TravelerReviews

Christmas Markets Along the Danube – Eastbound

review_img

Kittywake

"Christmas Markets were Great!"

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2017

A perfect combination, European Christmas Markets, snow, and beautiful scenery along the Danube. The boat, crew, and itinerary was terrific.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking in the snow in the market in Nuremburg was about as good as it gets. Salzburg was magical.

review_img

jakemo

Another Wonderful Tauck Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2017

Tauck always exceeds expectations! As I said to friends when returning home, "The most difficult thing we had to do was set an alarm clock so we would not miss a single experience" Wonderful staff, great timing for on shore activities and both educational and cultural experiences! And the food was outstanding on board and in quaint buildings.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Vienna markets at night. Magical!

review_img

KVerner

As perfect as humanly possible

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2017

The markets were fun and along the way, Tauck added some interesting surprises. The Joy, was spectacular. The staff couldn't do enough for us. However, what was most surprising, was the food. Every single meal was outstanding. The best was the Pasta Carbonara with the cognac sauce. OMG!!!! Any chance the chef will share his recipe? Please?

Most Memorable Moment:

The sausages on the crusty rolls at the market. The choir at the castle at lunch. The fact that each market has its own personality. The mulled wines at the markets. The Melk Abbey. The Pasta Carbonara. Please share the recipe!

review_img

ghjohnson35

Wonderful River Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2017

We had a thoroughly enjoyable experience on the Christmas Markets cruise. The ship was perfect: the cabins were large, the bathroom was hotel size, storage was ample. The excursions were all very good. The tour directors were excellent. The crew could not have been better. They were always friendly, very accommodating, and extremely helpful.

Most Memorable Moment:

We enjoyed Salzburg more than any other town

review_img

Vic Segall

Had a great time

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2017

The boat was beautiful. The crew more than helpful. The trip was outstanding. My wife has many food allergies. The entire restaurant staff took very good care of her, providing a variety of tasty food created to meet her medical needs. I can't say the same for any of the other cruises we've taken in the seven years.

review_img

relcvilleva

Christmas Markets and more!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2017

We really loved how Tauck thought of everything on the cruise, from our arrival at the airport until we headed home, there were no worries. The Tauck Directors were cheerful and helpful, and they were always ready to answer any question. The service onboard was great and they made sure we had whatever we needed. Loved the Christmas markets!!

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many, but lunch at the Palais Pallavicini in Vienna, our tour of Melk Abbey, and hearing the world's largest cathedral pipe organ concert in Passau really stand out.

review_img

Patti Washburn

Christmas Markets River Cruise on the Danube - Westbound Dec. 3-10, 2017

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2017

We have been on 2 Tauck land journeys over the past year and a half and they were both outstanding. We have raved about Tauck and have encouraged our friends and family to travel with Tauck. The Christmas Markets river cruise did not measure up to our expectations and we did not get to spend enough time in the towns. The itinerary needs updating.

Most Memorable Moment:

The walking tour of Passau, Germany was excellent.

TAUCK RESPONSE

I am sorry that this river cruise did not meet your expectations. I have forwarded your comments on to our Guest Relations Department who will be in contact with you.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Catwood

Christmas Markets !!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed the Danube Christmas Markets trip. The towns are so beautiful with all the lights. The Neurenberg market was CRAZY packed with people. We opted for the city overview/market excursion and were actually disappointed in the amount of time it took us to get to the market - seemed like we drove around in circles for 30+ minutes.

Most Memorable Moment:

Every Christmas market was so memorable. I would recommend the trip to anyone that loves to shop for Christmas!

review_img

Francis Edmond Harkins

Christmas Markets

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2017

Our trip from Vienna to Nurenburg for the Christmas Markets was our first river cruise and it was a fabulous experience. Had a great time.

review_img

Peterjoe

Typical Tauck experience. First rate start to finish.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2016

8-day river cruise aboard the Joy. The ship is spectacular. The food is great. The staff is extremely attentive and helpful. The cruise and tour directors are wonderful.The on-board activities were fun. The little gifts that were left on your bed after dinner were a nice touch. The daily tours were interesting. The tour guides very knowledgeable.

Most Memorable Moment:

Big moment: the day and a half in Vienna. Wonderful city. Would have loved another day there. Small moment: delicious pastry and coffee at Cafe Central, a Viennese coffee house in a gorgeous historic setting. A must.

review_img

steph670

simply magical

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2016

I find Christmas a magical time of year anyway, but spending it with friends on the Danube with Tauck made it even more so. Every detail was attended to....surprises every time we turned around....the on-board tour directors were fun and knowledgable and the port city guides couldn't have been better. If they only could have provided snow!!!

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many.....but wandering down from the Melk Cathedral----on our way back to the boat, my hubby spotted a yarn-bombed bicycle in front of the cutest yarn shop. As a knitter...this was pretty darn special. (And of course, souvenir yarns came home with me.)

review_img

kevinabel

Christmas Markets

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2016

Very enjoyable trip, service was great, food was great on the boat. My only complaint is the meal provided in Vienna. Great place to be in but the food was more the quality of a low end cafeteria. Didnt mind buffet,quality that wasnt worth it. After castle tour it should have been on your own or on boat.

Most Memorable Moment:

The quality of service from staff and the wiliness to ensure that we had everything we needed. Service staff is top notch from dinning room to housekeeping.

review_img

RayFFoster

Christmas Markets - Danube

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2016

Our 9th trip with Tauck! I think we like them! Our tour directors, as with all other Tauck trips we have taken, were beyond outstanding. The little touches and surprises were vintage Tauck. MS Joy was beautiful. Looking forward to another river cruise with Tauck in 2018. Would do it sooner, but we already have two Tauck trips booked for 2017.

Most Memorable Moment:

Luncheon and concert at Palais Pallavicini. Nuremberg Market. Salzburg.

review_img

jojo1985

Wonderful Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2016

This trip was one of the best trips I have ever been on. Tauck is wonderful. They take care of everything for you. We flew a day earlier to Vienna and a Tauck representative was there to greet us. From then on, until we were dropped off at the airport in Nuremberg, everything was taken care of by Tauck. So enjoyable!

Most Memorable Moment:

I was very intrigued by the differences in each town’s Christmas Market. Even though they were all local Christmas Markets, they were individually unique. I was also curious about the locks in the river, never experiencing them before. Amazing! We were on the top deck to observe the actual process of going through a lock from start to finish.

review_img

BlueEyes49

Vienna -Nuremberg Christmas Market Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2016

A wonderful girls trip for 8 friends aboard the MS Savor in the loft cabins. Fantastic food and service in lounge and dining room. Tauck staff always available and welcoming when you come aboard. Wonderful variety of towns visited and tours available.

Most Memorable Moment:

I love the smaller towns with their quaint cobblestone streets and markets. Love the fresh trees and decorations all around the markets. Sampling the foods at all the markets is a highlight of my trip. Not a big shopper but this is my second CM trip. Visiting the library at the Melk Abbey was outstanding as well as the small town. Loved Passau

review_img

cruise lover

can't beat the Christmas markets!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2016

We began in Nuremberg which we were unfamiliar with and absolutely LOVED! All the stops were amazing and we can't wait to do it again.The special lunch in Vienna, the demo in Passau and the market at Thurns and Taxis were all very special. The markets are for locals to shop and do their holiday shopping, it is not at all overly commercial.

Most Memorable Moment:

The lunch at the Palace in Vienna was extraordinary. They even had a children's choir from Latvia that was on their way to Bratislava to compete. It was truly memorable. The weather was cold but it just gave an excuse to enjoy that mulled wine and enjoy those sausage sandwiches!

review_img

vivamus

fabulous Christmas treat!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2016

River cruising is perfect way to visit Christmas markets! Each aspect of each day is carefully planned for your touring/shopping pleasure! Great, energetic, sincere, helpful Tauck directors. Riverboat is lovely! Food is gourmet. Ate venison once and had the best veal dish ever, along with poultry, beef & seafood. All exceeded expectations.

Most Memorable Moment:

Entertainment on boat was exceptionally good; Tour guides provided good history and information. Market at Regensburg my favorite for its nostalgic atmosphere; also, Vienna market lights at night. Salzburg is worth 2 hr drive ea. way!! Warmth and friendliness of Tauck/ship staff and the daily 'surprises.' Maps for each stop - so helpful and more..

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you had such an extraordinary time on our Christmas Market river cruise along the Danube! Thank you for sharing your experience.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

retired first

not great

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2016

it was a disappointment. The food was fair, if you like venison and cream desserts. The best meal was breakfast. There was no education or history available on the trip. No guest lecturers, 4 hours wasted as the tour director chatted with the bus driver as we drove to and from Salzberg. The two entertainment programs were awful.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have forwarded your comments on to our Guest Relations Department.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

PSaco

Christmas Market Cruise from Nuremberg to Vienna

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2016

We just returned from a wonderful Christmas Market Cruise down the Danube. It was our first river cruise and we thoroughly enjoyed the concept of just unpacking once for the entire trip. This was a fascinating and exciting way to see the towns and their lovely Christmas markets. This was our ninth Tauck trip and we will be back next year!

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved the town of Passau and the music of the Vienna Children's choir at our luncheon in Vienna at the Schönbrunn Palace. Also, the many great friends we met on the cruise.

review_img

Silverfox40

Christmas Markets on the Danube-East Bound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2016

This was our 4th trip with Tauck and our second River Cruise. Once again the experience was fantastic. The itinerary was well paced but not rushing, the MS SAVOR has been overhauled with larger bathrooms and very nice, the crew did a wonderful job of making our cruise one that makes us return!

Most Memorable Moment:

Very difficult to select one moment but it would be between the day we spent in Passau or the day we visited Salzburg and St. Peter's Abbey

review_img

pipconck

Market place tour Danube Germany

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2015

The tour was welled laid out by Tauck. Tauck staff personable. Issues: 1. I called and had listed on my information sheet, that I have salt limited diet.This was noted and I met with the chef. It was embarrassing each meal to remind staff that I had a salt restricted diet and it was not always met. 2. Post airport transfer was missing.

Most Memorable Moment:

Christmas staff present exchange. Staff in santa, elf garb. Very fun. Palace lunch in Vienna.

review_img

MaureenandKerry

Loved, loved, loved this River Cruise!

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2015

We weren't sure what to expect on this trip but we had such a wonderful time! The markets we visited were sooo charming; full of families and wonderful hand-crafted Christmas mementos. Germany and Austria were even more enchanting than we imagined. Needed an extra bag to get everything home! Ship crew was superb; fellow passengers the best ever!

Most Memorable Moment:

Some of our best memories were of dinners/social time with some of the best fellow travelers we have experienced so far. Also, the markets at Passau stood out for us - such beautiful, hand-crafted, unique items. The Documentation Center in Nuremberg shouldn't be missed.

review_img

WEG

The "Anything is Possible" River Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2015

Great Christmas Market River Cruise along the Danube visiting quaint German towns. The on-boat experience was fabulous - from wonderful service, cleanliness, delicious food, tours, attention to detail, and local entertainment brought on-board to enhance our experience of the areas. Everything was perfect!

Most Memorable Moment:

My husband once made a request of a Tauck staff member along the lines of, "Would it be possible for us to..?" The answer became our mantra for the rest of the trip - "Of course. Anything is possible." This is so representative of the Tauck experience, and we're looking to plan another Tauck trip soon. Thanks you all!

review_img

LarrySC

Christmas markets on the Danube

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2015

Our trip down the Danube aboard the Savor was terrific! We enjoyed visiting the Christmas markets and having free time to explore on our own. Meals were excellent as was the service on the Savor. Tauck directors were professional and very knowledgeable about the towns we visited and the markets. Local guides were excellent.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many great memories to pick just one.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you enjoyed the lovely Christmas Markets on the Danube! Thank you for travelling with Tauck.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

kcleary5

Christmas Markets on the Danube Westbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2015

We are first timers for Tauck and for River Cruising. Absolutely loved every minute of this trip! Touring in places with so much history and tradition was just awesome to experience. Tauck cruise directors and tour guides go beyond what one would expect in sharing their expertise and knowledge of the area you are visiting. Loved it, will return

Most Memorable Moment:

Viewing how hard Tauck employees worked to see that we were enjoying every minute of our vacation!!

review_img

pab57

Christmas Markets Along the Danube, Eastbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2015

Tauck's attention to detail is what makes traveling with them so remarkable. This was our first Tauck trip, but certainly not our last. We enjoyed all aspects of the cruise. As this was our first visit to Germany & Austria, being there during Christmas season with so many festive markets & holiday celebrations, the experience was unforgettable!

Most Memorable Moment:

It's the small things I remember most! A custom made cocktail, remembering our names on day 2, being in the hot tub at midnight under the cold night sky, the ease of leaving/returning to the ship, being greeted each time with a warm towel/hot beverage, the excellent tours & guides, special performances & unexpected activities onboard, and Vienna!

review_img

Mark Guillemette

Christmas Markets on the Danube - Eastbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2015

Where do we start ? This was our seventh Tauck Tour that my wife and I took and our first overseas trip as a couple ( our first was to Hawaii on our honeymoon ). The ship, MS Savor, was beautiful and we had the best cabin available with a walk in closet and beautiful bathroom, bedroom and sitting area with a great double slider for viewing.

Most Memorable Moment:

Besides the great food, great tour guides, wonderful ship staff and itinerary we particularly enjoyed visiting the Benedictine Abbey in Melk and cruising through the Wachau Valley while viewing ancient vineyards started during the Roman Empire. Tauck Tours is part of our family and we will continue to go on many more trips with you! You are great.

review_img

Diana136

Christmas Markets along the Danube

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2015

A memorable trip with beautiful and varied Christmas markets selling no Chinese goods. Lovely wooden , straw and shiny decorations. Lots of glass, beeswax, woollen and hand made goods. The variety of food and drink typical to the areas was interesting. We had a marvellous crew on the Savor ship and four fantastic tour directors .

Most Memorable Moment:

Too numerous to mention. The surprises from the lovely tour directors were really appreciated. Visits to castles and a monastery and the Turn and Taxis Market.

review_img

MarkDonnaS

Christmas Market Memories

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2014

This was our first Tauck Tour, and it was fantastic! From the initial airport pick-up in Nuremburg, to the final departure in Vienna, we felt the "magic" of a Tauck tour. The various Christmas markets, intermingled with city and palace tours, gave us unforgettable memories. Cruising the Danube was a great experience in itself. Thx to all the staff!

Most Memorable Moment:

Many, many memories...cruising the river, lunch at Palais Pallavicini in Vienna, drinking warm Gluhwein while browsing the markets, and of course, meeting other Tauck guests on the cruise. Also, the special attention provided by our great cruise directors!!

review_img

JGiammarino

AMAZING!! Wonderful, magical way to celebrate Christmas!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2014

Great variety of markets/excursions - great itinerary. The staff was so attentive, yet warm/friendly. The Savor is a gorgeous boat – love the loft stateroom! So elegant with the warmth of home! One note: the bar staff was great, but should be more familiar with common drinks like Jack & Diet or Rum & Coke. Go with Tauck - others don't compare!

Most Memorable Moment:

Lunch at the Schonbrunn palace in Vienna - greeted by white-gloved waiters with Champagne after a wonderful tour of the palace - memory of a life-time that only Tauck can make!

review_img

Martin Engquist

Danube Christmas Market Cruise December 2014

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2014

The recent Christmas Market Tour on the Danube was fantastic! The entire Tauck team from the cruise ship employees to the tour directors were fabulous--very informative, helpful, and attentive to every need. The docents were likewise very knowledgeable everywhere we went. Thank you Tauck for a wonderful travel experience. You are the best!

Most Memorable Moment:

A fellow traveler travelling with his family celebrated both an anniversary and birthday aboard the ship. Tauck surprised the family with a personal cake to commemorate the occasion--what a nice touch of class for the celebrants. Tauck exceeds all expectations in providing gifts, surprises, and memorable events to all who travel with Tauck.

review_img

JLintz23

Beautiful Danube

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2014

our 3rd trip with Tauck and first river cruise. We were not disappointed. Each city was planned and the tour directors were the best. The local tour guides added to the enjoyment and knowledge of the area. The river boat was fabulous. The room was very spacious and the food was excellent. I like the all inclusive. Christmas Markets were GREAT!

Most Memorable Moment:

Going through all the lock, especially the one that dropped 74ft. But the whole trip was memorable and highly recommended. We have already booked our Rhine River cruise with Tauck for next year.

review_img

Wuestski

Winter Wonderland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2014

Tauck made this special time of year in Austria and Germany even more special. Everyday there was a little surprise for us. The cities and markets on the cruise are perfect. It's like being in a fairytale at Christmas Time.

Most Memorable Moment:

The visit to the Rathaus market in Vienna at night.

review_img

Ira Tagawa

Christmas Markets on the Danube

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2013

Enjoyed cruising on the Danube from Nuremberg to Vienna and visiting various Christmas Markets. Tauck took care of all the details, allowing us to fully appreciate the joys of the Christmas season in Europe. The tour also allowed us to visit interesting places, such as the abbey at Melk. It was also nice to re-visit Salzburg, one of our favorite

Most Memorable Moment:

The Xmas Market at Vienna's City Hall was most impressive, with beautiful light decorations and many booths for shopping. European Xmases are not commercialized as in the US. The people are out there simply to enjoy. We particularly relished the taste of gluehwine and the ornate mugs it was served in.

review_img

NTidwell-Rasmussen

Christmas Markets on the Danube - East December 8-15

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2013

It was 'magical'...from Nuremberg through to Vienna. The history, the beauty, the charm of the cities and the river scenery along the way. Vienna was amazing...we stayed an additional 3 nights. I broke my knee on the cobblestone pavement in Passau, but I refused to let that interrupt or dampen the trip. We hope to enjoy another in the future.

Most Memorable Moment:

The organ concert in Passau. The kindness of the entire staff of the MS Treasures, especially Mary, our cruise director.

review_img

SoDak John

Imagine Tauck's luxury and total planning in a hotel that moves you - River Cruising at its best

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2013

We just returned from Tauck's Danube Christmas Market river cruise on the MS Swiss Emerald. This was our third river cruise but out first with Tauck; we have done seven Tauck land journey's. What can I say; it was an all inclusive, well-planned, thoughtful, luxurious, well-fed, and fun filled experience. Best ever river cruise for us.

Most Memorable Moment:

Night time stroll through a Christmas market in Vienna. Melk's fabulous baroque abbey. Hot gluewines and innumerable wursts in the many Christmas markets. Great wines and meals on the MS Swiss Emerald. Strolling through Salzburg with all its decorated shops and markets.

review_img

KGuyitt

Christmas Markets - Danube Westbound - Dec 2013

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2013

We loved many aspects of this trip. Many thanks to our Tauck and MS Treasures staff for perfect customer service! We loved the history, art, architecture and Christmas spirit. Was not properly prepared for the bitter cold and wind-you cannot pack light for this trip-allow space for purchases. Be prepared and you will also love the experience!

Most Memorable Moment:

So many! Melk Abbey, Simon Gingerbread in Passau, real German bratwurst, Gluwein, Schonbrunn Palace, and all of the fabulous architecture styles. The guides had a wealth of anecdotes and historical knowledge that was invaluable. Loved the on ship activities and entertainment. The local musical talent was an amazing holiday gift. Danke Schoen!

review_img

LTanko

Christmas Markets on the Danube

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2013

This trip was my first Tauck trip and it was a wonderful experience. The attention to every detail was excellent and not having to worry about the usual trip details gave each traveler more time to enjoy the trip and the experiences offered at each stop. The ship was beautiful and there again attention to detail and making the trip fun was great.

Most Memorable Moment:

The drive to Salzburg and the town itself. It was beautiful and what I imagined Austria and Germany to be. I was also fascinated with the lock process traveling up the Danube River and traveling under bridges thousands of years old.

review_img

whereskrispy

AWESOME EXPERIENCE!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2013

This was an incredible trip. Loved all the Christmas Markets, boat and extra activities they had like singers from the Regensburg Boy's Choir one night. I also liked the extra special stuff, like the Christmas Tree trimming and hot towels when we came back on the boat! The whole trip was magnificent and I hope we can do the Rhine someday!

Most Memorable Moment:

The little details like the radio with Christmas Music, the decorations on the boat, the Thurn and Taxis Christmas Market, and the handcraft market in Vienna. The whole thing was wonderful!

review_img

JMacDonald

Will do this again!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2013

This was the most wonderful trip. The staff was so friendly, the boat lovely, the food great! Saw many boats on the water and I felt ours was the BEST. We had a room at the bottom and I worried I might feel claustrophobic but the windows were big enough, the way the light reflected on the ceiling at night was so cozy. I just loved it!

Most Memorable Moment:

I just loved Passeau, small and charming. The market at Thurn and Taxis at night was magical as was the walk back home through lighted streets. Vienna was amazing and the Sunday mass at St. Augustine's was something you cannot miss if you are staying an extra day. Cruising down the Danube, drinking hot gluewine on the roof deck was spectactular!

review_img

RALewis

Christmas Markets 2013

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2013

"Outstanding" hardly touches the comfort, the joy, the enthusiasm of the Tour Directors, the quality of the local guides, and the special amenities (like the lebkuchen at Herr Schmidt's). We enjoyed this trip so much in each direction, that we took it a third time in December 2013 eastbound.

Most Memorable Moment:

By absolute unplanned happenstance, we literally bumped into a friend in the Passau market who just "happened" to have taken the train from Munich with a friend for the day at the Christmas market. What an incredible event!

review_img

Baileymooselacie

Great trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2012

It snowed almost every day, the Christmas markets were great! I spent a lot of money and loved every minute of it. I bought ornaments, Santa,s nutcrackers and candy. We do the trip again in a heartbeat. The snow just made my Christmas experience the best.

Most Memorable Moment:

The towns and Christmas markets with the snow, just made it so pretty

review_img

I

Christmas Markets along the Danube east bound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2012

We enjoyed all the other travelers on board our boat. Tauck, as usual left nothing out. All the tour guides were informative on the local cities we visited.

Most Memorable Moment:

The entire trip!

review_img

DanishCatLover

Fabulous Danube Christmas Market cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2012

This is the best trip that my mother and I have ever been on! Our MS Treasures suite, with its espresso maker, was heaven. The staff and cruise directors spoiled us every day, and went out of their way to accommodate us. They even booked a cab to take us to our bus after lunch in Salzburg, when they thought three older guests could use it.

Most Memorable Moment:

Somehow the Tauck team found out I had just celebrated a big round birthday and that I had treated my 83 year-old mother to the trip. A gift bag containing a bottle of apricot liqueur and chocolate-covered apricots (a local specialty) was delivered to me in the suite - we were flabbergasted and very touched!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We're so glad you had a wonderful time in Europe on the river and we hope to see you again soon!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Murphy-Kivell

Christmas Market on the Danube

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2012

This trip was magical....the way the river boat was decorated. The attention to detail on all our excursions..the little gifts by our doors at night. How wonderful our guides were. Christmas at its finest......

Most Memorable Moment:

Going to and being in Salzburg in the snow....

review_img

bamoran116

Magical Christmas

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2012

Our Christmas cruise down the Danube was spectacular! Tauck took care of every detail!! We even had snow every day! The Tauck directors, tour guides and service staff are the best in the business--extremely knowledgable and very friendly.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our day in Salzburg was our most memorable. It snowed all day and the town was like stepping back in time with beautiful Christmas decorations everywhere.

review_img

ozzy

Wunderbar

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2012

This was a trip taken with my daughter to celebrate, rather late, her 40th birthday. We do not live close & do not see each other as often as would like so to have a whole pampered week with her was really special. I went on the Rhine cruise last year, she saw the pictures & heard all the fun I had had & wished she had gone with me so. Wunderbar

Most Memorable Moment:

Meeting with people from the last trip at the airport & then seeing Steve on the boat too- he was such a great cruise director knew we were in for a wonderful time again.

review_img

Jim from California

Christmas Markets in Austria and Germany

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2012

The trip was top notch from start to finish. This was our second Christmas Markets cruise but the first with Tauck. Tauck accomodations were far better than the other line we used in 2011. Tauck's cruise directors were great in getting us to the markets as well as other sightseeing. Tauck really does take care of everything for you.

Most Memorable Moment:

As we were leaving Passau, Germany in the late afternoon I was watching from the stern lounge. The sun broke through the clouds and the buildings just glowed in the late afternoon sunlight. It's the kind of view you really can't get from a bus and one of the reasons river cruising is so enjoyable.

review_img

crichels

fabulous trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2012

my husband and I enjoyed every minute of our cruise. We were pampered from the moment we boarded. Our 3 tour directors and cruise director were fun and so helpful. The agenda was perfectly paced. We can't wait for our next trip with Tauck in June.

Most Memorable Moment:

There wasn't just one. Shopping at the xmas markets was such fun. We enjoyed the tours of the beautiful towns, the palaces, the wonderful lunch in Saltzburg, every meal in the dining room, meeting so many great people from all over the States.

review_img

cindymac

Christmas Markets along the Danube

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2012

This was our first trip with Tauck; and I cannot wait to travel with them again. The Christmas Markets, the food, and the festivities were all wonderful. The river boat, the ms Treasures, was tastefully decorated for the holidays. The staff was wonderful, and so very pleasant. Little surprises throughout the trip just added to our delight.

Most Memorable Moment:

The moment I stepped onto the ms Treasures will always stay in my mind - a river boat with Christmas decorations, beautifully done.

review_img

Hooky

Danube river cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2012

Our trip was splendid...the food delicious, beautifully presented...the staff helpful and friendly, they went the extra mile. The ship was lovely...the entertainment special...the tour guides informed...the scenery beautiful. Tauck is the most generous of companies. I've raved about it to all my friends.

Most Memorable Moment:

Celebrating my husband's birthday by placing a lock on the walking bridge and with a special dinner in the dining room with my friends. My John died last March and this trip was to help me get through this difficult period....it did. Thank you.

TAUCK RESPONSE

You are more than welcome and we thank you for your kind words. It was truly our pleasure to help make your trip as memorable and enjoyable as possible.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

RoselleCB

It's beginning to look a lot like Christmas!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2012

What a wonderful way to get into the holiday spirit! From the moment we arrived in Vienna to our departure is Nuremberg every "i" was dotted and every "t" was crossed. Tauck, once again, takes the worry out of travel and not one detail seemed to be missed. We are already discussing booking the Rhine Christmas Markets for 2013.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many memorable moments on board and off shore that it is difficult to pinpoint just one but perhaps the best one was walking on board for the first time and the riverboat decorated for Christmas, the staff attentive and welcoming and the stockings hung up on every cabin door. We felt like little kids waking up on Christmas morning!!

review_img

ChuckHvala

Ausgezeichnet! What an Excellent Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2012

Outstanding vacation. The Tauck Team on board was knew their stuff. This ship was great, staff service excellent! Germany & Austria are beautiful at this time of year. Christmas Markets were delightful and put us in the spirit immediately. Had some snow to add to the ambiance of the trip. Highly recommend this trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

The abbey at Melk Austria was moving and a beautiful sight - especially with the snow that day. Would have loved to spend more time in their library pouring over some of those old volumes on the shelves!

review_img

KGraham

A wonderful way to enhance Christmas.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2011

My wife, Michaela, is originally from Germany and has gone to many Christmas markets, as have I. Tauck made the markets and the cities that we visited along the Danube, magical. The ship accommodations were superb. I would recommend the trip in a heart beat.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many moments, but we particularly enjoyed the decoration of the Christmas tree in the lobby of the ship.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey an thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button