Two slightly impaired seniors.

Hello
We are interested in taking this Galapagos trip in 2014 but are a little concerned about the degree of physical fitness required. We are in our sixties and slightly impaired! I have a degree of arthritis and have had a hip replacement but walk regularly (can go for miles on the flat..). My husband has some balance problems but rides his bike daily for exercise. He also has haemolytic anaemia and becomes breathless with strenuous exercise eg climbing lots of steps.
We realise that there are optional excursions but do not want to end up sitting in the boat for the whole week. Getting our feet wet and getting in and out of pangas is not a problem.
What is the average age of guests on these type of trips? I guess there is a wide range .. but I don't want to spoil the enjoyment of your younger more energetic guests by being a slowcoach!
Has anyone had any experiences relevant to our concerns?
Thanks, from Natasha

Comments

• edited May 2013
    Hi Natasha,

I did this trip a few years ago and it's truly life changing. Yes, there is a lot of walking, but most of it, bar one afternoon, is over flat, if irregular terrain. One afternoon was a round trip with the return over a very rocky "path". There was one bit of climbing, up Prince Phillip's Steps. They are not long but they are cut into the rock cliff and for someone suffering from duck's disease, like moi, I just needed the next person to hoist my behind up and I was good to go. Getting back down was easy ... I just sat down and went down on my behind .... that way my legs would reach! I had my own walking pole and there were enough for everyone to borrow onboard the Isabella. As for that one rocky bit.... you might be able to return the way you came or perhaps there would be another solution once on the trip.