TravelerReviews

Grand European Cruise - Eastbound

review_img

carolat

Grand European River Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

Everything was taken care of by Tauck. Such a relief to not worry about anything!

Most Memorable Moment:

A visit with a family in Croatia was outstanding. To talk with people who live every day lives in another culture. Such an educational experience. They were so willing to share their experiences of the Serb Croatian war. Something the typical American does not experience.Made me more appreciative of where I live.

review_img

Eric H

Grand European Cruise Westbound 2016

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

Another winner! My third solo traveler trip with Tauck. Everything was fantastic. The ship, staff, crew, and Tauck directors were excellent. Great fellow shipmates. Both ship and shore activities were all well planned, interesting, and fun. The local guides were all excellent. Both as relaxing or as active as you want to be. The food was incredible.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to pick a favorite. Really impressed meeting the Crowned Prince of Serbia. Also was highly entertained by the glass blower. Very highly pleased with Budapest. Beautiful city with so much to see and do. I really enjoyed all the Roman history throughout the whole tour.

review_img

Sharon Pearson

Gliding down a river yup yup yup!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

How do you describe nirvana ? The ship Treasures is a mini palace placed on a water vehicle. From the amenities to the indescribable food to the wonderful wait staff and ship crew, everything was top notch! With a small number of passengers aboard, a family atmosphere was achieved immediately and many friendships were formed that will last.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Glass blower came on board and showed us his many talents and gave us an opportunity to purchase some gorgeous pieces and also they shipped them home so we didn't have to worry about carting home on the plane.

review_img

Gen Mac

A Fabulous Adventure!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

This was a fabulous adventure! Our suite was comfortable and our cabin steward took great care of us. The food was delicious and the wait staff attentive. The lounge was warm and friendly and the bar staff made sure our glasses were kept full. The Cruise Director and her staff kept us busy and we enjoyed a memorable experience in every port.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our visit to Budapest... This is a truly beautiful city, especially so at night!

review_img

Thommy2

The only way to see the world

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

I took the Grand European Adventure from Bucharest to Amsterdam. It was flawless. The beauty of the country side, the incredible shore excursions, the luxury of the ship and the wonderful crew made this the best vacation I have ever taken. Twenty one nights on the ship made me feel like it was my home. Wow, wow, wow! Sign me up again.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were three. The dinner in Vienna, the changing of the guard in Budapest and standing in the great Cathedral in Cologne all were momments to remember. Every day had an adventure I will never forget all made better by the friends I made on the ship. I was a solo traveler yet never felt alone. Thank you Tauck.

review_img

CynthiaL

Grand European River Boat Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

We had a wonderful time. The staff, especially the tour directors, were great. Lynn was amazing. We met nice people, learned a lot, and enjoyed the cruising.

review_img

scarlettrosezz

Amazing Experience!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Tauck does an amazing job with this river cruise. I always felt like the Directors were looking out for me, and they were amazing at "rolling with the punches" when circumstances dictated a change - like when our ship was caught in a line in the locks and we were stranded in Bamberg. They rustled up Euros, got restaurants and we had fun!

Most Memorable Moment:

Definitely the Palace dinner in Vienna - I have never felt like visiting royalty before, but I sure did then! I will never forget that night!

review_img

CTL

Grand Europe River Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

We had a really good time. All the tour directors were wonderful. Some of the local guides were great, some were good, a couple were hard to understand, and one local guide was not helpful at all. We enjoyed the music entertainments provided most of nights. It was a long journey in a limited space, but we enjoyed our trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Dinner at Vienna Imperial Palace, and the night cruise in Budapest.

review_img

mercerr

Grand European Cruise 5/15

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

My wife and I took this trip to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. It was superb. It was like traveling in a bubble of safety and luxury down the Rhine, Main and Danube. The staff was extraordinary. Our guides were extremely knowledgeable at each stop. The food on and off the ship was fantastic.

Most Memorable Moment:

The dinner night in Vienna was like a fairy tale.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. We strive to always exceed our guests expectations, whether it be with our river boats, our itineraries, our guides, or the food. Thank you for choosing Tauck.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

FrankP

Grand European Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

Great cruise with lots of unexpected extras included.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Tour Director's story about how she left Serbia and finally found her way to Tauck. Poignant and inspiring, she should write a book about her experience.

review_img

Judith Ann

Grand European Riverboat Cruise - East bound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

Everything on the trip was wonderful from the airport, hotel transfers,the local guides,food,and of course the fabulous Tauck tour directors, fabulous, wonderful excellent onthe cruise. The Scylla crew was also excellent.Exta special performances and concerts. Tauck's vacations are excellent. Everythingis coveredand taken care o

Most Memorable Moment:

When we were in Croatia and were able to visit the local family and enjoyed some traditional pastries and beverages, wonderful!!! It was so informative and personal. Their stories were heart breaking andtruely helped me to understand how unfortunate it was to have the Communist rule;loss of lives, homes, property. Also the Polgar Winery for lunch

review_img

Diane P

Grand European Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

The boat was very nice, the boat crew was outstanding. Tauck should change the buffet process so people do not breathe directly on the food and do not handle the serving utensils, many of us got a cold while on board or just afterwards, as I did. Tour directors were very good, but Tauck should have the same ones for the entire cruise.

Most Memorable Moment:

Dinner at the Palace in Vienna. Too many bus tours that moved too slow do to the age of some travelers. Tauck should provide the option of private tours to eliminate this problem.

review_img

sandhill girl

Grand European Cruse

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

It was a fantastic trip and everything we had hoped for. We were certainly kept busy. The itinerary was very good and we got a good exposure to the areas we visited. The food and beverages were great. The on-board entertainment was very enjoyable. We got to experience several local cultures. The tour directors were great, especially Radu.

Most Memorable Moment:

Dinner at the Palais Pallavicini. The food was outstanding and the entertainment was fantastic. We never thought we'd be at an event like this in a palace!!

review_img

nola j

First Timer's with Tauck.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

our wonderful travel agent invited us to a promotion night for Tauck,& we were very impressed, so within two weeks we had signed for the full European River cruise. Wonderful cruise, excellent tour guides, food was sumptuous, staff were so caring, interesting tours, delightful scenery, good weather, & so well organised without feeling pressured.

Most Memorable Moment:

In Budapest after dinner our Captain took the Treasures for a short sail just so we could all see the magnificent night lights, being up on deck was really spectacular. It certainly was a unique experience, infact a once in a lifetime evening. We are very interested in doing another Tauck cruise next year.

review_img

Gala

Grand European Cruise - Eastbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

Everything was wonderful! Loved the ship, the crew, the Tauck cruise and tour directors. I was traveling with my 89 year old dad, and we both had a great time. Loved seeing so much of Europe, and the contrast between west and east was stunning. Also loved seeing the fortresses and palaces from the river. Loved the stories from the tour directors.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many, but a highlight was the palace dinner in Vienna. The atmosphere, staging, food and entertainment was very special. We felt like royalty!

review_img

baltic

A Great Way To See The Heart Of Europr

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2014

If you want to see much of Europe but hate the constant packing of bus tours this is the way to go. Plus the scenery is hard to beat. This really is the most comfortale way to take a long trip. On some long trips you are exhausted by the end, but on this trip we were sorry to see it end.

Most Memorable Moment:

Watching the castles and wineyards of the Rhine while sipping a cocktail on deck.

review_img

Marki

rainy travels

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

regrettably, the weather was not very good. obviously not Tauck's problem, but did put a damper on thing, especially in Bucharest where it literally downpoured the entire 2 days. Tauck definitley does it right with excellent Tauck guides and very good local guides.

Most Memorable Moment:

Dinner in Vienna; tea and cakes with local family in Croatia

review_img

PPetrasek

What a great way to see so many European countries

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

We completely enjoyed the many opportunities we had to get off the river boat and experience the countries and people. We also enjoyed the entertainment and speakers that came on board as we journeyed through the countries. And the "special surprises" were so special and added so much to the tour. Oh - and the Tauck staff extra special!

Most Memorable Moment:

The time we spent with a Croatian family and speaking about their experiences was absolutely incredible. The opportunities to speak with crew members who were from the countries we experienced was also very helpful in understanding the history and struggles of the countries.

review_img

Jack McKee

Grand European--Western Bound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

We took the Western Bound tour which I believe is the way to go. The tour group of about 110 people were very diverse and a well travelled group of individuals. It was an easy group to find some new friends to enjoy the trip. The Treasure was teriffic and the captain and the staff were supurb and were ready to make every aspect of the trip fun.

Most Memorable Moment:

The contrast in the countries we visited was significant which made the daily tours interesting. Visiting the small villages, having free time in many of the cities, excellent local guides, relaxing time cruising and interesting lectures on the ship all added to an excellent overall experience. The Tauck cruise director was supurb and attentive.

close-button

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button