TravelerReviews

Michigan's Lakes & Mackinac Island

review_img

JSullivan

Michigan Lakes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Best part by far was our Tour guide. Smart, friendly, knowledgeable, always "on the go" and ready to answer any question and continually provided narration of where we were, where we were going and why. Our driver was a treasure as well. Hard working, great driver, always with a smile!

Most Memorable Moment:

Tour of home designed and built by son of Dow founder. The tour of the "Boulder" homes was special as well.

review_img

BobMar

Michigan Tauck Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

Our Michigan trip was great. Great people, tour guide, and bus driver. We really enjoyed the different sites of Michigan from Traverse City, Mackinac Island, to the Henry Ford Museum and Village. Meals were also very good, with the welcome dinner, wine tasting, and farewell dinner as standouts. Our guide and driver were the best!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Sitting in a rocking chair, on the porch of the Grand Hotel, Mackinac Island.

review_img

Winnie10

Should not be called Michigan Lakes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

We have been on several Tauck tours prior to Michigan Lakes and Mackinac Island. This was the first trip we were disappointed with. We saw very little of Michigan lakes with the exception of being at the Grand Hotel. Our tour director told more stories about him and Arthur Tauck than about Michigan. Met some great people.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Grand Hotel, Music Museum and riding in a Model T.

review_img

Travelingwoman

What a treat!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

Every day was better than the last. Every minute was filled with interesting things to see. I was afraid The Grand Hotel would be the apex of the trip ... but it wasn't. I mean, The Grand was grand, but the rest of the trip was exciting and interesting. All the hotels were absolutely marvelous and the meals were outstanding. A good value!

review_img

ccarey

One of the Best of our 10 Tauck Tours

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

This was our 10th Tauck trip and clearly our Tauck Director was the best of the past 10, being always engaged with the group, bright, informative, friendly and a perfectionist in the presentation of Michigan. She enjoys what she does and goes more than the extra mile to do a great job. Our favorite site was the Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island.

Most Memorable Moment:

Most memorable was arriving and staying at the Grand Hotel, visiting Greenfield Village and touring the Ford Rouge Factory. We were delighted with seeing Michigan as it created a whole new view of the state and the many things it offers. The residents (including our Tauck Director) that we encountered were Midwestern friendly and most pleasant. Wonderful trip

review_img

DonW

Michigan Lakes & Macinac Island

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

Your "Gift of Time," Travis Inn, proved to be most delightful. Our director made our travels both entertaining and interesting. Dining locations provided everything;cherry pie, huge sandwiches or gourmet dinners. We were disappointed to find the Grand Hotel did not provide traditional ballroom music for older people. Tour advisory misleading.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our visit to the Music Museum provided our Memorable moment. Hearing the sound of the music boxes, pianos and organs and seeing the artistry of the cabinet work makes this museum a "must see" for all who tour Michigan.

review_img

Happy Ours

Michigan's Lakes and Mackinac Island

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

It was a wonderful and enjoyable trip. One thought I have is that we didn't see enough of Michigan's lakes, as the title of the trip suggests. Instead of traveling south to Detroit along the coastline, we traveled on the interior interstate. Bus driver very helpful and tour guide above and beyond.

Most Memorable Moment:

Carriage ride to Grand Hotel.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have passed along your comments to our Operations team who is always looking to make tour changes based upon feedback from our guests.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

frankcardulla

Michigan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

Much better than anticipated, and we hold Tauck to a high standard. The Grand Hotel more than lived up to its reputation. The Music Museum was amazing; the Dow house extremely interesting and the Ford Museum and Greenfield Village incredible. Spent almost five hours there and could have come back the next day if it had been possible.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to say. See "all of the above," but the Grand Hotel along with Ford and Greenfield will always be fond memories. Considering going back by ourselves, we enjoyed it so much. But watch out for the food! Gained between 5-7 lbs. in just eight days and my wife gained four, but not complaining. Was wonderful and we are almost back to normal

review_img

xmashley

It was "Grand"

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

After having visited all 50 states and 200 countries, it was a pleasant surprise. I had never heard of Traverse City and it's world-renown association with it's cherries! I found it a real treat to see the Music Museum, the Sleeping Bear Dunes,the Mushroom Houses, the Dow Museum,the Ford Museum,and the Grand Hotel was my real reason for the trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

The maitre'd of the Grand Hotel restaurant asking 2 gentlemen to remove their baseball caps for breakfast!! Bravo!!

review_img

TBird02

Chillin' in Michigan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

Weather was not friendly but the sun shone and the rain stopped at just the right times. Did Tauck arrange that? The Grand Hotel is a dream experience. Director and driver made a perfect team seeing to all our needs. The surprise trip to Detroit was a huge plus. A great trip

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes and swimming in the Grand Hotel Esther Williams pool were "bucket list" items for me. The other highlight was the sailboat ride. Having grown up with the Detroit Tigers, seeing the new stadium was a very moving experience for me. Thanks for the memories!

review_img

Jughead

Loved Michigan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

Had another great trip with Tauck! Always organized, punctual and friendly. Both the Tauck Director and the motor coach driver went out of their way to be gracious hosts. Everything was first class.

Most Memorable Moment:

Loved visiting the Henry Ford Museum and Greenfield Village. Tauck, please add another day to this stop. There just wasn't enough time to adequately see all of the exhibits. Great fun!

review_img

Triplet Grand

A lovely state with a terrific guide and driver

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

The Tauck Director and driver were tops! They took pride in showing us Michigan's finest sights. Mac Is. is so unusual, as were other stops. Only 3 incidents marred the trip: a coach breakdown, a horrible shower at the Grand Hotel on Mac Is., and a very inferior lunch at a massive 1300 person Bavarian restaurant---noisy, impersonal, lousy food. Th

Most Memorable Moment:

Probably the Henry Ford Museum and Greenfield Village in Dearborn...words cannot describe what they have to display. Never thought I would see what they have. Not nearly enough time spent there.

review_img

MarshaAmbrose

Happy First Timers

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

We celebrated our 50th Anniversary by finally letting someone else do the planning. We chose the best as recommended by FL and NC experienced touring friends. Michigan was much more than we expected! On our own, we would have missed the Music Museum, the Dow home tour, the island tour, and the great companions we met! We are sold on Tauck!

Most Memorable Moment:

Laughing and sharing this experience and others with the interesting and inspiring travelers Tauck attracts.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Congratulations on celebrating your 50th wedding anniversary! We are so glad you enjoyed your present to yourselves! We look forward to having you travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Marsha Bell

Surprisingly interesting

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

We weren't too sure what to expect from a tour of northern Michigan, but were pleasantly surprised by the interesting itinerary.

Most Memorable Moment:

Probably our stay on Mackinac Island - a throwback to a gentler time.

review_img

travelbunny

Michigan Lakes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Great tour. Wonderful accommodations. Each hotel was unique and offered good food, service and location. This was our first Tauck tour, but it will not be our last.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Grand Hotel from our horse drawn carriage on Mackinac Island. We had the most amazing room with a great history of it being part of the "speak easy" era of the hotel.

review_img

radtown

Our 55th Anniversary Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

This was the shortest trip out of 13 that we have taken with Tauck. It was very fast pace & we loved every minute of it. The Grand Hotel is beautiful and words cannot say what ours eyes saw in eight days. Our tour director was on top of all arrangements and very well informed of all the sites we visited. Can't wait for our next trip. Ray & Ann

Most Memorable Moment:

Grand Hotel

review_img

bayerdc

superb trip -- in every respect

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

The highlight of the trip was our tour director -- KENDRA ST.JOHN. she was superb -- the best we have had in our five Tauck tours.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island

review_img

Olympia Senior

Amazing time in Northern Michigan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Michigan caught me by surprise. The scenery was wonderful in early fall as was the apple cider, cherry pie, and fudge along the way. The time spent on Mackinac Island and The Grand Hotel make some of my best travel memories ever. Especially great that Tauck allowed 2 nights on the island so I had time to relax and enjoy. Excellent tour director

Most Memorable Moment:

Time spent on the large porch of The Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island just taking in the beauty around me and absorbing the atmosphere of the very grand Grand Hotel. Another treasure was the lack of automobile sounds, fumes and clutter. At night out the window all I heard was the clip clop of the horse's hooves below. Great dining experiences.

review_img

Carolinagirl

Michigan's Upper Peninsula

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Our trip was so well-planned. We visited sites I had never heard of, such as Traverse City's Music House Museum, as well as more familiar locales, such as Mackinac Island. The trip went very smoothly, the hotels were beautiful, and the food delicious. I can't imagine a better tour director than the one we had. Looking forward to another trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

Two: seeing the Grand Hotel for the first time, and seeing Martha Mary Chapel in Greenfield Village, where my parents were married.

review_img

TomJudyMc

Great trip, Outstanding Guide_ Cherries, Apples, and Lakes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

We have traveled with Tauck several times. Overall, we have had outstanding guides, well-planned itinerary, excellent accommodations, and terrific food. This trip was no different. Kendra St. John was the best guide yet. We enjoyed the Michigan lakes, the scenery, and the taste of the produce. The trip back in time at Mackinac was unique.

Most Memorable Moment:

I'm afraid the wonderful times will be over-shadowed by a trip to the ER in Bay City with a subsequent hospitalization. Kendra went above and beyond what was expected in making sure we were okay and able to join the group at the end. She even arranged a quick trip to the Henry Ford and Village before our afternoon return home.

review_img

RBHemphill

We loved our trip to Michigan Lakes and Mackinac

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Although this was our seventh Tauck tour, this was our first within the U.S. We had never been to Michigan and had always wanted to visit Mackinac Island and stay at the Grand Hotel. We were not disapointed!! We also enjoyed the Traverse Bay area and Dearborn,especially the Music Museum and the house tours in Midland and Dearborn. Bob & Pat

Most Memorable Moment:

Staying at the Grand Hotel, enjoying the five course dinners and listening to all the various music during the afternoon and evening. The hotel's historian gave a very interesting talk about the history of the Grand.

review_img

HFigelman

I loved the trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

This was a great trip..from beginning to end.Bill was a great tour director..very knowledgeable and personable.Carl was a great driver and the bus was always spotless.Tauck took care of everything..great hotel rooms and food, alltour destinations and tickets to get into events, even my limo to the airport.

Most Memorable Moment:

Everything was great! I loved being on "the Lakes".I loved the Music Museum.Of course Mackinac Island and the Grand Hotel were special.Thank you Tauk.

review_img

bketchum

Another great Tauck Trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Very enjoyable, not too busy, lots of leisure time, but enough to keep you busy. A good mixture of the old, at the Grand Hotel at Mackinac Island along with the new hotels at Bay City and Traverse City. Well planned and directed by our tour guide, Bill. Loved the Dearborn Inn the staff there was very attentive and all the meals there were wonderful

Most Memorable Moment:

Grand Hotel dining and the beautiful flowers at the Grand Hotel. But the whole trip was great, We didn't realize MI was so beautiful with all its lakes. Tauck does it up right as usual down to every last detail. This was our 7th tour with them. We look forward to our next one.

review_img

cbartlett

Wonderful tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Many people wondered why we wanted to see Michigan, especially as we were visiting from the UK? This was our 4th Tauck adventure and lived up to expectations - we were thoroughly spoilt, especially at The Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island - a real gem. We felt the pace of the tour was just right - lots to see and do but also plenty of free time too

Most Memorable Moment:

As always difficult to choose just a single moment but as well as Mackinac Island I think it had to be the Alden Dow house and garden - I just loved it!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so please you enjoyed your journey to this beautiful region and experienced so many memorable moments.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

hume

Trip to Michigan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

The scenery was beautiful, and the Grand Hotel was indeed grand. The hotels were outstanding and the food was delicious. We were disappointed in the lack of information that was provided about the areas in which we were traveling, for example, names of rivers, buildings, and history of the area. Tour director seemed distracted and unapproachable.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Grand Hotel.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thanks for sharing your experience and feedback. We're looking into providing more take-away information for our guests in addition to the usual commentary provided by our tour directors.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

judyanderson

Mac is Grand

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

Good trip, good weather, good campanions, good accomadations, good food and good guide. Mackinac Island was Grand! The hotel was ahighlight and wish it could have been at least 1/2 day longer.

review_img

rlewis

Mackinac Island-heaven on earth

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

My husband and I absolutely loved Mackinac Island and the Grand Hotel. We're already yearning to return and have only been home a week. We so wanted to spend more time there. This place is truly heaven on earth as far as I'm concerned. Brought tears to my eyes when we had to leave.

Most Memorable Moment:

Taking that first carriage ride up the hill and arriving at that red carpeted entry is something i will never forget. I was worried that I had built it up too much in my mind and would be disappointed. I wasn't! It was even better!

review_img

mngunnells

Michigan Lakes and Mackinac Island

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

Our seventh Tauck trip and it lived up to all our expectations! We were awed by the beautiful scenery (which we didn't expect) and impressed by the complete ease of travel which included fights, ferries, horse-drawn carriages, trains, Model T Fords,and buses. Our tour director handled everything with ease, making sure our vacation was wonderful.

Most Memorable Moment:

After arriving at the Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island in a rainstorm, we watched the sun break through the clouds, illuminating the massive white-columned porch of the hotel. Rows of white rockers awaited us on the red geranium bordered porch. Just a stone's throw away was the glistening lake. Ah! this is the life!

review_img

judycat

marvelous michigan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2011

IT WAS A VERY NICE, WELL PLANNED TOUR. LOVED MACKINAC ISLAND. WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO EVERYONE.

close-button

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button