TravelerReviews

England, Scotland & Wales

review_img

Charlene Wynn

England, Scotland & Wales

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

When I travel with Tauck, I know that I will experience the best of the location. I will learn more than I could discover on my own and every minute of my time will be wisely used. Tauck guides are so professional that they make it all look fluid and easy.

Most Memorable Moment:

I was surprised to find Wales so very beautiful. I loved our room that opened onto the estuary.

review_img

PARACHOQUES

England vacation.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

This was the perfect vacation where all the t's were crossed and all the i's were dotted. The guides as well as the care and attention was the best ever in our tour travels. Twenty stars for Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

The whole trip was a dream come true.

review_img

njtravelers

England, Scotland & Wales 2016

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

Our tour director was fabulous. We found the food mediocre at best with the exception of the Pump Room. Very disappointed that our farewell dinner at the Savoy was in a private room with lamb as our only choice. My biggest complaint was the Francis Hotel in Bath, worst hotel I've ever stayed in, shame on Tauck for using this location.

Most Memorable Moment:

Blenheim Place was beautiful and lunch in the Waterside Cafe afterwards was very good, although served cafeteria style. Loved London, and having the opportunity to see the play Beautiful was a real treat.

review_img

Bob M

Great Vacation to England, Scotland and Wales with Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

We took the August 21, 2016 trip and had a fantastic time. The trip was made even more special by our Tauck Tour Director and our Coach Captain. We found the active pace to our liking although we were tired each evening - made sleeping easy. There was lots of walking, but if you were tired, you didn't have to participate in all.

Most Memorable Moment:

We went specifically on the August trip so we could see the Military Tattoo in Edinburgh. We weren't disappointed, the weather cooperated and the Tattoo was spectacular, we can't wait to order a copy of the DVD when it comes out in October. We loved the historic commentary our Tauck Director provided to supplement the coach rides. Loved having a "taste" of all

review_img

FMilio

Great Trip of England,Scotland and Wales

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

Highly suggest if you can to go in August when you can see the Military Tatoo...beautiful. I loved the trip because of the diversity of all the places we got to see and the stories about the history of the Kings,the writers and the Roman occupancy.

review_img

KitKat2

Another Great Trip with Tauck!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

Travelled with a friendly group and a terrific Tour Director with a good knowledge of English history and the Beatles, who took good care of his guests. Loved the itinerary; the Military Tattoo at Edinburgh Castle was on my bucket list and it lived up to my expectations and more. Hotels and food were excellent.

Most Memorable Moment:

Military Tattoo at Edinburgh Castle.

review_img

CarolynCandler

Loved it!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

We had a wonderful time. We met lovely people and enjoyed some special surprise experiences set up by Tauck. Very busy the entire trip! We covered a lot of territory in a short period of time. I wish it was longer in some ways. We were up and out early a lot of days but that made sure we were at all the best places before the crowds arrived.

Most Memorable Moment:

I think the picnic at Snowdonia National Park or the luncheon at Carlisle. Not sure which. Or maybe the impromptu quartet our last night at dinner? Or the bagpiper that showed up for cocktails? Or breakfast overlooking the Thames from the Savoy? Hmmmmm. Hard to choose

review_img

Valerie Ann

A wonderful, memorable experience, going back to my family roots.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

Solo experience, yet never felt alone or left out, friendly travel companions. Wonderful in every aspect, comfortable coach, excellent Tour Director, driver and local guides. First rate hotels and venues, good food Use of "whisperers" on tours, great! Historic sites, beautiful scenery, good weather, quaint beautiful towns and local people.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many special moments, hard to choose! The Edinburgh Military Tattoo, Buckingham Palace, with a meal in the Queen´s gardens. The City of Bath, boat ride along river and walking tour of town. Leven Hall and extraordinary topiary gardens. Lake Windermere, country walk back to Langdale. Beautiful Wales. Blenheim Palace, Churchill´s grave.

review_img

paylady

Husband's Bucket List

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

Excellent two week trip. It would have gotten 5 stars had all hotels been air conditioned. Excellent tour of Northern Wales, Southern Scotland and England. We will definitely take another Tauck tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hubby loved the drives through the countryside the best. I loved the Savoy.

review_img

Owen and Carolyn Anglum

Should Not Have Waited Sooooo Long!

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

I have usually been the one to do the pampering and on this trip I found I like to be pampered! While part of the trip was new for us, Tauck made the whole trip exciting, extremely comfortable, educational, and we made lots of new friends. Details were handled in the most miniscule ways and we worried about nothing except to be on time!

Most Memorable Moment:

The Sunday morning when we visited the grave of Winston Churchill out in his home village and as we walked through the cemetery the church bells were pealing and calling the villagers to church. It was really a wonderful moment. However, I must admit there were many poignant moments on this journey!!!!!

review_img

Marcia Siart

Great fun in Great Britain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

This was my second Tauck tour and it was every bit as wonderful as the first. We started off with an extra day in Edinburgh, Scotland. The gorgeous Lakes District, then rugged Wales. Back to England to learn more about Shakespeare, Churchill, Stonehenge, and on to Bath for a Roman history lesson. To Windsor Castle, sights of London and Harrod's.

Most Memorable Moment:

I so enjoyed all locations, sights and experiences but my favorite city was Bath. A small, manageable city, easy to get around, wonderful people and history galore. Lunch at the Pump Room was a definite highlight. I also enjoyed our private dinner with former Member of Parliament, discussing the upcoming Brexit vote and the US election.

review_img

mjmcraeca

THE UNITED KINGDOM 2016

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

As with our experience, Tauck does it again--our guide was exceptional and her spiels on the English kings was great--but I still have them confused! I wouldn't leave out anything, but, and it was a big but--there was a lot of waiting in line and some very poor service at the hotels (The Tauck Director knows about this). Overall: Exceptional value

Most Memorable Moment:

The stage play of Les Miserable was the best stage play we have seen! Outstanding

review_img

Elaine07

Great stays in the UK

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

Our May trip to England, Scotland and Wales was more than we could have imagined. Each day began with lots of enthusiasm on the part of our director, and it was contagious. Our group responded in kind as we started out the morning in our brand new coach to enjoy the sites, countryside and wonderful hotels. Sufficient free time was provided.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Roman baths and having luncheon in the Pump Room in Bath.

review_img

whyisthisalwayssodifficult

Another Good Experience

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

From Edinburgh down to London, each day was like unwrapping a wonderful gift. Sites visited were steeped in Medieval and Elizabethan history, but Tauck managed to include so much more. Riding through the countryside was one of our pleasures, watching the sheep graze alongside the wonderful slate walls. The itinerary was varied.

Most Memorable Moment:

The friends we made on the trip had different memorable moments. That's the variety of a Tauck trip. We loved Bath and were surprised we liked Stonehenge so much. We'd seen so many PBS shows on Stonehenge, but it is certainly not like being there. Loved the slate homes and thatched roofs. As always, the hotels had great locations.

review_img

kayswitzer

England, Scotland, and Wales!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

Wonderful tour! Great balance of indoor and outdoor activities. Lovely hotels and great food. Lucked out on the weather. Our tour director was very insightful. The countryside is SO beautiful!!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Has to be Stonehenge and Windsor Castle, awesome!

review_img

GooseLake

First trip with Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

We have traveled with many companies and thought we would try Tauck since we had heard so many good things. We felt Tauck performed no better than the other companies we have traveled with on average and paying the premium to travel with Tauck does not make good economic sense. Would be happy to supply details on request.

Most Memorable Moment:

Viewing Stonhenge

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have passed along your comments to our Guest Relations team who will be in touch with you.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

James F

England Scotland and Wales

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

Our trip started in Edinburgh and we traveled by coach through Scotland, into Wales and completed our journey in London. Also, I would be remiss if I didn't mention our tour guide. She MADE the trip! It was obvious to everyone on the coach that she loves her job and maybe people even-more! She was incredible!

Most Memorable Moment:

The Tattoo in Edinburgh.

review_img

ArnieGordon

Eng/Scotland &Wales-Review

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

The guide was testy. too much free time. restaurants on the tour treated us like orphans. Food poor at many venues. Don't know why Woodstock included...nothing to do or see there. See our lengthy written review provided to the guide. this tour was definitely not up to Tauck standards. There are many points made in our review.

Most Memorable Moment:

Edinburg tattoo.

TAUCK RESPONSE

I am sorry this tour did not live up to your expectations, I have passed along your comments to our Guest Relations team who will be in contact with you.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Harve

Scotland, Wales and England

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

The overall organized details were wonderful and thorough through out the trip. The bus was grand and the driver did a splendid job. Our tour director was outstanding and most of the hotel were top rate. The food also was tops.

Most Memorable Moment:

Enjoying the Roman bath and all the history provided. Westminster Abby tour was well through. Meeting all the members of our tour and getting to know them. A small group tour is very special.

review_img

maureendepp

Great way to experience the highlights of Scotland, England and Wales

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

This trip combined a great itinerary with a fabulous tour director and driver and a wonderful group of traveling companions. Even our weather was good - not sure how Tauck arranged that. The accommodations and food were excellent. We were able to easily get into so many locations that were highly desirable plus some memorable unique experiences.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many memorable moments but highlights were the Military Tattoo, Windsor Castle and Blenheim Palace, a very entertaining cooking demonstration in Wales and lunch with Penelope and Giles. The local area tour guides were terrific as well, making places like Westminster Abbey even more memorable.

review_img

sharnydubs

Reply to CEO Daniel [Employee Name]

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

Letter from CEO apologising because we put "Maybe" when asked if we would take another Tauck trip. Not sure you understood, we would not take another bus tour because we came to dislike intensely the pack and unpack each day,and the frequent luggage pickup and delivery. We will do another Tauck tour, but it will be a river cruise.One unpack/pack

review_img

jdirwin

Sensational 2 weeks in Scotland, England and Wales

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

We enjoyed each of the stops along this 2 week journey beginning in Edinbourgh with visits to castles, lunch in a country home with owners, the pub grub, the Lake country, more castles, Oxford, Bath, more castles, London, did I mention more castles, and the wonderful 4 and 5 star hotels. Knowledgeable Tauck Director made this a lovely learning advent

Most Memorable Moment:

The Tattoo!

review_img

Rgee

Everything described and more

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

Excellent travel partners, outstanding tour guide with expert and generous commentary. Always more than was expected. We crammed a lot into each day, so we saw a lot of the countryside as well as 'the sites'. Good balance, good value.

Most Memorable Moment:

Edinburgh Military Tattoo, London Savoy Hotel, you-pick theatre experience,

review_img

RMulch

Spectacular trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

This trip was beyond outstanding. We were on the small group tour. There were so many extras and so many personal touches. We usually had 2 local guides, so just 10 to 12 per guide. We never had to wait in line! Our Tauck guide was knowledgeable,funny, and talked just the right amount!

Most Memorable Moment:

Lunch with Penelope and Giles, dinner with former member of parliament,dinner with Prince Charles and Dianna's personal chef, Carol King musical "Beautiful" in London

review_img

George-Kathy

Fun Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

This was our first trip with Tauck and we were suitable impressed. The provided meals were very good to excellent. The trip was fun with lots of new sites. We enjoyed the small group in that there were only 22 people on the tour, which made getting into and out of venues much easier. For the most part the accommodations were upscale.

Most Memorable Moment:

Stonehenge remains our favorite memory. What an interesting site. Our tour also included the Military Tattoo in Edinburgh, which we thoroughly enjoyed.

review_img

firsttripever

My first trip overseas

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

We were on the England, Scotland and Wales trip. The sight-seeing was perfect. The hotels were great and some of the best I've ever experienced. Tauck scheduled the trip to see the most important sights and to give the guests just enough time on their own. It was not hectic nor slow but just right.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Tattoo in Endinburgh, Scotland! The stay at the Quay Hotel in Deganwy, Conwy in North Wales was a close second.

review_img

Bobbie L

Scotland, Wales, and England

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

This was my dream vacation, and it did not disappoint. The Military Tattoo in Edinburgh was a fantastic experience for this Montana native. Wales was so green and beautiful and the fish and chips pub fare lent a delicious flavor. Stratford on Avon and Chester took us back to the Middle Ages. London was a big city experience, thrilling and fun.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were two: standing before Shakespeare's final resting place and touring St. George's Chapel at Windsor, where I found Henry VIII's and Jane Seymour's final resting places and the sculptured likenesses of Elizabeth I and Mary, Queen of Scots. Finally, the champagne flight on the London Eye was marvelous.

review_img

thai

England, Scotland and Wales

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

We were extremely disappointed with our Tauck tour to England, Scotland and Wales. Our greatest displeasure is directed to the tour director. He was not knowledgeable about the area throughout the trip, many times gave inaccurate information that was recognized by ourselves or others in the group and gave little commentary as we were traveling.

Most Memorable Moment:

The hotels were excellent. Visiting Stonehenge and Bath were extremely interesting.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have passed along your comments to our Tour Directors' Management team. Tauck prides itself in its wonderful Tauck Directors, and we will certainly work to make sure this tour has phenomenal Tauck Directors from here on in.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Chaz02

Good Introduction to Great Britain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

The best part was traveling with 35 congenial folks and an amazing driver. This was a new tour for our director who was often confused and knew very little about the areas we visited. He was our only real disappointment. The hired local guides were very knowledgeable and entertaining. Our hotels were well located and we had one good view room.

Most Memorable Moment:

Stonehenge (once in a lifetime experience) and the theater night in London (something different on our own, with cab fare and meal provided). Thanks Tauck for a nice variety of activities, all memorable in some way.

review_img

dmradz

Wonderful England Scotland and Wales

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

This tour was a great taste of the UK.From impressive Edinburgh (a castle & amazing historic buildings)to the picturesque Lake District (gorgeous rolling hills & Wm Wordsworth's home)to rugged Wales (beautiful Snowdonia & Caernarfon castle)to amazing Bath (Roman Baths & Jane Austen), eerie Stonehenge, Age-old Stratford, & studious Oxford--Terrific!

Most Memorable Moment:

We just loved Bath! Lunch at the famous Pump Room was memorable, and the walking tour of Bath was informative & fun--guide was so enthusiastic! The Roman Baths, Jane Austen Center (DO NOT miss having afternoon tea in their tearoom),gorgeous Assembly Rooms, and the breathtaking Bath Abbey. So much to see & do, plus great restaurants everywhere!

review_img

Lynski

The first of many Tauck trips!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

This trip was a perfect balance of urban and rural, sophisticated and quirky. Everything was taken care of, down to the smallest detail. The quality of food and accommodations was 5 stars; we lacked for nothing. The coach was very comfortable. Our tour director was extremely informative and invariably well-humored.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting Stonehenge on an overcast day. After many days of castles, palaces and manors built by warriors and royalty, Stonehenge was mysterious and inexplicable. All one could do was observe it in awe. The visitor center and audio tour were very well done. Second favorite was the War Rooms in London - well done and very insightful!

review_img

TapDancer

Scotland, Wales, & England

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

The Bagpiper Greeting and Address to the Haggis were a great start to our time in Scotland. The English Lake District and seeing all those sheep and Spring lambs were a memorable site and well as Hadrian's Wall and the lunch at Castletown House and the owners' gardens. Great palaces like Blenheim & Windsor are a real treat.

Most Memorable Moment:

I loved seeing Stonehenge--such an icon that can only be appreciated when you're there in person.

review_img

Carol 2408

13th trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

After 12 trips we tho't we had seen the best of the best guides; then we met this tour guide. Great romp thru the U.K. - learned so much and saw some of everything - country and cities. Contrary to what we have heard & read, food was great. Sheraton in Edinburgh had probably the best first night dinner. Downside: weather. Trip 14 & 15 scheduled.

Most Memorable Moment:

Many: dinner with a former member of parliament, final dinner with a "royal" chef, theater night, LONDON!

review_img

gailgund

Amazing Tauck Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

This was my first tour ever. I choose Tauck because of it's reputation of being a high end tour, staying at great hotels and wonderful meals. It lived up to and even exceeded my very high expectations. I will definitely take another Tauck tour!

Most Memorable Moment:

Tauck arranged to have a private dinner with a retired member of Parliament. We also had a private cooking demonstration with a chef then had that dinner in a beautiful restaurant. Another highlight was the private Scotch tasting ending again with a wonderful dinner.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you enjoyed your first Tauck tour! We look forward to you travelling with us again!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

svanags

Best Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

It was certainly first class. Tauck treated us like royal. I loved it. I have taken several tours, never one that included so many nice touches. I loved the all inclusive and not having to tip every time I turned around. I would have liked the weather to be warmer. But you can't control the weather.

Most Memorable Moment:

I was really impressed with the Churchill Museum.

review_img

ebaker

Poor Service

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

2nd review Guess the 1st got censored. Guide played favorites with rooms/prices. View of parking lots in 3 countries from room. Was a low end experience with high end pricing. Accidentally got the itinerary from another tour- we definitely got shorted on our experience (but not the price). Overly regimented tour guide. No call back from Tauck

Most Memorable Moment:

The country was beautiful. Met some great people.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are very sorry that this tour fell below your expectations. One or our Guest Relations Specialists did leave a voice message on November 11 inviting a call back. We will be sure to request another call back to you.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

sfahey

United Kingdom in the Fall

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Castles, Palaces, Beauty, History, Plenty of free time, Great Food, Great Culture, Comprehensive, Shopping and Walking!! These are words that come to mind. It was perfect. The best part of the trip, the part that makes the travel so much easier and comfortable, the people. One would think that Tauck shops for the wonderful travelers. #friends

Most Memorable Moment:

A walk along a rushing stream in the Lake District. Like a dream come true.

review_img

PatriciaAnn

Disappointing hotel rooms

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

My husband and I traveled with Tauck to Italy and were very pleased hence the reason for this trip. We were surprised,however, that your company thought this was our first time using them. In order to have a room with a view rather than look out at a parking lot (in Scotland) we had to pay extra. Not what I expect from Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

We had an excellent guide in Ron Wesler. He made all the difference in the trip. The HorseGuards Hotel was lovely. I was surprised to see you're not using them next year. I could have skipped Langdale for two extra nights in Bath and London. But as I said our guide was exceptional. He made all the difference. Too bad for Tauck that he's retired

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are sorry that some aspects of this tour fell below your expectations but very pleased that you experienced some truly memorable moments. Rest assured your feedback will be shared with management and once again we thank you for your patronage.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Darlene46

Great Britain - Fantastic!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Our trip was perfect in every way--a wonderful tour director who was knowledgeable and friendly; a terrific driver who managed to turn our beautiful and comfortable coach on a dime; incredible sites to see and learn about--plus perfect weather every day. (How did you manage to arrange that, Tauck?!) Exceeded our expectations throughout the trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many I cannot choose just one--delightful Edinburgh; the Langsdale Estate where we stayed in Cumbria; beautiful Bath; incredible Stonehenge; fabulous Blenheim Palace; Windsor Castle (and getting to see the State Apartments); dinner and the Ceremony of the Keys at the Tower of London.

review_img

JeannieKey

Bucket List Trip Perfect!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

We went on the Scotland,Wales, and England tour in September. It was the most amazing trip of our life. I had high expectations and they were exceeded! There were a couple of questionable hotel rooms which were not expected with Tauck, but aside from that the trip and the guide (Bret) and driver (John) were PERFECTION!

Most Memorable Moment:

The Bodnant farms dinner with Dai Chef and the Tower of London dinner. Soooooo many it is hard to choose.

review_img

JayTee

Tauck tours forever!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Twelve days around Great Britain starting in Scotland and wending our way south through the Lake District, into Wales, a visit to Stone Henge, Bath, Oxford, Windsor castle, and finally into London for three overnights (as a repeat Tauck traveler, a free night before or after trip's end). Two nights minimum in each hotel.

Most Memorable Moment:

Laying my eyes on Stone Henge. Made my hair stand up! Have to say that we took our second Tauck tour because of the great fellow travelers we had met on the first and the anticipation of another totally outstanding tour director. Again, fascinating and interested fellow travelers and another wonderful tour director (Bret). Planning our next one

review_img

JohnWilliams

Scotland, Wales and England

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

My wife wanted to go to Great Brattain to see historic places. It met her expectations.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the 84 miles of fencing done by the Romans in the first century. Enjoyed the countryside. LEAST favorite -- the three course meals and the l-o-n-g meal times and the lateness of the hour.

review_img

Enid

England, Scotland, Wales

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Tour director excellent. Dinner in the pub at Langdale Country Club not good. Fish and chips not tasty. Dinner in tower of London hardly edible. Steak tough, dessert not good. Cruise on Loch Lochmond a waste of time. Did not enjoy this trip as much as Romantic Germany. Weather outstanding. Hotels uneven. Bus comfortable, driver good.

Most Memorable Moment:

Lunch with Penelope and Giles a big highlight.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are sorry that many aspects of this journey fell below your expectations. We will immediately look into your comments and take any and all actions to address these issues. We thank you for your comments and do hope you will travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

DrRubin

Scotland, Wales and England

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

For 12 days in September, 2014, we had the most incredible weather our driver had ever experienced in the UK. We had a very compatible group and a very good tour director, [Employee Name]. It was a little hectic packing up every 2 days, but necessary in order to see all that we saw. It was especially interesting because the Scots were deciding.

Most Memorable Moment:

The visit at the home of Penelope and Giles Mounsey-Hesham in Carlisle was definitely the most memorable moment. Despite their obvious wealth and social standing, they were warm, welcoming and very funny. The lunch they served was excellent, all homemade, and the property was beautiful. The least memorable moment was the boat ride on Loch Loman

review_img

teacherM

Scotland,Wales,England

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

First and foremost, our Trip Director was the BEST! How many superlatives can I use? Rachel C. you were responsible for making history come alive for us. The pacing was great, we could have used one more day in Bath, England. The trip had lots of walking, so people be in shape for this one. The hotels were super, (with one exception).

Most Memorable Moment:

Most memorable event was the last night, having dinner in the Tower of London and watching the Beefeaters and soldiers close and lock the gates. The entire group was transfixed. This was awesome.

review_img

Bert

England, Scotland, Wales

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

We enjoyed this trip, but was not our favorite. We have been on many Tauck tours and we felt like this one did not quite meet our expectations. The tour guide was very well informed and tried to make each day a pleasant experience. We felt that Langdale Hotel and the Pub experience did not measure up to Tauck's standards.

Most Memorable Moment:

We attended The Military Tattoo on our own the night before our tour and we loved it! We also enjoyed the dinner in The Tower of London. The tour of Windsor Castle was wonderful!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are sorry to hear this tour fell below your expectations, but are pleased to hear you enjoyed it overall.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Bob Stenhouse

If you could only take one trip, this is the one.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

The entire trip was absolutely wonderful. The hotels were all first rate. The itinerary really encompassed so much of Scotland, England, and Wales that we came away feeling that we had really seen and experienced so much of what the United Kingdom is about. Our guide, Kori, did an exceptional job of coordinating the entire tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

It's hard to pinpoint one memorable moment, there were so many. We loved it all.

review_img

OzJohnno

A Memorable Holiday

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

A very good trip made great by an excellent TD in Kori. In 14 days you get a comprehensive look at 3 countries with first class accommodations and meals in the comfort of a big touring coach. Although I thought 26 was too many for a small group tour "our family" quickly bonded. The local guides were all excellent. Great itinerary so why change?

Most Memorable Moment:

The Edinburgh Military Tattoo stands out like a beacon in a list of events that were great. Our lunch with Penelope and Giles, our guide at Caernafon Castle, Roman Bath and Westminster Abbey. The visit to Hadrians wall was my only negative. With 72 miles of wall to see we went to a spot where the wall looked just like the dry rock wall beside it

review_img

NHatzenbuhler

Memorable trip through England, Scotland and Wales

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2014

This was our second Tauck tour and once again we are totally satisfied with the trip. The tour director was enthusiastic and knowledgeable. The hotel accommodations and food were excellent. The local guides were also very good. This tour was very well organized with enough free time so that we can enjoy our own activities.

Most Memorable Moment:

We really enjoyed the Lake District of England, a nice lunch in Scotland in a private house, Conwy in North Wales where we had a wonderful dinner at the Welsh Food Center (nice demonstration by the chef). The farewell dinner in the Tower of London was a neat experience. All the castles and palaces along the way. We will travel with Tauck again.

review_img

RMGTX

England, Scotland and Wales

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2014

Outstanding trip. Itinerary comprehensive. Lots of bus time, but scenery/stops good and bus comfortable. Tour director Christine knows what she is doing. Hotels are first class and located easy walking distance from city attractions. Right amount of free time. This was small group tour, with super nice folks.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hadrian's Wall and Stonehenge stand out. Hidden gem was the Churchill War Rooms, located a short walk from London hotel.

review_img

CarolT

My Great Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2014

I toured Scotland, England and Wales for two glorious weeks with a wonderful Tauck tour director, bus driver and 34 other travelers. My trip started in Edinburgh on May 11th and ended in London on May 24th. I traveled as a single but my fellow travelers were gracious and welcoming. Tauck took me places I had only dreamed of seeing.

Most Memorable Moment:

The most beautiful Lake District where Beatrix Potter wrote and left in trust for the people of the UK to enjoy as a "National Park". Also the most spiritual moment came when I walked around the majestic Stonehenge on a misty and quiet morning. Such wonder I felt.

review_img

The Best of the British Isles

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

The hotels were great-all of them! So was Heidi. Haven't yet had a Tauck guide who wasn't. Staying 2 nights at each place was good. The hotel & town: Portmereion, Wales was a jewel. Scotland after 58 yrs. was as lovely as I remembered-the hotel was super modern. I even enjoyed the haggis! Windsor castle was lovely. Thank you, Tauck, for a fab trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Stonehenge early in the morning, almost by ourselves was a very moving experience. But I think the best was our luncheon with Clive & Penelope. (I think that was their names.) The lunch was good, the conversation fabulous! The house & grounds stunning. We saw an entirely different London than that on my London Event. So very satisfying.

review_img

MThrone

Scotland, England and Wales

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

The trip exceeded out expectations. This was our sixth trip with Tauck. As usual our guides (both tour guide and local) were excellent The itinerary, hotels, meals and trip details were all five star.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to singly out just one.

review_img

LRonk

Scotland,Wales,England

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

I have to say, this was my first experience with Tauck. I was totally delighted with my vacation. There is nothing I would have changed about the trip. It all started with Marie the sales counselor in the home office. On tour having Heidi as our guide--she was the best--taking care of everything! Thanks to Brian-he sent me my first travel magazine.

Most Memorable Moment:

too many to mention--each day was a new experience for me--haggis, Stonehenge, Portmeirion, Shakespeare, Roman Baths, dinner in the Tower of London and of course conversations over pints in local pubs

review_img

DaschOne

Wonderful Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

I had always been the travel guide on any trip we took. Did all the planning etc. I was a little tired when we took this trip, Tauck had been recommended to us, so we decided to let them be in charge of our trip. It couldn't have been better. Our tour guide was extraordinary. The places we went, the local tour guides were all amazing.

Most Memorable Moment:

The last evening at the Tower of London. I absolutely will never forget it.

review_img

MBonner

England, Scotland & Wales - Sep/Oct 2013

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

This was our 5th tauck trip and for the first time we were somewhat disappointed for a number of reasons including:at 41 people group was too large;too many meals/activities on your own that you had to pay for;several hotels just mediocre (wife couldn't use showers, wi-fi uncertain, some amenities baffling??);too much difficult walking;food so-so.

Most Memorable Moment:

The "London Eye" and cruise on the Thames which we did on our own in London. We enjoyed Portmeirion for its architecture but were disappointed since schedule did not let us see tidal features

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are continually trying to balance the frequent requests for free time on tour versus more on tour sightseeing and also fewer meal requests to allow for greater freedom and individual experiences. Rest assured all of your comments will be looked into and corrective actions taken where necessary. We are very please you were able to expreience some memorable moments and once again we thank you for our patronage and do hope you will travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

BByers

Our first tour with Tauck of many to come...

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

We just returned this past weekend from our first tour with Tauck, visiting Scotland, Wales and England. The accommodations were first class, the food was superb and well proportioned, and our tour director's knowledge of the locale was impressive. The trip was well planned, well coordinated, and well executed. It was truly a 5 star experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were too many to pick just one. If we had to pick just one however, it would be the private dinner at the Tower of London. It was a perfect conclusion to a memorable experience.

review_img

nyfeds

Excellent England, Scotland and Wales

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

This was our 4th Tauck tour and it far exceeded our expectations. Our Tour Director, Bret, was outstanding as was our driver, John. We received a great overview and history lesson from our excellent guides. England, Scotland and Wales is a marvelous tour! Our stay at the Balmoral and Royal Horseguards were excellent.

Most Memorable Moment:

The personal Tauck touches, which included a visit to an incredible estate for lunch. Viewing Stonehenge in the mist, castles, palaces, and amazing landscapes winding our way through Wales, the Lake District, and Cotswolds. The tour was filled with memorable moments!

review_img

WalnutCA

Another Great Tauck Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

This was our third Tauck tour within a year. It did not disappoint. The attention to detail and the extra Tauck touches made the trip special and memorable. The tour director and driver were both excellent.Hotels were very good to excellent. The only disappointment was the awful wi-fi service at the McDonald Bath and Spa.

Most Memorable Moment:

Lunch with the family in the private home in England.

review_img

Beruldsen

Delightful England

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

We really enjoyed this trip. Every day was filled with new sights and yet we had ample time to explore on our own. Perhaps the best part were the visits to places the average tourist wouldn't get a chance to see...for example the private estates.

Most Memorable Moment:

We were at Stonehenge on a foggy morning which gave the sight a mystical appearance...very cool indeed.

review_img

tr68

England, Scotland, Wales

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

After many Tauck tours, I had high expectations. I was disappointed by set menus, some hotel rooms especially the one at Portmeirion, the inconvenient location of the hotel in London, only 3 hours of free time the last day, no dinner at the Tower, an ordinary farewell dinner in the basement of a "renowned" restaurant. Not worth the cost.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Lake Country, Bath, Oxford

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry that many aspects of this journey fell below your expectations. One of our Guest Relations Specialists will contact you to discuss this matter in more detail.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

RWright

England, Scotland, Wales

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Nice trip but not "exceptional" as compared to other tour co's. Our Director started out a bit short and surly. Did not seem to be enjoying herself. Got a little better as time went on, but not what we were lead to believe a Tauck Tour would be. This was our 1st tauck tour. Several others in our group said we shldn't judge Tauck on this tour

Most Memorable Moment:

Wonderful lunch at an English Manor.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are sorry that many aspects of this journey fell below your expectations. One of our Guest Relations Specialists will contact you to discuss this matter in more detail.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

HMorrison

England, Scotland and Wales

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

The overall tour was wonderful, particularly for someone interested in history and a bit of an Anglophile. To have a tour guide as knowledgeable as our guide, Ron, was an added bonus. Not only was he a continual fount of knowledge, but he had a remarkable ability to gently keep things moving without a hitch. That said, Tauck scheduled too much.

Most Memorable Moment:

Edinburg Tattoo with all the bands from all the different Countries; Port Merion and lunch with Giles; walking around Bath from our conveniently located and luxurious hotel; the excellent location of the Royal Horseguards hotel and the tour of Buckingham Palace. We could have spent less time in the smaller towns.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall journey to Great Britain. Your comments will be shared with our management.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

DDLEE

Great Britain in 14 Days

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Tauck's itinerary gives you an excellent "birdseye view" of the highlights of Great Britain -- just about complete historical coverage of how each country evolved, World Heritage sites, beautiful and scenic landscapes, rustic and luxury hotels, casual and fine dining, and plenty of time on your own to enjoy this truly amazing monarchy.

Most Memorable Moment:

Tour of Windsor Castle,including St. George's Chapel, Queen Elizabeth II's Private Gardens, the mini Changing of the Guard and of course the view of Windsor Castle from The Three Mile Walk. Amazing!!!

review_img

RoanokeJRW

England, Scotland, Wales trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

This tour provided a great insight to these 3 British countries. In addition to visiting historical castles, abbeys, manors, and city highlights, one receives an education on the background and history of Great Britain. The well paced tour covers a broad variety of landscapes from city, to country manors, to Lochs (lakes), and famous sites.

Most Memorable Moment:

While Buckingham Place, Westminster Abbey, Windsor Castle, Stirling Castle, Stonehenge, Loch Lomond, Stratford on Avon, the Roman Baths, and London itself were all noteworthy, we found lunch with the owners of the Rockcliffe manor, Castletown House, was a delightful experience. Our interaction with the owners provided an insightful interchange.

review_img

CHenry

Scotland, Wales and England

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

We had a very memorable vacation. First of all, our group of 39 was friendly, cooperative, and interested. Our guide Paul had the intricacies of the trip down to a science. And we loved the itinerary--some unusual sights like Portmerien, an actual working estate in England where we had lunch, and beautiful roads through the countryside of Wales.

Most Memorable Moment:

I think I loved the town of Bath the most. OUr hotel was an historic mansion with a spa. And all you had to do was walk a mile from the hotel and Bath was right there. We had an English guide who walked us around Bath and then we had the day free to explore. I have to say that all the hotels on the trip were 5 star and very close....

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey and thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

gperasso

Felt like I was on a Go Ahead Tour ;(

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Tour guide and coach driver were great. Hotels were not what you expect from Tauck. First time in eight tours where we got a special Tauck menu and not the regular one. Spent too little time in London and too much time in smaller places. Arrived in London @ 3 PM and no city tour. The next day we made one visit and were set free around 11 AM. Poor!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Stonehenge in the rain. Winsor Castle was a wow. St. George's Chapel was a wow.Westminster Abbey was nice. Dinner in the Tower was super hot, no air circulation. Only offered fish or vegetarian. Really Tauck!! The last night and that was the best you could do??? The portions were tiny. Friends that were on their first Tauck Tour were not happy.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are sorry some aspects of this journey fell below your expectations. One of Guest Relations Specialists will contact you to discuss this matter in more detail.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Jesse11

England, Scotland and Wales

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Excellent, well organized trip. Knowledgable tour director, and the bus driver, John, was excellent, taking us through the twisting country roads with ease. The trip did not follow highways, but took us through small towns, hamlets, and historic sites. The landscapes through Scotland and Wales was beautiful. All the hotels were excellent.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Blenheim castle, Stonehenge, and the boat ride on the Thames.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey throughout these wonderful countries. Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

AlanS

Magical England, Scotland, Wales

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Incredible! Elegant hotels close to key sites. It was just a short walk to Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, the Eye, Trafalgar Square, etc. With 20 years experience leading THIS TOUR, but with the energy and enthusiasm of someone much younger, Ron, our fantastic guide, made history come alive. What a way to begin experiencing the magic of Tauck tours!

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many favorites- the welcome dinner with Bagpiper, Robert Burns ceremony, and presentation of the Haggis; Stirling Castle; Portmeirion; lunch with Penelope and Rory; Stonehenge; the tour of Levens Hall & gardens with the head gardener; Roman Baths; and everything in London, especially the farewell dinner in the Tower (most memorable moment?)

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you enjoyed your journey and returned with so many memorable moments!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

GRD1944

Visiting the U.K.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Christine did a wonderful job stepping in for Pamela. Brava! Engaging information from her & the various guides. Great driving with Meirion. I was the victim of the infamous waiter's drink tray down the back at Portmeirion Hotel. NO ONE offered to pay for my cleaning, which had to wait for the next site. Enjoyable group of companions.

Most Memorable Moment:

Stirling Castle, Levens Hall, the private luncheon, Bath, Royal Yacht were all highlights. Stonehenge. The cruise on Loh Lomond was the lowpoint, tacky, why bother? Royal Horseguards & both Mcdonald hotels are Tauck typical, great. I will look forward to my fifth Tauck journey next year, couple of trips on the radar. Thank you.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are pleased you enjoyed your journey and returned with so many memorable moments!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

CBlankenship

Uk whirlwind

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Loved the itinerary and the hotels picked by Tauck. Little too much detailed history for my liking. My brain just cold not hold any more. Hotel,portmerion was quite incredible. Certainly something I never would have visited except thru Tauck. Wish we coud have seen more of the Scottish highlands.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Lake District

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for your feedback and we are so pleased you enjoyed your overall journey with us!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Baileymooselacie

England, Scotland and wales

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Kori was a great tour director, she told stories that made you think you were there. She was so well informed on every place we went and the history on each place. She also called ahead and made arrangements for my daughter for her meals with celiac dz. for someone who can't eat a lot that means a lot. I would love to have her again on a tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

Loved the London Eye, the views were amazing, the dinner at the Tower of London was a meal we won't ever forget and the key ceremony.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are thrilled you enjoyed your journey and returned with many wonderful memories!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

GaryB

Incredible sights, Impressive service, one of our best travel experiences

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

This comprehensive, very well-coordinated land tour covers over 1,000 miles but it was well worth it. There were more incredible sights and experiences than we could have ever imagined. The time on the comfortable coach passed quickly with amazing vistas of England's Lake District, Snowdonia National Park, and more. Our local guides were excellent.

Most Memorable Moment:

1. Kori, our impressive tour director, made this trip one of our best with her attention to detail and mesmerizing stories of the history and people of England, Scotland, and Wales.2. Tower of London experiences: dinner in a tower, complete with medieval music;Ceremony of the Keys brought goose bumps as we witnessed a 700 yr old proud tradition.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are very pleased you enjoyed your journey with us and that you returned with so many memorable moments.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

WTerry

Scotland, wales, England

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

The trop was absolutely wonderful. Our guide, Ron, was outstanding and very knowledgeable. Our bus driver - John - was great. Ron knew all the right people and how to get us around the crowds and into the exhibits. Our dining arrangements were great.The only negatives were the tour in Bath - much too long and somewhat boring.

Most Memorable Moment:

Scotland by far. The Royal yacht, the castles, the people, the countryside. Our last night in England having dinner in the Tower of London was memorable also. Missed not getting to see Buckingham palace.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for your feedback and comments and we are very please you enjoyed your overall journey with us!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

dadelman

no rain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

the best Tauck moments are when the tour avoids the crowds and provides something special, such as the Tower of London dinner and ceremony of the keys The ordinary were pushing through crowds at Westminster Abby, Windsor Castle, and The Roman Baths. A suggestion: Tell us when we can duck in for a quick look to avoid crowds.Hold talks near benches

Most Memorable Moment:

The private boat trip on Loch Loman was delightful. This was the kind of moment that was both a pleasant surprise and yet expected of Tauck. It was hard to pick one, as Kori's romp through British Royalty, the topiary, the lunch at Giles', the pub dinner at Langdale, Caernarfon castle, Trinity College, and ceremony of the keys were all memorable.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey with us! Westminster Abbey and Windsor Castle are sights to behold!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

ERosenzweig

In Tauck like trip review

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

We were disappointed in many of the things about this trip. Having been on many wonderful Tauck adventures we were looking forward to this one and it was one that underwhelmed us. Lots of poor unTaucklike things. For more info Tauck people please call us. We just cancelled our Alps trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Meeting a group of nice people.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are very sorry that this journey fell below your expectations. One of our Guest Relations Specialists will be contacting you shortly to discuss this matter in detail.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

EDBerson

2013 trip to Great Britain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

This was our first trip with Tauck and hopefully, not our last. Everything was perfect starting with our tour director, Kori, the quality and location of our rooms and the itinerary. We had just enough time on our own to be able to experience the restaurants, shops and locals. It was the most stress free vacation we have ever taken.

Most Memorable Moment:

We had many, but the tour and dinner at the Tower of London on the last night with the Ceremony of the Keys afterwards was outstanding, and something we would never have done traveling on our own.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you enjoyed your first journey with us and look forward to hosting you on many more!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

PStein

First Tauck Tour:Great Britain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

We made the perfect choice for our first Tauck tour; beautiful countrysides, rich history, perfect combination of group activities and time to explore on your own, centrally located high-end hotels, and an extremely knowledgeable tour director. our first tour, but definitely not the last! We understand why people on our tour were on #12!

Most Memorable Moment:

Witnessing The Tower of London key ceremony was the most perfect ending to 14 days of An excellent vacation!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased to learn you enjoyed your journey and we thank you for your feedback.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

APM

Very disappointing Trip to Scotland/Wales/England

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

42 people shoved on a bus for two weeks while driving from Edinburgh to London is not what I expect from Tauck. A native guide would have made the drive more interesting. Good hotels with poor rooms (facing roofs, pubs and buildings instead of castles, gardens, the Thames, etc) was the norm. More nice meals would help. VERY DISSAPOINTING!

Most Memorable Moment:

"Lunch with Giles" on his beautiful estate.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Dear Ms. Mims, We are so sorry that you were disappointed with your overall journey. We will be sure to have one of our colleagues in the Guest Relations Department contact you to discuss this matter in more detail. Edel K.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

BSchwan

Cold, windy and rainy- just like the real England

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

Edinburgh Castle's 40 degree wind & rain destroyed my wife's 1st umbrella. The repaired umbrella was totalled the next day at Stirling Castle. New wool scarf, gloves, socks and sweater allowed survival of walking tours. New umbrella was destroyed by Stonehenge gusts so she finished the tour with a hat. Great trip except for May England weather.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting Blenheim Palace which I think every bit as amazing as Versailles or Peterhof and much better kept up and it is lived in! The second most memorable was the weather, I was hoping for some English weather and boy did we get it. The Scottish woman guide for our Sterling Castle tour wore a skirt and no hat or umbrella- one tough lady!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Dear Mr. Schwan, We are so very pleased you enjoyed your experience even though mother nature did not co operate! Edel K.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Kelly1611

Our First Tauck Tour - We will be back

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

This was our first Tauck Tour and it was a great experience. Everything was handled for us including air travel and there was not one glich in the entire vacation. There was sufficient personal time to allow for individual sightseeing and other interests. We had a great time with our fellow travelers.

Most Memorable Moment:

The private tour and lunch at a private estate.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Dear Mr. Kelly, Thank you for your feeback. We are so glad you enjoyed your trip! Edel K

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Chuck K

A wonderful experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

This was our first Tauck tour. It was really enjoyable and interesting. I would recommend it to anyone. The lodgings were excellent and the variety of places visited was really well thought out by Tauck. Since this tour we have been on two more, Ireland and Provence. All of these tours were unbeatable.

Most Memorable Moment:

We especially enjoyed visiting Wales, an interesting country. Very rugged and great for hiking. The old castles were fun to visit and to imagine what living in them was like.

review_img

worldtravel

We really enjoyed it but there were a few "blips"

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

We certainly saw the best of England on this trip - very little of Scotland and Wales, but that of course is because of the time factor. Tour leader was great. However we were not impressed with the dinner service at the Portmeirion Hotel in Wales, nor the accommodation at Langdale Hall in Cumbria - don't appreciate a rainy walk to dinner.

Most Memorable Moment:

Most memorable moment was the dinner at the Tower of London and the Keys Ceremony. Very privileged to have been part of this and a great experience to remember. We also enjoyed the hosted lunch with a charming couple at their beautiful country property - very gracious in letting us visit their home.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thanks for sharing your recent experience and we appreciate your candid feedback. Rest assured we will immediately look into your comments further with our overseas partners to address them properly. We're still glad you enjoyed your trip overall and hope you'll travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

D travel

England, Scotland & Wales

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

In retrospect, we would have never spent the money for such an average, at best, experience.The time management and accommodations were all below par.By far,we were most disappointed in the accommodations. We would not recommend this Tauck tour. This was a very disappointing trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Loch Lomond and Snowdonia National Park are beautiful.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We're sorry to hear that the trip did not meet your expectations. We'd like to know more about how we could have made this trip better as we pride ourselves in delivering world-class experiences. A Guest Relations manager will be reaching out to you shortly to follow-up.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

The Jersey Shore Guy

Not Up To Tauck's Highest Standards

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

We truly enjoyed all the wonderful places we visited and things we saw on this trip, especially London. We had another excellent tour director and an extremely competent driver. However, most of the accommodations and meals were mediocre at best. This in no way measured up to any of our three previous Tauck adventures in either quality or value.

Most Memorable Moment:

When we first saw the view from our 8th floor room in London after paying an additional 60 poinds per night for an upgrade from our previously assigned wall view room.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We thank you for and appreciate your feedback regarding your journey. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed all the wonderful places along this itinerary and we agree, London is amazing! We were disappointed however, to learn that your meals and accommodations fell below your expectations. We take all guest feedback very seriously and are pleased to know that a Tauck Specialist has already reached out to discuss with you.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

greektime

14 days with Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

This was our first group tour and it was a Full agenda. We chose a small group and we were extremely pleased with that choice. Our director, driver and guides were fabulous. We would have preferred more time at some places on the tour that were of particular interest to us. Handling of luggage, hotels, access to tour sites, etc---Tauck was tops

Most Memorable Moment:

Buckingham Palace, which we stayed on an extra day to visit, was our most exciting moment! Blenheim and Windsor Palaces, which were on the tour agenda, were also places we wanted to visit. Oxford and Westminster Abbey were amazing. London and the Cotswolds were the highlights of our tour. Countryside views are perfect.So much history so little time

review_img

clancey

dramatically beautiful

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

It exceeded my expectations in both the sights we saw and the unusual surprises Tauck always provides. Our tour director made the history of these 3 places come alive. I can't say there was a favorite because every day was a new adventure and something beautiful to behold. If you are a history lover and historical fiction reader this is your trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Dinner at the Tower of London

review_img

DeBordieu Colony

Great Britain With Tauk.....A Great Trip!

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

I was taken by the beauty, cleanliness, history and people of Great Britain. This was my third Tauck tour in the past 12 months. As usual I was impressed. The places we visited, the knowledge of the Tour Director and local guides, the smooth well organized and "hiccup" free itinerary.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many "special Tauck touches" as usual. Probably the one that stands out most is the private dinner in the Tower Of London for our group of 26 and witnessing the 700 year old "ceremony of the keys" when the Tower is secured for the night.

review_img

Muffin

Fabulous Great Britain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

We saw so much--many castles, beautiful countryside with grazing sheep, Roman ruins, poet's homes, a city wall wide enough to walk on, the interior of two of Queen Elizabeth's residences, museums, gardens, etc. As usual, the hotels were outstanding and the food of the area great. We can't forget the great guides and the wonderful people we met too

Most Memorable Moment:

A very special event that few people get to witness was the Ceremony of the Keys where the main door of the Tower was locked for the night and the keys presented to be returned to the Queens house. This has happen for the past 700 years. Also dinner in the tower where Henry the VI was found murdered!

review_img

klnnville

England, Scotland, Wales 2012

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

Wow! What a fabulous trip! The itinerary was nothing short of wonderful, the Tauck Director, Kori, enthusiastic and knowledgeable and attentive. This was our 4th Tauck tour, and the hotels were classic Tauck. For those who love castles and beautiful scenery and history, this is THE trip. Ceremony of Keys at the Tower was wonderful.

Most Memorable Moment:

Eating lunch at the home of "landed gentry". Great food, beautiful home / estate, and very friendly hosts eager to answer our questions about what life in Great Britain is like. Drives through the countryside full of some beautiful scenery were awesome.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thanks so much for your review and we hope to see you again soon! -The Tauck Guest Relations Team

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

this is a review

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

trip was good

Most Memorable Moment:

moments

review_img

algebraprof

Fantastic experience!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

This was our first tour with Tauck and our first trip to Europe. We weren't disappointed. The hotels were first-class and the itinerary was superb. Our tour director was wonderful. His knowledge of English history and the venues we visited made the trip thoroughly enjoyable and memorable.

Most Memorable Moment:

We had several memorable moments. The meadow walk to Langdale along the Great Langdale Bec (river) was lovely. When we arrived at Portmeirion, we were captivated by the unique architecture and beautiful setting on the cliffs overlooking Cardigan Bay. Last but not least, the dinner in the Tower of London was a once in a lifetime experience.

review_img

Jones

AWESOME!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

This was our first experience with Tauck Tours and our first trip abroad. We cannot say enough about how absolutely awesome our journey was. Tauck took care of everything. I have never experienced such care to all the details, down to seat rotation on the coach.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our tour director was the most informed, professional, organized, and proficient individual we have ever met. Ron was never at a loss for words and made everyone feel like they were very special whether adult or a child. I know you are proud of all of your directors, but Ron is certainly the cherry on the cake!!

review_img

StephanieB

Would do it again any time!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

Despite 11 of 14 days of rain, the tour was absolutely wonderful. As usual with Tauck, I worried about nothing except getting to the bus on time and keeping my camera battery charged. Tour guide, Christine, is a font of information on all of the history of the area. Great accommodations, gorgeous scenery, and an endless opportunity for photos.

Most Memorable Moment:

Trying haggis on our first night in Edinburgh while serenaded by live bagpipe. Great way to start a UK tour!

review_img

bobbyripe

Historical and informative

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

I really enjoyed this trip. I got to see first hand many of the places where so many events of British history took place. The weather was lousy but that's out of everyone's control. The hotels in general were very good to great (particularly The Royal Horseguards in London), with the exception of the hotel in Bath.

Most Memorable Moment:

Impossible to choose one. Among the several I would include are: Blenheim Palace, Windsor Castle, Oxford and most definitely the Ceremony of the Keys at the Tower of London for the farewell dinner.

review_img

Tonester

Rocks of Ages

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

Wow! That's what you'll find when you look up Tauck. This trip to Scotland, Wales, and England was our sixth. Tauck never disappoints so we keep coming back. The castles, the palaces, the cities, and the quaint little villages were a delight to visit. One that stands out was Port Meirion, the quirkiest hotel in all of UK.

Most Memorable Moment:

Stonehenge and Windsor and Blenhiem castles....all three left us wondering how they all got there. Our guide was super. The food was very good. All accommodations were up to Tauck's high standards.

review_img

rosewood

Very comprehensive

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2011

Great long trip....but a very cold summer! Take a coat if you go in August or September! Food was not so great.....lamb, fish, lamb, fish....but the itinerary was good, the accomodations good. More of an educational trip than a luxury trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Absolutely the Military Tattoo in Edinburgh. Don't miss this!

review_img

Photoguy

A Survey of Britian

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2011

The trip was fast paced... full of variety and history. Busing from Scotland down into Wales then on to London brought out the repacking issues. One needs to realize this, be prepared in order to enjoy to the fullest.

Most Memorable Moment:

Attending the Military Tattoo in Edinburgh and being in place before the castle entrance was the highlight ! The hair on your neck will stand up!

review_img

JAlameda

The First Time Was A Charm

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2011

This was my first Tauck tour and I was traveling on my own. I was fairly confident about the trip after reading several reviews of previous trips. I was certainly not disappointed. The itinerary, hotels, tour director and fellow travelers were wonderful. I couldn't have been happier.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Military Tattoo at Edinburgh Castle. I expected an impressive review of Scottish bagpipers. There was that, of course, plus a very entertaining show which included groups from around the world.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us and we are so pleased you enjoyed your first experience with us. We look forward to hosting you on many more adventures.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

close-button

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button