TravelerReviews

Peru and the Galápagos Islands

review_img

Marmickfri

Two wonderful trips wrapped up in one

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

The natural beauty in both the Cusco - Machu Picchu area takes is amazing and wonderful to see. Add in the food and culture along with great naturalist guides in the Galapagos and the native guides in Machu Picchu and you have a real winner.

Most Memorable Moment:

A whale breaching the surface within 20 fit of our Zodiak; and being able to get some good pictures of it.

review_img

PhilipPapesh

Peru and the Galapagos Islands

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Our 4th Tauck trip and like the others, was led by a superb tour guide who ensured we enjoyed each experience and had seamless travel. The local guides & naturalist team enhanced our understanding of the amazing sites and natural wonders we encountered. Machu Picchu deserves its place as a new Seventh Wonder & Galapagos is a must see.

Most Memorable Moment:

The first view of Machu Picchu was breathtaking. The ability to get up close to the birds and animals in the Galapagos is an experience that is hard to describe - its like they're posing for you. The experience of a lifetime had to be seeing one of the volcanos that happened to be erupting at night, up close in a zodiac - it was spectacular.

review_img

AnnePeruscini

Left a piece of my soul in Peru

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

This was our first Tauck Trip and it left a lasting impression. Tauck thought of everything and I mean EVERYTHING! Our Travel Director is outstanding. Whatever you are paying him, you need to double it!!!! He is patient, kind, knowledgeable, culturally sensitive, diplomatic and an outstanding Tauck Ambassador.

Most Memorable Moment:

ALL OF IT!!! Peru is beyond gorgeous and we will return one day. Of course Mache Picchu is the main reason we went to Peru; but now we want to see more!! The people we met, the local guides and the gorgeous Hotels we stayed at were beautiful and the majority of them full of history and culture. The Galapagos Islands were magical too!

review_img

MGeiss

Fantastic bucket-list experience!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Macchu Picchu was on the top of my list, the Galapagos Islands on my husband's ... ergo, the perfect trip. Our tour group was great and our director was fantastic. He provided us all with a hard drive of photos and videos that far surpassed what we took -- the best souvenir ever!

Most Memorable Moment:

Getting to within about 30 yards of Isabela's shore as the volcano Sierra Negra was erupting — hearing the water hiss as lava hit it and feeling the heat of air and water was awesome. Wish every Tauck traveler could have this luck.

review_img

erocha59

Another Tauck success!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

This was an amazing trip! Our tour director was the best! All of the folks associated with this trip as well as the various hotels, etc. were first rate. The first week in Peru was fascinating even if we changed hotels almost every night - Lima was easy to explore and Machu Picchu beyond words. The week on Isabela II was just awesome!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Machu Picchu was very spiritual for me, really awe-inspiring. Our first Galapagos Island, Genovesa, was incredible! All these beautiful and fascinating birds just sitting there almost posing for pictures! Snorkeling with sea turtles, marine igunanas, and seals was just so much fun. The best part was the small number of our wonderful group!

review_img

Cathie ottmar

Galapagos and Peru

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2018

An amazing adventure. Machu Pichu was everything it was hyped up to be. It was very special to spend the night up there in a lovely 5 star hotel. The special train service to and from was an added luxury. Galapagos was the bucket list we imagined. Our ship and naturalists were exceptional. Their knowledge and pictures were a real treat

Most Memorable Moment:

Snorkeling with the sharks, sea turtles, penguins and seals. And to add to this moment our guides took amazing videos and gave us a copy of the DVD on our last night. Our ship was small and comfortable. The food was excellent and the staff were amazing.

review_img

Laurie G

Almost Perfect

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

The Machu Picchu/Galapagos trip was the busiest Tauck trip we have taken. Not a relaxing vacation. Lots of early mornings. I loved everything about it, except the Isabella II. The hygiene and cleanliness on the ship was much less than I expect from Tauck. Our tour director did a great job making sure we had great vegan meals.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Machu Picchu. Second best was the Sol y Luna Lodge in Urubamba.

review_img

Ski in Spain

Great Organization and Co-ordination"

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

When you are moving 37 people around two countries and with 5 flights, it is imposible not to have foul ups. The tour director was exceptional: He had the busses on time, he had boarding passes, he had trucks to pick up the luggage, and when there was a problema he got it solved. Ole´to him and the other tour guides.

Most Memorable Moment:

I was totally impressed with the hotels, especially the Belmond in Cuzco! The breakfasts were over the top and memorable. But, again, it was the efforts of the tour director that made the trip work.

review_img

Steve Davis

Machu Picchu & Galapagos Islands

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

This was a bucket list trip for us and Tauck did not disappoint. The entire trip was outstanding. Our guide was excellent and made sure that everything ran smoothly. We have been on a lot of trips and have never seen one go so smoothly - the logistics were handled in a very professional manner. The trip was perfect!

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to choose one memorable moment as there were many but the snorkeling was outstanding. We swam with sea lions, penguins, and iguanas. Hard to beat that!

review_img

wldavis61

Travelling with Tauck is a gift you give yourself!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

The Peru part of the trip was Planes, Trains & Buses. It was so nice to leave all those logistics to others including a flight delay! The guides were the BEST & we loved all the extra things in itinerary. The only suggestion is to add more time at Machu Picchu. A second night would have been great! Loved Galapagos - small ship so we knew everyone!!

Most Memorable Moment:

So many but the snorkeling was the best ever---up close to turtles, sea lions, penguins and marine iguanas!! So cool!!

review_img

loves2travel2

Peru & Galapagos - Oct 3-17

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

There are a lot of moving parts with this trip and the tour director handled everything effortlessly. Hotels and dinners in Peru were great. The Isabella II is showing it's age but is more than comfortable for the Galapagos. I thought the wildlife would be more varied, abundant and less elusive. I expected to be wowed like Africa.

Most Memorable Moment:

We really enjoyed the Peruvian Horse Ranch. However, our local guide at Machu Picchu was fantastic. The best local guide we have ever had in all of our Tauck Tours. His knowledge and pride for his country was incredible.

review_img

Hallman

Trip to Machu Picchu and the Galapagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

It was an amazing adventure and a trip of a lifetime.

Most Memorable Moment:

Climbing Machu Picchu at 6:00 AM to see the sun rise and riding in a zodiac in the Galapagos side by side with dolphins and an orca.

review_img

DAVID S

From DAY 1 to Saying our Good-bye's 2 Weeks Later

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

As is the "norm" for all Tauck Tours, our guides were excellent. Our Tour Leader who was with us the entire trip, looked after ALL of our needs 24/7 and at the end of our trip was most probably full of ideas for his next gig with Tauck. We are already considering our next Tauck Tour...who wouldn't!

Most Memorable Moment:

The climb to the top of Machu Picchu...

review_img

arttax

Trip of a lifetime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

This was the tip of a lifetime. Being able to walk the ruins of Machu Picchu and roam among the animals on the Galapagos was amazing.

Most Memorable Moment:

Photos with the giant tortoises on the Galapagos was the moment for me.

review_img

kmberetta

Peru and the Galapagos Islands

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

This trip was everything and more than anticipated and expected. The magic and beauty of history and nature took my breath away on numerous occasions. The hotels were spectacular (except for the one in Guayaquil). For some, I wished the stay could have been longer, but I realize the itinerary would not permit. Physically fit and energetic a must

Most Memorable Moment:

A whale spout sighting and subsequent "chase" to see up close and personal a blue whale and her calf. All of this was in a zodiac. An incredible, albeit a little frightening, experience which will last a lifetime!

review_img

Executive Director

Peru & the Galapagos Islands

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

WOW!! Tauck did an outstanding job in providing one of the best adventures that we have ever experienced! Attention to details, great accommodations, smooth and efficient transfers and a fun, humorous and accomplished tour director were all part of this journey which exceeded our expectations. This was our second trip with Tauck, more to come!

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to identify just one, but the first sight of Machu Picchu will be unforgettable. Snorkeling with the sea turtles, sea lions, iguanas and the beautiful fishes, plus the manta ray was astounding! Seeing blue and red footed boobies, plus all the other birds and animals so secure in their own habitat without any fears was so peace evoking!

review_img

Gilby

Learning about the Incas and nature in the Galapagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

We had an incredibly enlightening experience visiting Machu Picchu, as well as the other Incan ruins and The Galapagos. The guides were so knowledgeable, warm and friendly. Our tour director made the travel arrangements seem effortless and always with a big smile. All the hotels were deluxe and The Isabella felt like home.

Most Memorable Moment:

They were all memorable. Loved the Belmond Monasterio Hotel. The constant enthusiasm of all the guides and the crew of the Isabella. Peruvian food was wonderful. We had great weather.

review_img

saddlebreds

Machu Picchu/Galapagos Islands

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Bucket list trip and was everything we had hoped for. We had never travelled with Tauck before but certainly will in the future--every detail was taken care of and lodgings and food, top notch. Would recommend, to women, to pack mix/match evening wear--eg. black/blue pants with 3-4 nice tops--needed for evening meals. Use laundry service in Cuzco.

Most Memorable Moment:

My birthday at Sol y Luna lodging--beautiful facility, gardens and calming quiet after the noise/bustle of Lima. Special dessert and group singing Happy Birthday! Guides and naturalists were phenomenal and we learned so much from them--we really felt connected to the culture/environment. Loved getting so close to the animals on Galapagos

review_img

StephanieGriffin

Peru & Galapagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

We had a wonderful trip. Loved the small group & EVERYONE was enjoyable. It was such a pleasure to tour Peru and have the guide share his country though his eyes. The Galapagos tour guides get so excited to share their animal finds - that it's contagious! A must do trip and memories of a lifetime.

Most Memorable Moment:

I have to pick one? Peru: Machu Picchu and the Inca history was simply amazing. To see the remainder of their city and the construction of their city was truly fascinating. Galapagos: Swimming with the pacific green sea turtles that just don't care if you are there; of course every animal was amazing

review_img

Ceil

Awesome Trip to Machu Picchu and the Galapagos Islands

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

This trip was quite an adventure. The hotels were first class. The tour director was excellent. We were kept "on the move" touring,traveling on buses, planes and trains. We hiked Machu Picchu, which was amazing. Next 6 days on the Isabella with some wonderful fellow travelers. The wildlife was fascinating. All meals delicious. Awesome!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing blue-footed boobies and the giant tortoises Swimming with sea turtles. So many memorable moments.

review_img

toddalex

It was an amazing opportunity to check two bucket list items off in ONE trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

This trip was so diverse...from the cities of Lima and Cusco to the serenity of the Sacred Valley and the isolation and diversity on the Galapagos Islands....something for everyone to enjoy. The guides were amazing and so passionate about sharing their culture and country with you. Trip of a lifetime

Most Memorable Moment:

For our optional morning hike at Machu Picchu my wife and I summited Huayna Picchu. It was surreal to be staring back down at Macchu Picchu with the clouds below you. (special tickets required for this hike need to be purchased well in advance). Also watching a 8-9' Spotted Manta Ray float right by us as we snorkeled was fascinating!

review_img

Shawn M

Machu Picchu & Galopagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Our trip was more than we could have ever expected and Tauck was excellent

Most Memorable Moment:

Watching an Orca whale up close

review_img

Peru & Galapagos May 2017

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Our trip was fabulous. Truly a once in a lifetime experience. Our TD and local experts were very knowledgeable and approachable. This is a physically demanding trip with a lot of early mornings and air travel in Peru. The Galapagos portion is equally demanding with daily hikes/snorkeling/panga excursions. It is not for people with mobility issues.

Most Memorable Moment:

Being two quite different trips, I have to site 2 best moments. Walking out and seeing the panorama of the ruins of Machu Picchu for the first time left everyone in awe. The second moment(s) to treasure were the many experiences snorkeling right beside sea turtles and sea lions. Nature in the Galapagos is a constant changing marvel.

review_img

Santilli

Trip of a Lifetime!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

This was our second Tauck trip and we didn't think it could surpass our first but it actually did. Gaston did a wonderful job of shepherding the group and making all on-tour travel seamless. All local guides were exceptional. Accommodations and meals were outstanding. As one of our bucket list destinations, we loved every minute.

Most Memorable Moment:

It's hard to pick. Seeing Machu Picchu for the first time was magical but the week in the Galapagos is something we will never forget. Every day presented something new and wonderous. But the experience would not be the same without the patience and knowledge of the naturalists, Dennis, Daniel and Christopher.

review_img

Bruce Cam

Peru/Galapagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

This was our first Tauck Tour. We have never actually taken a 'guided' tour before so we weren't sure exactly what to expect. We loved the first class hotels and meals on the trip. We would have liked more time at Machu Picchu and Guayaquil and less time in Cusco and on the boat. In our opinion the boat was not quite up to Tauck standards.

Most Memorable Moment:

We REALLY enjoyed the limited time we had in Machu Picchu and wished we could have been there longer. The time in Cusco and on the boat could have been easily shortened. Gaston was fantastic. As was Dennis, Daniel and Jonathan.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for your review. We are sorry it did not meet your expectations. We will share your comments with those response for planning this tour.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

jwalbinger

Trip of a lifetime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2017

This has to be the most fantastic trip anyone can take and what made it that much more special were the Tauck people. From the tour guide to the group leaders, the people at Metropolitan, the naturalists, the crew on Isabela II, everyone went out of their way to ensure we had memorable experience. Thank you.

Most Memorable Moment:

Arriving in Lima after almost not making it at all.

review_img

SSB

Amazing Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2017

It is hard to describe this trip other than it exceeded our expectations! Machu Picchu was breathtaking and very, very interesting. The Galapagos Islands were fascinating and we have never encountered better snorkeling - anywhere! Our guides were expert, professional and super fun. I would highly recommend this adventure to anyone. Five Stars!

review_img

Merryl

Machu Picchu/Galapagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2017

Our trip to Machu Picchu and the Galapagos was one of our best Tauck trips ever. We felt as if we stepped into a National Geographic magazine article! While the trip was very active, the exhilaration that we felt after climbing to the top of Machu Picchu or swimming with giant sea turtles is hard to equal. Phenomenal tour director and guides!

Most Memorable Moment:

My most memorable moment was climbing to the top terrace of Machu Picchu and looking out at one of the most beautiful sites in the world! An early morning hike to the top - so out of character for me, and yet something I will never forget!

review_img

Peru and the Gallapogos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2016

If this trip was our first Tauck trip, we would not take another. Everything about the Peru portion of the trip was terrfic. The Galapagos portion was not up to Tauck standards.The accommodations were **. The food was boring and mediocre. Two many activities were planned each day, and we were exhausted. The crew was terrific Need more characters.

Most Memorable Moment:

Machu Picchu

review_img

Woodbine17

Machu Picchu and Galapagos Islands ended 11/2/16

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

Loved the trip, but have a few suggestions. When returning from the Galapagos, instead of spending the night in Guyaquil, it would be nicer to fly to Quito for 2 nights. It seemed to be a much nicer city than Guyaquil, and I would have liked to get to know it better. Also, many flights back to the US go through there, so it would be convenient.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to say; there were so many. Loved the llamas and views of the ruins at Machu Picchu and seeing the wild animals in the Galapagos. It was all good.

review_img

MLP

Peru and Galapagos 2016

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

The trip is fast paced and takes you to see the best these areas have to offer. Because of the less than perfect infrastructure in the developing world it is not as comfortable as a trip to Europe, but Tauck does a great job with what is available. Be sure to prepare ahead of time for the altitude and climate changes this trip takes you through.

Most Memorable Moment:

Machu Picchu was spectacular and by far the best part of the Peru trip. In the Galapagos one afternoon we were snorkeling with sea lions and sea turtles while the blue footed boobies were dive fishing around us. It was a surreal moment that can not be duplicated.

review_img

kappsandie

Galapagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

The trip did not live up to the usual Tauck standards. The ship was old and the food was fair.There were no special Tauck extras. It was a big disappointment.

review_img

TravelingGals

Trip of a Lifetime - Peru & the Galapogos Islands

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

From the time we arrived in Lima, Peru until our Ecuador departure, we were treated like valued family members by all of our Tauck guides - most especially by our Tour Director. He has a passion for the culture and customs of South America, which translated into an especially memorable tour for us.

Most Memorable Moment:

Snorkeling in the Galapogos Islands with all of the diverse marine life the islands have to offer. Spectacular!

review_img

Margaret-09

Trip of a lifetime!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

The tour was impeccable organized. Great hotels, great food and unforgettable destinations. Wildlife in Galapagos was astonishing and Peru so amazing. Food in Peru was unexpectedly great, I had no idea that Peruvian food presented so many culinary delights.

Most Memorable Moment:

The first Galapagos island that we visited had variety of birds that were not afraid of humans at all! You could get really close with your camera and take amazing close-up pictures.

review_img

CelticTraveler

I went for Machu Picchu and fell in love with the Galapagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

I had Machu Picchu on my "bucket list" for travel and booked the trip with the Galapagos because I figured "it's there". I had two moments that really brought tears to my eyes - the first watching the sunrise at Machu Picchu - the second listening to birds on Fernandina (I think) with the BBC earth boom mic. It was AMAZING.

Most Memorable Moment:

Other than the two I've already mentioned - snorkeling with a curious juvenile seal - it made my inner eight year old's year.

review_img

maldog

Different Spectrum

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2016

Peru and the Galapagos was a great vacation. Peru really surprised me by how beautiful and good the food was. I had no expectations. Of course, Cusco and Machu Picchu was everything I expected and so much more. Then we completed changed course and left for the Galapagos. It was a 180 degree difference and EXCELLENT

Most Memorable Moment:

Way too many to mention.

review_img

JulieAS

Peru and the Galapagos!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2016

Fantastic trip! Great tour director, Jean-Roch, and wonderful guides through Peru. Galapagos Islands are very special and the naturalists, led by our expedition leader Dennis, are wonderful. They know everything about the flora, fauna, constellations, etc. Every day was an adventure and a tremendous learning experience! Thanks, Tauck!

Most Memorable Moment:

Snorkeling with the tortoises and sea lions!

review_img

Shandelee

An Adventure not to be forgotten

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2016

It was one of the most unusual, exelerating and strenuous trips I have ever taken. I think that the time frame could be altered so we could spend another day at Machu Picchu and maybe one less in the Galápagos. Loved what what we did and saw but felt with the many changes to the schedule we need more information on details of the excursions.

Most Memorable Moment:

The first view of Machu Picchu in the early afternoon with the surrounding mountain tops hidden by the clouds was a breath-taking sight.

review_img

MSLtravel

Peru (Machu Picchu) and the Galapagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2016

As always, Tauck is a wonderful way to travel. The culture, service and history of Peru, especially Machu Picchu and Cusco were an incredible experience. Our Guide was great. Nothing was too much trouble, and his attention to the needs of all the guests exemplary. We found that a week in the Galapagos was too long for us.

Most Memorable Moment:

Climbing Machu PIcchu in the sunlight with our Guide.

review_img

charlottetreckers

Peru and Galapagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2016

This was my first trip with Tauck and I couldn't have been more satisfied. I truly believe that the local guides and naturalists made the difference between Tauck and the others we could have chosen for our trip to Machu Picchu and Galapagos. Truck's accommodations and restaurant choices were first class. Our tour director was great.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many memorable moments to choose, but the top two would be the view from top of Machu Picchu looking down on the Incan ruins and snorkeling in the clear, warm waters of the Galapagos with turtles, sharks, rays, penguins, an eel, and thousands of colorful fish.

review_img

Sue and Chris

Peru and Galapados Islands

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

The highlight of Lima was the old city center, gorgeous and very European. Only our group was entertained at the horse ranch. We sipped drinks and nibbled on treats while sitting under umbrellas, a real treat. The high altitude portion of our journey made several of us ill. We loved the Monasterio Hotel in Cusco. The cruise was an adventure!

Most Memorable Moment:

Being on the front of a Zodiac as the tip of the boat neared a penguin on a rocky cliff. We were only an arm's length apart. We simply looked at each other.

review_img

Atlanta Dave

July 2015 review

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Great guides/accommodations/food overall. Busy logistics during Peru part with all the hotel changes/traveling, but much more relaxing once on the ship. Galapagos - Lots of animals to see - both above and below water. Plan to snorkel- often 2 times a day is an option.

Most Memorable Moment:

I had three different close-up encounters with young sea lions that were curious and playful. Bring an underwater camera as it is some of the best video of the trip!

review_img

Mary Mashburn

Peru & Galapagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Fantastic accommodations, tour guides, and venues in Peru. Guides were excellent in sharing Incan history of Peru & Machu Picchu was fabulous!!! Galapagos Islands were fascinating and fun to explore. Tour guides shared the specifics of each island in an interesting way. The cruise ship was fine, food good, and great staff.

Most Memorable Moment:

Machu Picchu

review_img

J Walker

Peru and the Galapagos Islands

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2015

The trip was fantastic! It was an extremely enjoyable experience especially since we didn't have to worry about anything. The week in Peru was very interesting and Machu Picchu was the magnificent highlight. The second week aboard Isabella II was more enjoyable with being in one place, having some downtime and being outside and seeing so much.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking through the entrance of Machu Picchu and watching it grow large before your eyes.

review_img

momfrances

Machu Picchu and the Galapagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2015

My husband and I were totally overwhelmed with the majestic Andes, the wonder of Machu Picchu and the beauty of the Galapagos. The fact that our tour Director and naturalists made both experiences easy to navigate enhanced our ability to enjoy the incredible ruins and the innocence of the animals of the Galapagos. What an unforgetable tour!

Most Memorable Moment:

We will always remember the chill that ran through out bodies the moment we walked into Machu Picchu and viewed the well-preserved ruins and the magnificent Andes as the backdrop.

review_img

elfriel

Peru & the Galapagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2015

We enjoyed every aspect of this tour. Everything was very well done. Special compliments go to our guide. She is a wonderful and competent representative of Tauck Tours.

Most Memorable Moment:

Being at Machu Picchu. Awesome.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you enjoyed your journey! Thank you for your patronage.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

alicali

spectacular!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2015

The journey was just breath taking! The places, the people and all we got to see were just beautiful! The local guides in Peru were wonderful, here's to Diego and Ernesto!Machu Picchu was incredible - never thought that I would ever get there! The Galapagos was just so awesome and again the local guides were great! Dale is a great tour director!

Most Memorable Moment:

the whole trip was so memorable. I loved the whole trip but maybe not the early mornings but that is just part of the experience! Love seeing the orcas which I understand is not a very normal experience! The seals and all the animals on the Galapagos just made my trip so very worthwhile. Just to to see the babies so up close was so very special.

review_img

LarryB

Peru and the Galapagos Islands

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2014

This was a great vacation. It's active, but not overly strenuous even for moderately fit senior citizens. The Inca sites in the Andes of Peru were beautiful, and the Galapagos Islands were fascinating. The local guides and naturalists were very informative and entertaining. Gaston, our Tauck tour director, was our all-time favorite tour director.

Most Memorable Moment:

Difficult to pick one, or even several, most memorable moments, but perhaps the best was simply stepping ouf ot the terminal at San Cristobal in the Galapagos, and realizing that we were someplace very diffferent from any place we had ever been.

review_img

Cox Head Lady

Turtles R Us

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Went to Lima and the Galàpagos in late Sept.-early Oct. The hotels were spectacular. Some places had rooms of varying sizes/views, etc. We had a couple of small ones, but are not picky people. Loved Machu Picchu the Island animals.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our group was hearty. At this time of year the water is cold. However, in one moment while snorkeling I had sea turtles all around me, big ones!, marine iguanas below me and sea lions zooming in front of me. It was unreal!! Loved it.

review_img

ROBERTHL

MACHU PICCHU / GALAPAGOS ISLANDS

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

WE TOOK THIS TRIP SEPTEMBER 2014. THIS WAS OUR FIRST TAUCK TOUR AND IT LIVED UP TO ALL WE HAD HEARD ABOUT TAUCK AND PEOPLE WHO HAVE TRAVELED WITH TAUCK. OUR TOUR DIRECTOR ALEX WAS FANTASTIC AND VERY HANDS-ON WITH ALL DETAILS AND GUIDED TOURS. THE ACCOMODATIONS, MEALS AND TOURS WERE FIRST CLASS. THE PACE WAS AGGRESSIVE, BUT NOT TOO MUCH SO.

Most Memorable Moment:

NO SPECIFIC MOST MEMORABLE MOMENT, ALL WAS GREAT AND THE TWO LOCATIONS WERE TOTALY DIFFERENT AND FANTASTIC IN THEIR OWN WAY. THE SITE GUIDES WERE VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE WITH THE SITES AND GAVE US MUCH INFORMATION AND DETAILS.

review_img

PatRickTravlrs

Peru/Machu Picchu and Galapagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

We had a small group (37) so it was easy to get to know our fellow travelers. As always the Tauck staff (tour director Alex, guides and naturalists) did a superb job. Once again we were so grateful for the opportunity to visit places that few get to see. We returned with amazing memories...and over 2800 photographs!

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many memorable moments, including the first views of Machu Picchu; and the many "up close and personal" encounters with the Galapagos critters. Along with Africa and Antarctica, a "once-in-a lifetime" experience.

review_img

MickeyTravels

Machu Picchu and the Galapagos.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Our comfort and trust in Alex was important on this trip. He was outstanding. Always there. Loved Machu Picchu and Rolly who took extra time to help draw and label an Incan Cross. The Galapagos was a bit of a disappointment , especially one of the guides. Many of us tried to get one of the two other guides. The boat and ships food were ok.

Most Memorable Moment:

Riding the Peruvian Passo horse. WONDERFUL! What an experience! Also standing on the steps in Machu Picchu and having Rolly explain the culture. He was very eloquent. Dinner in the Peruvian home was also nice.

review_img

Vickery

Peru & The Galapagos 4/22/2014

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

This was the most active tour we have been on. We loved sitting astride beautiful Peruvian horses, exploring Machu Picchu, Cusco. Snorkeling & exploring every day in the 7 Islands- seeing all kinds of marine & land iguanas, fur seals, sea lions, blue & red footed boobies, Nazca boobies, hawk, owl, penguins, flamingos, giant tortoises, crabs & more.

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved every moment!

review_img

apoltens

Number 1 on our Bucket List

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

As our naturalists reminded us, this was an expedition, not a vacation. We learned more about the Inca culture and the history of Peru and the Conquistadors that we ever could have imagined. The Galapagos are simply amazing. I cannot conceive of a better way to visit than with a Tack naturalist leading the tour. Don't let this one pass you by.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were two for me, first around 4:45 PM at Machu Picchu, when most everyone had left (the park closes at 5:00 PM). The silence and awesomeness of the place has a spiritual feeling about it. Second, on our first full day in the Islands, we realized that the birds and animals were absolutely unafraid of us. We were within touching distance.

review_img

harv

Macchu Pichu and the Galopagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

Macchu Pichu was mesmerizing and the Galopagos was fascinating! Tauck did a fantastic job! They got us really nice hotels to stay and wonderful food. Tauck is more expensive than most but I believe it is worth it. This was my first Tauck tour but not my last.But let me warn you. As our director said "this is not a vacation but expedition".

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Macchu Pichu

review_img

PCBaxter

Peru and the Galapagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

What an experience. It was amazing visiting the ruins in Peru and learning about the culture. The trip to the little town of Ollanta and seeing how the Peruvians live daily was so informative. Dining in the private residence in Cusco was a real treat. Seeing the wildlife in the Galapagos exceeded even my high expectations! Trip of a lifetime!

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to choose one favorite out of so many. But seeing Machu Picchu, the Awana Kancha cameloid farm with the weaving demonstrations, Galapagos wildlife, snorkeling and meeting so many new friends are among the most memorable.

review_img

pegreiter

Peru and Galapagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

Wow! Words cannot begin to express this "trip of a lifetime" - Peru & Galapagos. Everything about this tour was top of the line. The tour director (Dale) was amazing and the local guides were equally awesome. The lodging, food, and tour stops where fantastic. I couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

There are too many "most memorable moments" about this trip to mention just one! Seeing the Inca ruins at Machu Picchu, the architecture of colonial Cusco, the breathtaking views of the Andes, and the pristine nature at the Galapagos made for memories that will last a lifetime.

review_img

MaryMcNichols

Great Experience--wonderful tour director & guides

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2014

Dale was an awesome tour director & never left us wondering what to do next. Everything was very organized. It was an active trip but everyone was told that in the beginning. The snorkeling was the most fun. I loved being able to stay at Machu Picchu at the Sanctuary. Other tours that I checked didn't stay right there.

Most Memorable Moment:

Crossing the equator & seeing the dials turn 000.

review_img

MFenton

Peru & Galapagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2014

Adventure far exceeded my expectations. The sites, accommodations, tours, weather, local guides, food, etc. were fantastic. As always, our Tauck Dir., [Employee Name]'s attention to detail was flawless, professional & personable, making this tour most enjoyable, fun, & one of the best. Many thanks to the Tauck Team.

Most Memorable Moment:

Experiencing the hikes/walks in both Machu Picchu & Galapagos.

review_img

FrankyP

Machu Pichu and Galapagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2014

The best we've had yet!! Tauck thinks of EVERYTHING--there is no stress, just the pleasure of touring amazing places. Our tour Director, Dale S. is simply amazing.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to note but these two stand out--- Standing at the highest point at Machu Pichu in complete awe. Snorkeling with the tortoises in the Galapagos.

review_img

deano

Machu Picchu & Galalapagos Islands, Mar 2014

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2014

My wife and I absolutely loved this incredible journey. It was our first Tauck tour and yes, we will plan for more. The trip consisted of two one-week adventures, the first in the Andean highlands at spiritual Machu Picchu; the second week, a world away at sea level among the glorious animals and landscape on the Galapagos Islands.

Most Memorable Moment:

Actually there were two moments. Moment One came as we climbed the steps for an overview of Machu Picchu. As we reached a summit, we turned to look back and saw the spectacular Machu Picchu that we all know from brochures. It left us breathless. Moment Two was walking among sunbathing Marine Iguanas on the rocky shores of the Galapagos Island.

review_img

dpetex4

Peru, Machu Picchu

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

It was wonderful...loved our tour guide. We had a couple weather snafus and he was outstanding in taking care of us. Loved the hotels and tours. All around great.

Most Memorable Moment:

Machu Pichhu was magical. It was my favorite.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Machu Picchu truly is a magnificent destination! Too bad we couldn't control the weather while you were there!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Pat H

Two must-see places in one trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Combining Machu Picchu and the Galapagos into one trip is a wonderful idea. Visiting either one of these could easily qualify as the trip of a lifetime. As always, Tauck's planning was perfect. After the relatively strenuous sightseeling in Peru, we relaxed on the fabulous Isabella II, enjoying the amazing Galapagos Islands.

Most Memorable Moment:

It's impossible to choose one. There were so many moments that took my breath away. Machu Picchu is the most magical, mystical place I've ever been. And words cannot describe the Galapagos---the crystal clear water, the unbelievable diversity of the islands and their inhabitants---flamingos, iguanas, tortoises, penguins, etc. Wow!!

review_img

CatLover8

Special Places - Machu Picchu and the Galapagos Islands

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

The Gallapagos trip was everything we hoped it would be and more. The daily option for snorkeling was really special - playful sea lions (who liked to "high five"), turtles and fish. And who doesn't want to see red and blue footed boobies as well as iguanas, tortoises and penguins? I am so glad we got to see Machu Picchu as well.

Most Memorable Moment:

Snorkeling in the Galapagos

review_img

HBlack

Peru and the Galpagos Islands

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Everything was top notch. Great director, local guides and naturalists, ship's crew, accommodations, and food. Tauck made all the moves from one location to the next so simple. We met several people on our trip who were repeat Tauck customers, many times over. That says a lot about the company.

Most Memorable Moment:

Machu Picchu was the inspiration for the trip. That place is awe inspiring. The nature walks in the Galapagos were amazing! It is great to see so many animals up so close.

review_img

CHunt

Tauck's Tender Loving Care

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

This was our first trip with Tauck. Tauck met our many expectations of offering superb tour guides, great destinations, exquisite lodging, & scrumptious food. We knew that going to Machu Picchu (Peru) and the Galapagos Islands constituted a strenuous trip. With Tauck's tender loving care (TLC), we were well accommodated and enjoyed every moment.

Most Memorable Moment:

My husband enjoyed the Galapagos cruise the best with the extraordinary wildlife & the fun water activities. My favorite was hiking & viewing the spectacular Inca ruins. Tauck does an excellent job in offering unique & fine extras; for example, hosting the Welcome Dinner in the Casa de Aliaga (old colonial mansion) in Lima was a perfect evening.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Dear Ms. Hunt, We are so pleased you and your husband enjoyed your journey with us! Best regards, Edel K

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

KathieA

Peru and Galapagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2013

The local Guides in Peru, and the Ecuadoran Naturalists in the Galapapos were fantastic. They are really able to connect you to the history of these places, and give you a great perspective.

Most Memorable Moment:

Really, it was all great, but I was very proud of myself after climbing Macchu Picchu!

TAUCK RESPONSE

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Bob B.

Great trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

It was a great trip offering ancient civilizations and nature in the same trip. The Peruvian ancient civilizations constructed structures that were amazing. The closeness of the wild life on the Galapagos was astounding. To experience both on the same trip was wonderful.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were two, the first view of Machu Picchu as we walked around the path from the entrance and when I spotted the Galapagos owl.

review_img

PeteB

Check, Check--Two top bucket list items in one tour!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

A wonderful trip in every way. Service and attention to detail is everything in travel and hospitality, and this tour had it.The TD, Jean-Roch, is top-notch; not only extremely knowledgeable, but a personality ideally suited to his profession.The tour guides/naturalists were likewise great.

Most Memorable Moment:

Difficult question. My wife and I had very, very high expectations, and they were exceeded.Machu Picchu in person is breath-taking, no matter how much you know about it, or how many travelogues you have seen.The beauty of the Galapagos, and the diversity of the fauna and wildlife defies verbal description. Bless digital photography!

review_img

gwesthoff

Peru Ecuador Galapagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

Typical Tauck - very organized , first rate, great professions. This was my fifth trip with Tauck and I will definitely continue to use Tauck. Experience was breath taking.

Most Memorable Moment:

Touring Mach Pichu

review_img

Carl Thomsen

Travelling to Peru and the Galapagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2012

The sights and accomodations were excellent. The local guides were very knowledgable and enthusiastic. The sights in Peru were more interesting than I expected. Stunning mountains.The Tauck tour director was a negative to our overall experience. He seemed unprofessional in the way he dressed, in his attitude and his interaction with guests

Most Memorable Moment:

While snorkeling in the Galapagos a marine iguana swam right under me. I guess he was on the surface and I surprised him. A sea lion also swam about three feet from us seemed to enjoy swimming with us. Amazing!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you very much for your candid feedback. While we are happy to hear that the amazing sights, accommodations, and local guides exceeded your expectations, we are disappointed to learn that your Tauck Director appeared unprofessional. We pride ourselves on our Tauck Directors and care very much about our guests’ comments. Please also be assured that we have made our management team aware of this.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Sockeye

Unforgettable

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2012

I was a little bit nervous about this trip. Going to South America! Is it safe? We prepared ourselves very well, and it turned out to be excellent.Very nice people, and very good food. The combination of Peru Machu Picchu and Ecuador Galapagos is as having two different vacations.

Most Memorable Moment:

The guide in Machu Picchu was outstanding, very well educated. He was able to transport his knowledge very well. He was very passionate. To visit Machu Picchu in the morning was beautiful. The Galapagos on the other hand was an excellent experience in the nature. The animals are so unbelivably quiet and not affraid at all.

review_img

tcastanias

Machu Picchu/Galapagos Islands

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2011

This is a fantastic trip! Two must-do locations. The guides were great and the size of the group was good too. We made a lot of new friends, and best of all, saw two of the most fantastic places in the world!

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to pick one but Machu Picchu is really special. The first moment you see it, you realize the pictures can never do it justice.

review_img

Jack McKee

Machu Picchu and the Galapagos Islands

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2011

This trip was in our top 3 vacation trips we have taken in the last 20 years. Machu Picchu ranks up with the Pyramids in Egypt and the Great Wall of China as memorable places to visit. The Galapagos Islands were better than we expected and we had a great time exploring the Islands with a great tour group. This trip was clearly the most strenuous vacation we have taken with several long hikes over rough terrain and long days of travel. If you are in good shape it will enhance your experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

One memorable event was touring Machu Picchu at 6:00 AM when we were the first visitors on site. It was a misty, chilly morning and we had the opportunity to explore several parts of the ruins we had not visited the day before. In the Galapagos, snorkeling with the penguins, turtles and sea lions was a memorable experience for us. The sea lions enjoyed playing with us as they swam in circles a few feet below us and would jump out of the water between us. A lot of great photos.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button