TravelerReviews

Tanzania: A Grand Family Safari

review_img

Bethanye

Christmas with the Lions

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2016

Heads up; dusty & long hours on bumpy roads. It really wore people down. Bring conditioner, toilet paper, hard candies, cash (singles esp), hand wipes and light weight pants (you won't want jeans or shorts). Keep one clean shirt & shoes for nights. You shower at night so bring hair bands; everyone looks the same! Prepare for great food & fun.

Most Memorable Moment:

A great group of people that were surprisingly well matched in 3 age groups. Our Tauck Director and our drivers were outstanding. Best moment - seeing the "honeymooning" lions on pride rock about 15 feet from us. It was like they were posing just for us. These were my favorite pictures by far!

review_img

Dpappas

Trip of a lifetime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

The Grand African Safari was the best trip we have ever been on. We had a fantastic tour guide. The parks were wonderful, the weather was great, the land cruisers drives were friendly and highly knowledgeable. The accommodations were great. The food was acceptable.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Serengeti balloon ride.

review_img

MariaRini

A wonderful family experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

Just returned from "Tanzania, A Grand Family Safari" and can't thank you enough. Our Tour Director was wonderful, our driver/guides on safari were absolutely the best. Loved the accommodations. Loved the families we traveled with. Wouldn't hesitate to travel with Tauck again.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were way too many memorable moments to name just one. One of the highlights was sitting on the terrace and just watching the animals come and go to the Mara River below. We were mesmerized and could have sat and stared all day. Watching a crocodile take down a zebra was also quite memorable.

review_img

SMBeshouri

Trip of a Lifetime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

The trip exceeded our expectations, which were pretty high to start with. The itinerary was thoughtfully prepared and balanced - giving us exposure to amazing wildlife, local history and culture and a variety of lodgings - from "in the park" tent camping to luxury life in the bush. Extra touches like the balloon ride just enhanced the experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to single out one - balloon ride over a herd of elephants, a lion "pancake" of 12 lions by the side of the road, seeing a leopard and a cheetah in the same day, seeing two giraffe fighting or "necking" - it was all amazing and wonderful. I am so glad our family made this trip!

review_img

StTropez

Spectacular Vacation

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

We had a great time in Tanzania. Tauck made our experience in Africa wonderful. Tour director was excellent and informative. Local guides were knowledgeable, professional and friendly. Hotels and food were great. People of Tanzania are one of the nicest people we have ever met.

Most Memorable Moment:

Animals, animals everywhere, elephants, lions, zebras.... Balloon ride over Serengeti

review_img

StephanieKoren

Tanzania - A Grand Family Safari

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

My 12 year old son and I went on this trip. It was an experience we'll never forget! Our safari guides were unbelievable - their expertise on spotting animals and providing facts was top notch and they simply enjoyed being with the kids. The lodgings were really nice and the food quite good.

Most Memorable Moment:

For me, it was having a dozen so elephants walk right past us and feeling the wind caused by this rush. For my son, it was seeing the lions partake in their kill...or maybe the balloon ride over the Serengeti. Actually, he loved every moment.

review_img

Geer

MY FAMILY LOVED IT ALL....!!!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

My daughter, son his wife and daughter and I had the time of our life. Every day was a different adventure. Honestly, I think we saw every animal and bird in Tanzania! Fantastic drivers and director. The tent accommodations were wonderful, especially the night coming back from dinner when a huge giraffe crossed our path 8ft. in front of us.! Oh my!

Most Memorable Moment:

Sitting in the lounge at Mbuzi Mawe Camp when my 6 yr. old granddaughter came running in wide eyed, screaming.."Grandma, the animals are posing for me to take their picture!!..Really they are!!" She had her first real camera on this trip. Everywhere their were different animals..what memories we have!! The balloon ride was fabulous too.!

review_img

steveplotkin

Our Wizard Tour Director

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Our Tour Director, [Employee Name], used her charm and professionalism to make our Tanzania tour fabulous. We believe she was personally responsible for: 1. The 70 bird species who made themselves available. 2. An army of wildebeest and zebras that waited for our arrival prior to their formal migration. 3. Day weather patterns tailored to us

Most Memorable Moment:

4. Eliminating both rain and excessive heat for 12 consistent African days at the equator. 5. The absence of bugs, mosquitos, and other annoying flying creatures. 6. Saving us from email and most of all - Facebook. 8. Clean vehicles well suited for winding unpaved dirt paths and animal spying. 9. Tasteful lectures on tour topics. more ...

review_img

coraljeanne

Grand Family safari Tanzania

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

This Grand family safari trip was beyond our expectations and a most wonderfully planned trip by Tauck. Our Tauck guide was so accommodating to the 6 children and 10 adults . Our 3 guides were the BEST! So happy and informative about the countries and animals. There were 7 of us in our family, 3 grandchildren.

Most Memorable Moment:

I can't pick one because every day was a HAPPY day. To see us, our 3 grandchildren ,son & daughter in law fall in love with Africa, it's people and animals was amazing. The guides were awesome. Long fun filled days that will forever be in our hearts! Accommodations, food couldn't have been better. The hot air balloon ride over the Serengeti !

review_img

Bagdoc

Tanzania Grand Family Safari

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Just returned from Tanzania Safari with Tauck Bridges. My 17 yr old son & wife were not initially enthused to go. Could get Ebola,eaten by animals, kidnapped,stay in rustic quarters, etc. Couldn't be farther from the truth. They loved it. Countless animals. Visit to school w/ soccer match, Masai village, and great accommodations was wonderful.

Most Memorable Moment:

Driving down major & small dirt roads & seeing the young kids that literally have 'nothing', just enthusiastically smile & wave to the passing Land Cruisers with pure joy. Playing a competitive soccer match with a 5th-6th grader team (our team ages from 8 to 71). Multitudes of animals, including a cheetah chasing gazelle & lions eating a zebra.

review_img

BStehbens

Tanzania: A Grand Family Safari

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

The trip was just amazing. The Tauck Director was very organized and planned so many special events for us and our grandchildren. She spend a lot of time with us and made it seem so easy.The guides for the trip were very knowledgeable.There was an adventure every day.

Most Memorable Moment:

Watching our grandson have the time of his life.

review_img

CDH

Tanzania - Family tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2014

We were able to share our trip to Tanzania with our daughter and her family. Not a leisure beach vacation, but an absolutely fantastic experience of a life time. The tour was well organized and our tour director,Jessica did a great job keeping us going and helping when we needed help. Our fab five local tour guides made the tour GREAT.

Most Memorable Moment:

Every day was a different and wonderful experience. The day we saw the lions eating their giraffe prey, the cheetah we finally found, the beautiful sun rises, the baby lion cubs, the amazing balloon ride, the sleeping leopard right over the road, the water buffalo sleeping just outside our tent. All of this with wonderful accommodations and food.

review_img

LDK

A Great Safari

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2014

This African Safari was the trip of a lifetime! It was very different from any other type of travel I have taken. The safari trucks offered great views of the animals in the wild, and guides were so knowledgeable. I always felt safe with Tauck, even in the tents at night with the wild animals roaming about.

Most Memorable Moment:

The hot air balloon ride across the Serengeti was the highlight of the trip for me. We were able to see part of the Grand Migration of the buffalo, zebras, wildebeests, and more. We even spotted a leopard relaxing on a rock. The pilot dipped down for a close-up photo op. Champagne breakfast on the ground was a great way to end the ride.

review_img

GBass

Tanzania Safari - Bridges

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2013

The total experience shared with our grandchild will remain as a highlight of our enduring relationships and remembered for its scenic beauty and idyllic wildlife. The world should learn from the harmonic coexistence of creatures in nature. Tauck did great in accommodating our needs. A+

review_img

jsdds

Challenging at times, but life changing in a good way.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Tauck Bridges Safari in July/August 2013 was amazing and gave an excellent view of what Africa's animals were like, up close and personal. Some of the tent camps were way out across dirt roads, so we saw plenty of the terrain and lots of animals looking wild and free and happy. Hot air balloon amazing to all.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing animals, interacting with Masai, ballooning--all of it--without having to worry about personal safety or details. Daughter had made friends her age by day 2 and was very happy. Her favorite was Kilimanjaro hike; husband's favorite was Oldupai Gorge, but we all liked the whole trip.

review_img

Schoi

A Grand Family Safari

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Once in a life time experience. Began as a family adventure but Tauck made more than that. Visiting a place where Human Race began, learning Masai Culture, Seeing wild & Exotic animals in their own nature undisturbed; children will appreciate their world and learn that they are all connected. We will never forget the experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

Playing Soccer with Masai School children in their own school ground, seeing so many different wild & exotic animals in their own surroundings, Tauck Director, local guide expert knowledge and patients made us feel safe in wilderness and to enjoy the true nature. Our daughter never traveled with tour company before but now she & her family will.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed this wonderful experience!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Sybil brown

Tanzania

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Outstanding! Chris [Employee Name] was just a wonderful tour guide. The driver, tour guides, were just great. Our grandchildren said this was the best trip we have ever taken with them!!! WE also felt that bonding with such a wonderful experience. It is just hard to explain Africa....one must experience to appreciate!

Most Memorable Moment:

The balloon ride over the Serengeti! Every day was an adventure!!!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey! You must have had a wonderful time seeing this magnificent region with your grandchildren!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

SusanRowe01

Tanzania: A Grand Family Safari-Wow!!!!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

This was our 4th Tauck Bridges tour, my son's 5th. I have never been on a Safari, this was a trip of a lifetime!! We will be back. Our tour director, Seth and the drivers were awesome and so knowledgeable. I cannot express in words how much this trip meant to me and my family. We learned a new appreciation for life, definitely worth going!

Most Memorable Moment:

Riding open air with all the amazing animals. Seeing the lions up close and personal,the elephants coming up to our tent and falling asleep to the sound of a lion. Several friendships and lasting memories were made. The balloon ride and the trip to the school were also at the top of the list. Too many great things to mention!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you and your family enjoyed this journey. It must be wonderful to travel with your family and share so many wonderful memories!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

AHiatt

Tanzania with the grandkids

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Enjoyed the trip greatly. But -- long distances were very tiring for me and the kids and there were very few opportunities to exercise. The animals and birds were exciting and the drivers were excellent. Salim and Exavier were outstanding. Rebecca did an excellent job of making everything run smoothly. All and all it was a great trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

The balloon ride was amazing. Especially enjoyed seeing the animals up close and personal. My husband took fabulous pictures of the different birds in the trees. I also loved the hike at the bottom of Kilimanjaro.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are very pleased you enjoyed your overall journey and experienced so many memorable moments. I will share your comments with the product team regarding the distances travelled. This is the type of information we appreciate receiving from our guests.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

daniela

What an amazing trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

it was one of the best trip ever.The kids really enjoyed. From the time we got To Arusha to the time we left everyhting was taking care .Chris the tauck director was so professional and we didn't have to worry about anything . The drivers Eddie, Roman, Emmanuel and Goddie were great. They made our trip so special.

Most Memorable Moment:

The most memorable moment when we saw the big five. to see them in their natural environmental it's unbelievable. The lions, the elephant, the rhino, the buffalo, the leopard .what beautiful animals.

review_img

Jim Cober

Our Awesome Eleven Days!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

We were a family of 6, three generations all sharing a Land Cruiser in the beautiful National Parks of Tanzania. The tour exceeded our expectations and surpassed the Tauck descriptions. The Tour Director and the Driver/Guides were all outstanding and so very knowledgeable, passing on information about plants, animals, birds,geography and history.

Most Memorable Moment:

Every day was a memorable experience, each day more perfect than the one previous! We loved the tented chalets -- in fact, every accommodation was excellent. And the hyenas howling right outside our tent at night were an added bonus!

review_img

EdStreim

Tauck and Tanzania An Enduring Couple

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2011

It was our second experience with Tauck Bridges as we have found them to be the best to travel with kids. This was our grandson's Bar Mitzvah present and we didn't think we could do it without additional support. Tauck Bridges gives that support with a youth oriented tour leader and other kids for him to relate with and to join with him. The tour leader helped the bonding and after two days the kids were sharing all things together, making things easy for us. Only two more years for the next.

Most Memorable Moment:

The most memorable moments in the trip were to see the way Tauck had picked guides and a tour leader who related to the kids so well and were able to educate, as well as lead them to a great appreciation of nature and the world of wild animals. Of course, what else could beat the scene of witnessing two hippos going at each other, mouths wide open, and fighting for the right of a female hippo only yards from where we were parked.

close-button

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button