TravelerReviews

Tuscany & Cinque Terre

review_img

dliu

Cultural immersion

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

Jam packed - food, wine, art, history, architecture and nature. This was a great trip with a very carefully planned itinerary. Lots to do, with not a lot of time wasted on a bus and enough free time to pursue individual interests. It was a different type of tour compared to the Tauck river cruise we took last year and super fun. Belissimo!

Most Memorable Moment:

The quarry tour and a simple lunch afterwards was great. The locals are fabulous. Cinque terra and Sienna were also highlights. Everything was great - hard to pick a favorite! Blessed with fabulous weather all week.

review_img

DocEd

First Tauk tour!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

Florence,cinque terra,Lucca,Sienna plenty of exercise,new and exciting learning Cultural things and a lot of great memories

Most Memorable Moment:

Piano concert at Nardi residence in Florence pasta making

review_img

DonLandry

First Tauck Trip - Tuscany and Cinque Terre

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

We had a great time. We were lucky in that we only had one bad weather day while climbing the Carrara Marble Mine and one bad night when arriving in Cinque Terre. We squeezed a lot into 7 days and wish we had more time in each city. We especially enjoyed the extras that only Tauck can make happen. Can't wait until the next trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

We enjoyed the pasta making at the vineyard which was beautiful, the piano concert in Florence from the Mayor's grandson, the Carrara Mable Mine tour, the bike ride on the walls of Lucca, the tour of the Rhinoceros Contrada, the tour of the restoration facilities, the hills of Cinque Terre and of course seeing The David and all the art in Florence.

review_img

Deb Walters

Incredible Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

This was our first Tauck tour and first time to Europe. It was a small group and everyone got along wonderfully. Every day was an adventure from the personal concert, The David, Carrera marble mountain to the hills of Cinque Terre. Our tour director was exceptional and made our 40th anniversary one to remember.

Most Memorable Moment:

The whole trip was a memorable moment but I would have to say our stay in Cinque Terre was so relaxing and postcard beautiful.

review_img

JeaneDeVries

Culturious Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! Fantastic itinerary, excellent tour guide, pleasant and interesting folks traveling with us. I think we were able to see and do things that we would not have done without Tauck. It was a fabulous week!

Most Memorable Moment:

We had the opportunity to visit a 16th Century palace in Florence, owned by a world-renowned concert pianist and his family. He spoke about the history of the place, and then played a private concert for us. I could barely breathe- I felt so honored to be in that moment, in that space so filled with music and history. Incredible.

review_img

Mhochman

Tuscany & Cinque Terre -Oct 2015

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

Amazing... Loved this trip. We had a great group of 14 people...

Most Memorable Moment:

My top memorable moments inlcude: The history in Florence, visiting the galleries. The ride up to and viewing the Carrara marble quarries. The bike ride in Lucca, and cooking pasta at Fattoria Colleverde.... The hike from Monterosso to Vernazza, amazing views. Siena Duomo. Siena shopping...

review_img

bocabill

Tuscan Fun

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

The trip was very good because of size, 16 people, tour guide and hotels and tours

Most Memorable Moment:

Learning how to make pasta

review_img

Rosenfield

So fantastic, it's hard to know where to begin

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Just fabulous. Everything about the trip was outstanding, from the quality of the service, the wonderful group of people, the range of activities, the guides, our fantastic tour director and the people and places of Italy. Every day brought something new, different and exciting.

Most Memorable Moment:

It is hard to know where to begin. There was a "most memorable moment" every day. If I had to just pick a couple, it would either be eating the fresh pasta we had just made ourselves in Fattoria Colleverde or hiking from Monteross to Vernazza in the Cinque Terra. But I could easily list another 5 or 6 "most memorable moments".

review_img

AMR

AMR's Excellent Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Had a vision 2 yrs ago for milestone birthday to treat myself to an adventure of a lifetime. Italy was always on my radar, and my travel agent recommended Tauck. Florence and Cinque Terre exceeded all expectations. The variety of the tour is so well organized, couldn't ask for more. Great group,awesome guides and tours,all around outstanding trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Land Rover ride up to the Carrara quarry (just us!), followed by the wonderful lunch afterwards in the countryside house was absolutely dream-like for me. Second would be pasta-making, olive oil/wine tasting and the meal that followed. The setting couldn't have been better. Too many memorable moments! Can't wait for my next Tauck trip.

review_img

Polch

Cinque Terre and Tuscany

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Our trip was the Culturious tour offered by Tauck. The best parts of the tour is what I call the Marble Mountain tour in the city of Carrara. Approaching the mountain, some people said," Look at the snow on the mountain." Our tour guide quickly told them that the view was all marble. Cinque Terre is a DREAM! Sienna is so Medieval looking!

Most Memorable Moment:

Cinque Terre is a dreamworld! Sienna is so Medieval! Our trip to Carrara was magnificent! Our tour guide was very informative and hilarious as we ascended The mountain of marble. Cooking class and wine tasting in Lucca was informative and very tastefully done, especially the pasta we made individually paired with some outstanding wines!

review_img

suzibee

Tuscany and Cinque Terra adventure plus!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

One of our best adventures ever! The small(16)group, and active adventures (bicycling, restoration studios, pasta making, hiking, off road vehicle tour of Carrara) kept us engaged and happily learning new things daily. Yet there was enough free time to explore on our own as well. A perfect combination topped off with a tour guide who was fabulous.

Most Memorable Moment:

Being with our grown (32 and 37) children experiencing so many wonderful adventures. Great balance of cathedrals and museums, with more unique activities (hiking, pasta making, biking) so there was never a dull moment. And we truly appreciated the SMALL size of the group!

review_img

wsand

first Tauck experience but not the last

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

Our recent trip to Tuscany was fabulous. Every day was a new adventure so it's hard to pick out one moment that was best. The hotels were great, our tour director was great, and we made many new friends.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our private recital by Gergorio Nardi at their palace in Florence.

review_img

rivose

Culturious

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

Well coordinated. All transfers handled well. Side trips great. See below.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were several. Personalized side trips ie quarrie, private piano recital, pasta making and winery your. The tour diredctor was awesome.

review_img

Va Girl

Tuscany & Cinque Terre

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

The group was small and the weather (early May) was glorious!! Learning to make pasta from scratch, and then cooking and eating it--wow. Listening and interacting with restoration artists in Florence is what Tauck does best, which is giving us out-of-the-ordinary memory-making experiences. It was a great trip from start to finish!

Most Memorable Moment:

Having lunch at a family-run place right after touring the quarry at Carrara. The weather was so nice and the setting-eating outside, family-style, with so many dishes to choose from and eat, was ideal.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for your Trip review for our Tuscany and Cinque Terre journey. It is truly an amazing destination!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

JDews

Tuscany

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Enjoyed it immensely. Saw and did things I would never have done on my own. Hotels were wonderful as was the food. Director and local guides were outstanding.

Most Memorable Moment:

Glass of wine on patio of Porta Roca Hotel in Montoroso. A million dollar view!

review_img

geoff

tuscany and cinqe terre

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

overall experience was very good and well planned the pasta making was most enjoyable and the lunch very generous, the guided tour of Siena was most interesting

Most Memorable Moment:

the trip to the carrara marble mountains followed by the memorable lunch

review_img

Jdurb

Cinque Terre, Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Lots of walking to see art galleries & churches. The tour director was very knowledgeable, courteous & friendly. The hotels were great. Very comfortable beds, & exquisite bathrooms!!! Can't say enough about the food!

Most Memorable Moment:

There were actually 2 great memorable moments. The first was the visit to the Carrera marble quarry.( actually mountains) The ride in the 4x4s was crazy! Hairpin turns, steep grades, but fantastic views once we reached the viewing areas(1500 feet) the 2nd was the visit to the Frattoria Colle Verde organic vineyard and olive grove..

review_img

Toast

Tuscany and Cinque Terre

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the culturious small group trip to Tuscany and Cinque Terre. The itinerary was perfect , entertaining as well as educational. Our tour guide Thomas was a perfect match to our group. The blend of activity: walking, hiking and biking and free time to explore made this vacation one of our most memorable.

Most Memorable Moment:

This is difficult to say since so many options were unique and special. We opted for the Hot Air Balloon ride(a first for us) and that was very beautiful . The visit to the restoration studios and the private concert by Gregorio Nardi rate high on our list

review_img

jimmied

Tuscany and the Cinque Terra

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

This trip exceeded all my expectations. From the Carrara marble quarries, the hike along the Cinque Terra, the day at the villa in Tuscany making home made pasta, to the night at a private home in Florence where we had a most entertaining evening. In typical Tauck fashion it was well planned out. Giving the guest options as well as free time.

Most Memorable Moment:

The hike from Monterosso to Vernazza. Loved every minutes of it.

review_img

EHoppe

Beyond Expectations

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2014

I'm not much for tour groups and my wife wanted structure. We found the Culturious group to be a great compromise. Very small group. A perfect mix of scheduled events and free time. 1st class treatment at every turn. Thomas was fantastic. We loved every minute.

Most Memorable Moment:

Everything. The piano concert, the noodle making lunch, the Cinque Terre hike, the marble mines...

review_img

Betty Jones Smith

What a glorious experience!

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2014

Words and pictures can not even begin to describe my experience with Tauck(Tuscany and Cinque Terre). Our director was beyond anyone that I could have imagined. Everyone including our driver was beyond courteous! Thank you for this once in a life time experience. I will highly recommend Tauck to anyone! Personal tours was the icing on the cake!

Most Memorable Moment:

Our personal piano concert by Gregorio Nardi and our visit to Fattoria Colle Verde was the most two of the most favorite places that we traveled. It is so hard to try to choose just one most memorable moment. I enjoyed everything that was planned for us and the extra's provided by our director. He is a gem!

review_img

Annette Blum

Amazing Experiences!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

I have come to the realization that our trip was so memorable and fantastic because we shared some amazing experiences (Hiking, biking, drinking wine, riding in a jeep, art restoration, Piano concert in a historical home, singing on the bus, etc..) with great people! Manuela, our guide was organized, knowledgable and a fantastic host!

Most Memorable Moment:

Making & Eating pasta on the Olive Farm near Lucca, riding bikes on top of the city wall in Lucca, hiking the hills in Cinque Terre, art restoration visit...there were dozens of memorable moments!! We had a very entertaining group...guitar & singing at the "Lard Rock Cafe", on the bus and walking to the hotel! Manuela, our guide was just perfect!

review_img

Neil Raymond

Total win win

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Florence was very crowded and at times annoying. Cinque terra was heaven and Lucca was a delight. The marble quarry was terriffyingly beautiful and the lunch after was incredible. Our tour guide Terry was superb in more ways than we can acknowledge.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Cinque Terra

review_img

KCook

Andiamo!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

With smiles we responded to Anna's (the best guide ever!) call to move on to the next adventure of our "Culturious Italy" trip. This tour was a grand mix of unique, interesting, and active events. Another special ingredient was the local guides. Their personalities and knowledge made all the difference in how we will remember this trip! Fabulous!

Most Memorable Moment:

Gabriele singing "Raiders of the Lost Ark" on our ride into the Carrara marble quarry.

review_img

DEder

My Dream Vacation

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Well where can I start.... I was traveling alone and like a small group and wanted to try another Culturious Ttrip with Tauck...I had always thought that when I got back to Italy...It would be the Tuscany area.. Well the trip was soooo perfect in every way...The weather..the hotels... all the activities of the day...True Tauck style.Only the best!

Most Memorable Moment:

Cinque Terre and a swim in the infinity pool at our breathtaking hotel.Making Pasta and laughing everyday!!!!! Elaine Ruffalo art lecture in Florence....Biking in Lucca.. My free time to explore!

review_img

MMillman

Florence and the Cinque Terre with Culturious

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

This trip was wonderful. Our Tauck guide, Florence, was among the very best we've ever had. Her care and investment in our enjoyment of the trip was a significant factor in making our experience so positive. Every day we had a special 'event' that informed or delighted us. The city of Florence is a jewel and the Cinque Terre was lovely.

Most Memorable Moment:

One day we had a lecture from an American Art Historian from Florence's branch of Syracuse U! She was wonderful in presentation and content. She helped us understand the historical, economic and social context for the great Renaissance ART we would be seeing. Then we had an outstanding local guide for the the Academy to see the David & Prisoners.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so delighted you enjoyed your journey and returned with so many memorable moments!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

EEberle

Florence, Cinque Terre and Lucca

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Love Florence. On my own went to The Leather School to see the tooling. Also the 1620 Pharmacutica. Really enjoyed the jeep ride at the marble quarry. Especially enjoyed hiking in Cinque Terre between the villages. Amazing views of the sea. Also liked biking on the city wall in Lucca and making pasta. Had a wonderful tour director!

Most Memorable Moment:

Hiking in Cinque Terre. Loved the people on our tour --- a "let's go" attitude! Also got a lot out of the art history presentation in Florence and then seeing the David at the Academia.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey and thank you for your feedback.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

MRiddle

Tuscany

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

The Tour Director Anna was the best ever. She made sure everything ran smoothly. Even though the weather was less than perfect she made the trip extra enjoyable. I believe the tour was everything you advertised and I will certainly consider Tauck the next time I am looking for a unique touring vacation

Most Memorable Moment:

Wine olive oil and pasta making excursions

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so very pleased you enjoyed your journey with us and look forward to hosting you on many future trips.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

JBartolomeo

A delightful trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

In spite of some bad weather, this trip fully lived up to our high expectations. Our tour director was exceptional, and the range of experiences immersed us in the culture of the places we visited. We also appreciated the ample free time that enabled us to explore on our own.

Most Memorable Moment:

Sipping wine and listening to a performance by pianist Gregorio Nardi in the Palazzo Bargellini in Florence.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased to learn you ejoyed your trip in spite of the weather!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

JSchmidt

Florence and Cinque Terre

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

Superior Accommodations. Superior Service. Outstanding and knowledgable tour director and guides. Very interesting and different places visited and enjoyed. I would have appreciated more "touring with a guide in Florence; as I think that we had too much free time. Only negative was the airline accommodations; we were wait-listed and bounced.

Most Memorable Moment:

Several:A private piano concert; making pasta at a winery; walking through the mountains of Cinque Terra.

TAUCK RESPONSE

So glad you enjoyed your journey!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

joepausner

Tauck Culturious -- Fabulous

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

From the traditional Tauck greeting upon arrival to the after tour send off, this tour provides in-depth immersion in the culture of every-day Italy.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the Carrera Marble quarry.

review_img

Maureen Buskin

One of a kind trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2013

This trip offers such wonderful, unique, and memorable experiences that most travelers would never have. From farmhouses, to marble quarries, and from restoration studios to Opera. We had the pleasure of meeting many warm hearted and generous people in their own work environments and homes. It really gave a taste of what Italy must truly be like.

Most Memorable Moment:

The wine and olive oil tasting as we made our own pasta. Oh wait, maybe Carrara. No, no Cinque Terra. Can't decide!!

review_img

El Cid

Just Enjoyable

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2013

This was our first Tauck Tour and it was worth every penny. The group size was just right and the activity level was perfect and there was plenty to do on our own if we wanted to. The mix of culture and adventure was also present. We are very active and love to hike and we had enough of that. The group just blended together and was just enjoyable.

Most Memorable Moment:

The highlight of the trip for us was the visit to Carrara and the marble quarry, just outstanding.

review_img

Sperry

Lots of walking and amazing experiences

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

We chose this trip because we visited places that would be otherwise difficult to access. The marble quarry was amazing as was the artists restoration studios. Fantastic.

Most Memorable Moment:

the four wheel drive up to the quarry. Amazing and boy can those Italians drive!

review_img

amill

Florence, Tuscany, Cinque Terra

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

This was a flawless and near-perfect tour. Everything worked like a well-oiled machine. Highest praise goes to our tour director Birgit (sp?). She was a combination of art historian, translator, mother hen, and efficiency expert. I could not imagine a more capable person for this position. I can not say enough about her.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many. Do I really have to choose? OK, hearing Puccini sung in a medieval church in Lucca. Or a quiet lunch on the sea in Cinque Terra. Or walking the streets of Florence at night in a light drizzle. Going to the Academy Museum in Florence and seeing DAVID. I could go on, but you get the idea. There were many.

review_img

Gerard

Bella Italia!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

I was impressed by the erudition of the local guides as our small group of seven couples stood before the architectural, painted and sculpted masterpieces of Leonardo Da Vinci, Michaelangelo and others, and learned Italian history. Dialogs with the art restorers in their workshops, making pasta and dining al fresco amid olive trees--great!

Most Memorable Moment:

That ride up a mountain of marble in a 4x4 jeep was exciting! Hotels were sumptuous and most comfortable; food delicious and breakfasts fantastic. Wandering cobblestone streets of Florence and Lucca enjoyable, and Italian icecream a delight. Rockslide nixed cliffside hike and rain, bicycling on walls of Lucca, but alternatives were provided.

review_img

agnes1345

tuscany and cinque terre

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

This was the best organized trip I've ever been on. Everything went smoothly and pleasurably. Transportation, accomodations, activities were all at the highest level.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visit to the Palazzo Bargellini with private concert in Florence and visit to the quarries of Carrara. A close second is the pasta instruction with subsequent, memorable lunch at an idyllic location in the heart of Tuscany.

review_img

A Nebraskan

Culturious Tuscany and Cinque Terre

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2012

Tauck's Culturious Tuscany and Cinque Terre trip is definitely a winner. We were informed by several experts in art restoration, as well as entertained by quite talented performers of the fine arts. We met great people who also traveled on this trip. The small group was a wonderful group. All locations chosen to visit were fantastic.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were too many unique memories to choose just one! Meeting local restoration experts, seeing and becoming immersed in local traditions (making pasta), learning more about local customs, absorbing Italy's art and history, discovering unique places (Cinque Terre, Lucca, and the Carrara marble quarries)...This experience was well organized.

TAUCK RESPONSE

So glad you enjoyed your trip!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

ccutler

We have booked another trip within a week of our return!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2011

After three Tauck tours, this was the very best! Fantastic intimate learning activities, lots of free time, and great hiking and adventure. Small group travel is a wonderful way to get to know people better and do things the larger groups just cannot do.

Most Memorable Moment:

Oh, no doubt there were two activities that tied for best ever: the four wheel drive to the marble quarry in Carrera - breathtaking.

close-button

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button