TravelerReviews

Bluegrass and Blue Ridges: Louisville to Nashville

review_img

GGandara

Great Bluegrass & Blue Ridges

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Loved this trip but could have used another day in Louisville, another day in Ashland, North Carolina and another day in Nashville, Tennessee. Liked Bluegrass entertainment in Ashland and loved going to the Grand Ole' Opry! Dinner & lunch was fantastic.

Most Memorable Moment:

Attending the Gran Ole' Opry concert.

review_img

JANDS

Bluegrass & Blue Ridges

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

We had a wonderful trip. Our tour director was so knowledgeable, interesting, and entertaining which made our experience with Tauck even more enjoyable. From our airport pickup to our last night in Nashville at the Grand Ole Opry to were "happy campers"!! And our bus driver was excellent too.

Most Memorable Moment:

We had many memorable moments. We liked our visit to Churchill Downs and the talk by a retired jockey was very interesting. The Buffalo Trace Distillery was amazing and educational too. And everyone seemed to enjoy the tasting. Nashville was fun. We loved the country-western singer that performed for us. The Grand Ole Opry was one of our faves.

review_img

MorrLin

Our Southern Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

This was our first trip with Tauck. Some friends of ours had previously taken this trip and raved about it. We therefore decided to give it a try. It was such a phenomenal trip. All we had to do was show up at the bus at the specified time. Everything was arranged for us. We saw so many things that we as individuals would not have seen.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many things we loved and felt were memorable. But, what really stood out for us was visiting the Biltmore Estate and staying at the Biltmore Inn. We saw so much of the house and were in awe of the beauty that prevailed throughout. The furnishing were magnificent, as well as the architecure of the structure, and landscaping.

review_img

Fannion

Tauck Does It Again

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

My friend and I have taken 18 Tauck trips and were a little dubious about the Bluegrass and Blue Ridge tour since it seemed we would be doing a lot in a short period of time. However, as usual, Tauck did not disappoint. We had a wonderful tour guide and a spectacular bus driver. Every place we visited was perfect. Recommend it!!!!

Most Memorable Moment:

It is hard to pinpoint one venue. Churchill Downs, The Shaker visit, Museum of the Cherokees, naturally the Biltmore Estate and, last, but not least, wonderful Nashville. All the activities in Nashville were the best. Opryland fantastic. All hotels on the trip were great. However, the Hermitage was the winner.

review_img

Ann44

BlueGrass/BlueRidges: Louisville to Nashville June 2017

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

We went with another couple and none of us were sure at the time we booked this tour we were going to enjoy it as much as we did! So much to see and do. Would never see any of these sites or do any of these events if we had gone on this trip ourselves. Not having to drive and having a knowledgeable Tauck director adds the final touch.

Most Memorable Moment:

Churchill Downs! - Biltmore Estate - Richard Leigh - Country Music Grammy Award Winner! Great Smoky Mountains & Cherokee Indian Museum - Fantastic Scenery! President (General) Andrew Jackson's Home - General Jackson's Showboat - Entertainment! Grand Ole Opry! Accommodations at The Heritage Hotel! Downtown Nashville! Loved it all!!!

review_img

Carol Goodman

Blue Grass and Blue Ridge

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Loved the trip. Planning next year's trip already with Tauck. Fabulous tour guide and bus driver. Excellent music. Many memorable dinners and two GREAT hotels. Tauck needs to build into the tour some independent time as this trip is tightly structured. And the hotel in Knoxville needs to be changed. A very interesting part of our country.

Most Memorable Moment:

The music we heard was excellent. A blue grass group entertained us pre-and post dinner, the General Jackson showboat revue, Richard Lee at the Country Music Hall of Fame and, finally, The Grand Ole Opry. I'm not a country music fan, but every show was terrific. And, now I know I like Bourbon and Ginger Ale!

review_img

ldew

Bluegrass & Blue Ridges

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

The best part of this trip was the variety of experiences and places to visit. In Kentucky we learned about horses and bourbon. In North Carolina the highlight was the Biltmore Estate. In Tennessee it was all the Nashville music. And in between there were many other awesome sights. We received the royal treatment at the hotels!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Biltmore Estate

review_img

Fujiyama

Great Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

It was a total experience. Each event was well coordinated. This was a first-time visit for me to this part of the country. I appreciated learning about the history, its people and culture. The choice of hotels was outstanding. Many thanks to Ken Burns and to Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

Cherokee Museum, Vanderbuilt Estate, Churchill Downs, Horse Farm, Nashville country music and the beautiful Smokies.

review_img

cricketfan99

An interesting and enjoyable tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Itinerary was well constructed with interesting stops and excellent local guides - the exception was the Cherokee Museum where the agenda needs to be reviewed - including lunch arrangements. Hotels were quite good but not exceptional and the meals, generally, were satisfactory. Entertainment programmes and musical events were very good.

Most Memorable Moment:

Performance by Bluegrass Group and the Songwriter lunch.

review_img

Bud Cowles

Louisville to Nashville

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

The trip was well set up. Our thoughts were that we could have spent more time at Churchill Downs and seen the paddock or grandstands if possible . Also at the Cumberland Gap it would have been nice to go to Pinacle Pt to see some landforms. The Biltmore and Nashville were great. It is a great part of the country to see

Most Memorable Moment:

We just love the Grand Ole Opry.

review_img

YDD

Bluegrass & Blue Ridges

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

I just returned from my trip of the Bluegrass & Blue Ridges. I am in awe of all I experienced. I like guided tours...I realize this isn't for everyone but for me Tauck is the only way to travel in this fashion. I experienced, viewed and learned more than I thought I would. I highly recommend Tauck and this particular trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

I can't pick just one. I was overwhelmed by the beauty and grander of the entire areas we visited.

review_img

Californiadreamer

Loving the South

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

This tour is for anyone who loves history, horses, music, gracious hotels and beautiful scenery. The poet Christine Lassiter said it best: "I go home to North Carolina, wet with mist of trees breathing life, each mountain singing into the next, green ridges rolling into blue, softer, then softer then silent." Add a fun group - that's Tauck!

Most Memorable Moment:

Most memorable are the Tauck specialties - unique offerings like discussions with a jockey at Churchill Downs and conversations and music with a songwriter/singer in Nashville.

review_img

Arlyss Burkett

Horse Country

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

Traveling by motor coach through Kentucky, Tennessee and a corner of North Carolina excited my imagination about race horses, Shakers, composers, musicians, builders and all those pioneers who passed through Cumberland Gap and helped develop and tame our country. This trip was a history lesson learned at the source.

Most Memorable Moment:

Listening to Phil Jamison talk about southern Appalachian dance music and play its tunes on his fiddle was a priceless moment at the Folklife Center on the Blue Ridge Parkway near Ashville, North Carolina.

review_img

ambers100

Bluegrass and Blue Ridges

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

This was an excellent tour.Very ambitious - but very interesting and informative. We stayed an extra day in Nashville which allowed us to visit the Johnny Cash Museum. You may want to include this in future tours. Overall we would highly recommend this tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

The evening at the Grand Ole Opry was the highlight of the tour.

review_img

srb212

Bluegrass and Blue Ridges: Louisville to Nashville

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

Excited to be going on this new tour.Traveled with Tauck before & they have always exceeded expectations! Issues primarily regarding meals & hotels.Blue Grass Dinner,forgot our table. Marriott claimed no entree ordered for us.Hermitage-Bft. 70 min wait, Hilton dinner 60 min wait burnt +15 min for potato.Suggested Solution "put it in your review".

Most Memorable Moment:

Grand Ole Oprey, Blue Grass Musicians, Kentucky Derby Museum,Country Music Hall of Fame and Lunch with Song Writer. Biltmore Inn and Estate.

review_img

Beryl Bogan

Loved that bourbon.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

We were fascinated with the lovely countryside of Kentucky and the many horse rearing farms. We enjoyed the Blue Grass music, the Grand Ole Opry and the beautiful Biltmore Estate. The Smoky Mountains really are smoky and I've never seen so many trees. Having lunch on a Cherokee reservation was interesting.

Most Memorable Moment:

Listening to a retired jockey tell us about his career and visiting Churchill Downs.

close-button

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button