food on the ship. All of our friends that have cruised rave about the food and we thought it so so. We were disappointed.

Most Memorable Moment:

The float plane excursion. It was so exciting. Rafting was fun too. We would have loved to have seen more wild life but you have no control over that, it was a wonderful experience.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We am sorry you were disappointed with your dining experience. Your comments will be shared with management .

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

BGartmann

Grand Alaska #6

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

We had perfect weather. Great drivers. Interesting destinations. Great tour director who was infomative and pleasant to be with. We were kept busy but time didn't drag us down. Our group enjoyed each other. No one kept us back by being late or complaining. Pleasant time for everyone.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to say. The float plane trip up Mt McKinley was spectacular but the float trip to see the eagles was up there too.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey to this magnificant area!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

JWolczek

Alaska Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

The trip was very well organized and orchestrated. Mr. Mike [Employee Name] is an excellent guide. We liked seeing the glaciers from the float plane. Seeing mt. McKinley was spectacular; enjoyed the homestead of Joanne Porterfield's homestead and Jeff King's homestead. Loved the Glacier national park and the raft trip in Haines.Marching in parade.

Most Memorable Moment:

Glacier national park, flying over Mt. McKinley and seeing the vastness and grandeur of Alaska. Great trip.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for your feedback and we are so pleased you enjoyed your overall journey.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

EWood

Tauck Grand Alaska Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Having heard such wonderful things about traveling with Tauck from friends, we were convinced our first Tauck experience couldn't live up to our expectations. But it by far exceeded our expectations. The itinerary, our tour director (Randy) & our fellow travelers made this our best vacation. Can't imagine traveling again with anyone but Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many memorable moments that it's difficult to pick just one. Other than the obvious incredible scenery & wildlife, learning about & visiting with native Alaskans & homesteaders was at the top of the list. Ernie & Luci Wood

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are thrilled you enjoyed your first journey with us and that you returned with so many wonderful memories!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Burton

Grand Alaska was the superlative of Grand

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

One of the best trips I have ever taken. Randy, the Tour Director, was fantastic. Although he has led this tour about 50 times, he retained his enthusiasm. His knowledge of the region and his attention to detail was incredible. The itinerary was perfect as was the weather, the composition of the group,and the events with the Tribes,etc.

Most Memorable Moment:

Flying over Dinali in a seaplane

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you enjoyed your journey and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

KKayK

Grand Alaska

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Outstanding… much more than I expected. Love the many types of transportation this tour offered( Float plane, jet boat,railroad, ferry, bus, cruise ship etc) The accommodations were outstanding. Really liked seeing both the land sights and then the sights offered from the cruise ship tour. I would highly recommend this tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

This is a tough question but I would say the float plane ride from Lake Lucille to see Mt Mckinley, the glaciers and the moutains in the Ssuitna River Valley.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your over journey an look forward hosting you in the near future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

MGalloway

grand alaska #5

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

It was everything we thought it would be and more. You see pictures of Alaska and hear stories, but it's even better in person. A true frontier with the happiest people we've ever met. We had a fantastic tour guide and the people in our group became our new second family. Everyone seemed to have a fantastic time with no complaints.

Most Memorable Moment:

It was a toss up between the float planes at McKinley on Father's Day and the raft trip with all the bald eagles. There wasn't anything that we will ever forget. The homestead was a real eye opener.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are thrilled you enjoyed your overall journey and came back with so many memorable moments!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

SMelvin

I would recommend Tauck but not this Alaska trip.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

I have been on 6 Tauck tours all excellent except for Alaska. Too much time spent in the bus and dull activities considering options avail.at hotels. Though Randy was nice/competent, he spoke endlessly on the bus loud speaker about minutia such as sandwich choices 2 days hence, information about Alaska, history, the native population...negligible.

Most Memorable Moment:

To supplement offerings,friends spared ourselves a 12 hour bus ride, instead went rafting and a flight over the interior to the last hotel arriving 3 hours before others after interesting day. Additionally,we signed up for shore excursions w/ Prin. and ashore that were more interesting. Tauck offerings were pallid.Randy was merely functional.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are sorry that this journey fell below your expectations. One of our Guest Relations Specialists will contact you to discuss tham matter in more detail.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Susan and Martin Goodfriend

Majestic Alaska

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

We had high expectations after so many friends recommended Tauck. We were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived in Anchorage til we said our goodbyes in Vanouver, every detail was attended to by our Tauck guide. Truly majestic, Alaska is a must to experience. Surprisingly, for a group of thirty seven people, everything went seamlessly.Bravo

Most Memorable Moment:

Overall, we enjoyed the first part on land more than the cruise. Scenery, wildlife, and learning about this remote state gave us much to think about. Tauck's guide finessed every nuance of our days and itinerary with experience, ease, and common sense. We look forward to our next Tauck trip.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey with us to this wonderful region!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

dwkrueger

Alaska as only Tauck could present it

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

Our tour director, Mr. [Employee Name] proved once again that Tauck is the only way to travel. This man is a walking history professor and knew how to keep us entertained and informed even in periods where we were in the tour bus. My wife and I know so much more about Alaska thanks to Tauck and Mr. [Employee Name]. Thanks, Michael, you made our trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

In a small airplane circling Mount McKinley.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey wit us and look forward to hosting again you in the near future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

jperkins216

Grand Alaska - Princess Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

7 days - land portion 7 days - cruise on the Sapphire Princess The land portion was my favorite, especially when we visited Denali National Park. We had amazing weather and saw bear and moose multiple times.

Most Memorable Moment:

This trip was absolutely amazing. If you're interested in the wilderness and wildlife, this is the trip to take. The land portion was my favorite. The most memorable moment, however, came during the catamaran trip from Valdez to Whittier - a large pod of orca whales were swimming around and put on quite a show for all of us!

review_img

Pickett

Grand Alaska, 18 August - 1 September 2012

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

Very disappointing! Intellectually dull. High expectations from 1999 small boat visit. Dreary towns. Needed optional tours -- helicopter bear watching,catch/release fishing,a raptor rescue installation. Too much bus and ship down-time with little to see. Dinners mostly cold. Too long. Skip Denali, pipeline & totems. Need more space.

Most Memorable Moment:

The tour director, was the best ever. Efficient and attentive. Good lectures. Jeff King visit was great as was Joanne Porterfield. Howard Carbone terrific. Had some good Tauck trips in the past but this one left bad taste in my mouth.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We're sorry to learn that your recent journey to Alaska fell below your expectations. We certainly share in your disappointment and have shared your feedback with the appropriate managers. We pride ourselves on exceeding guests’ expectations in all aspects of their journey experience and we care very much about your complete satisfaction. A Guest Relations Specialist will personally reach out to you to discuss your feedback in more detail.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Irene Wohlitka

Alaska Land & Sea

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

It was the trip of a lifetime, something I have always dreamed of. So wanted it to be 1st class, and that is where Tauck was highly recommended from friends. From the minute you arrive in Alaska, your tour director has everything ready, and I mean everything. Our Director was Mike F. and I can't say enough about him, he is the greatest.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the great mountains and glaciers, my best was fishing for salmon from a dock. My director Mike F. hooked me up with a guy Nick that runs Creek Street Rod Rentals, in Ketchikan. I caught my limit of 6 beautiful pink salmon, then Nick took me to a processing plant where I had them shipped home. The fillets are exquisite, enjoying every bite.

review_img

gerrylb

I loved Alaska!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

Grand Alaska was a first class grand adventure. The float plane, train rides, boat rides, bus rides gave us a varied look at life in Alaska from animal watching, mountain and glacier watching to cultural experiences of native life, dog mushing and homesteading. Good co-travelers including a wonderful tour guide and accomodations added to the fun.

Most Memorable Moment:

The floatplane ride over Ruth glacier at Mt McKinley was the highlight of my trip. I had looked forward to it and it met all expectations. I got to sit up in the cockpit and had a grand view. Even with some clouds etc. flying over the woods then the glacier was really exciting. Six little planes took off together but up in the air we were alone.

review_img

Sabra

Grand Alaska

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

Everything about the trip (with very FEW exceptions) was terrific. Loved ability to pick off menus for meals. Lodges in parks were terrific. Denali Hwy, float planes, Mendenhall Glacier, scenery, all highlights. PHENOMINAL tour director (we will book to go with him again).

Most Memorable Moment:

There were several! Can't pick just one. Float planes, Denali Highway, and glaciers were awesome.

review_img

rlinstrom

Grand Alaska

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

Great trip! Tour Director was one of the best! Top of the line tour company! Great meals, excursions and priority seatings, boarding, etc. I would use Tauck again with no reservations.

Most Memorable Moment:

Have no one memorabe moment as this was the first time in Alaska! The scenery was fantastic, the plane rides, the rafting (floatig) the railroads were all great. I can't forget the meals either as these were top notch!

review_img

Wally

Grand Alaska

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

Alaska in July is great.Tour Director Randy GREAT!There is a way to see Alaska-use Tauck Tours-the only way to see the beauty,the starkness,animals & to meet people face to face & hear their stories of why they came to Alaska or why they are still there. To walk trails, glaicers-touch 200 yr.old ice. The clear water.A must see!

Most Memorable Moment:

All of it---plane, trains, ferrys, ship, buses, raft, walks, people.

review_img

tcmetz

What a trip-Grand Alaska

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

This trip was just great. We got to see a wide view of Alaska and all the surroundings.The first week on land was just awesome and the second week at sea was great(my first cruise by the way).I would recommend this trip to anyone thinking about going to Alaska.To top it all off we had an absolutely great tour director.

Most Memorable Moment:

The start and the finish with everything in between.Can you tell that we really enjoyed this trip?

review_img

Lolo

Alaska is a wonderful experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

We had a fairly good trip. Our tour guide was absolutely the best we have ever had. We saw a lot but definitely travelled in busses much to much. They have also taken away the sled dog ride and going on a glacier so we were sorry we didn't get to do that. But overall if you haven't been to Alaska before it would be a fine trip to do.

Most Memorable Moment:

Loved the boat ride on Prince William Sound and the float boat in the eagle preserve.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We're sorry that you had a few disappointments during your trip, but are glad that you did enjoy it overall. This trip includes an opportunity to meet sled dogs with their owner, but never included an actual ride in a dog sled. Stepping out onto a glacier was also not part of the planned itinerary. Thank you for your helpful feedback and we hope you'll choose to travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

bbpatgolf@gmail.com

Grand Alaska

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

Our trip was wonderful. It was our fourth Tauck trip and matched the others in every aspect. Our tour director was exellent! Met every requirement of an outstanding Tauck Director. Our group of forty-four people was very compatable. The tour was very well planned and executed. We shall look forward to travelling with Tauck on

Most Memorable Moment:

There were too many memorable moments to select a single one.

review_img

travelmrs

Tauck Made Grand Alaska Truly Grand!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

Nine family members from 8 to 80 just returned from this fabulous trip! True to form, every detail was perfect except for some sprinkles and clouds which Tauck can't control. We all loved marching in the Juneau 4th of July Parade with our Tauck banner, American flags waving and other patriotic decorations. The beauty & wildlife are with us forever!

Most Memorable Moment:

The kids would choose holding the sled dog puppies! Eagles soaring and bears roaring!

review_img

Olympia Senior

Grand Alaska Was Indeed Grand !!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

I just returned from 15 wonderful adventure-filled and exciting days in Alaska. This is my seventh Tauck Tour and by far the best vacation trip I've taken. Every detail of our itinerary was very well planned and perfectly coordinated. All of the excursions were top notch and more than met my expectations.

Most Memorable Moment:

My favorite event was the float plane flight seeing tour over Denali National Park. Even though clouds prevented seeing the top of Mt. McKinley, the mountains were so beautiful below and I did see some blue sky. It was breathtaking! Another favorite was sighting bears and dall sheep while on the all day Tundra Tour at Denali Nat. Park.

review_img

Elmon

Grand Alaska Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

This was our third tour with Tauck. It would be difficult to pick this one over the pervious. Tauck does such a outstanding job. First let us say that Michael, our Tour Director, was a highlite of our trip. We had so much to see and he explained it all. Took so many photos we filled a 32G card and started on another.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many memorable moments. The float plane to Talkeetna (1st), jet boat (wow), Denali National Park, Glaciers (Princess Captain got us within 2 miles of Hubbard Glacier), Rafting, and 2 train rides. Even had a beer a the Red Dog Saloon. We saw hump back whales, eagles, bears with cubs, sheep and mouse. Salmon just starting to swim upstream.

review_img

wwowkath

Why we are Taucktourians!!!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

As usual Tauck made our vacation one to remember. Eagles soaring above us, glaciers calving in front of us , mountains around, above and below us! With everything thought out and taken care of for us. All of our Tauck guides have been good but Michael is by far one of the BEST! His knowledge, humor and organization made our trip exceptional.

Most Memorable Moment:

Both my husband and I think the float plane flight was the highlight of our trip.

close-button

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button